Skip directly to content


Letter To The Editor: A Responsibility And Opportunity For Los Alamos

on June 7, 2017 - 7:11am
Los Alamos
With the recent withdrawal from the Paris agreement on climate change, cities and towns around the country are developing independent plans to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions. As our community's very existence is predicated on science, we should be among them. A very simple and effective way that we can reduce our carbon footprint would be to use a portion of the now available CIP funds to install solar panels on our larger county facilities.
The Municipal Building, White Rock library, Pajarito Cliffs site, even the Nature Center are situated so that they

Letter To The Editor: To Los Alamos County Council

on June 6, 2017 - 7:26pm
Los Alamos

Open Letter to the Los Alamos County Council:

I am asking the County Council to please consider using Capital Improvement Projects (CIP) funds to construct a multigenerational pool.

Although the bond did not pass, nearly half the voters supported the Council’s proposal to provide healthy recreational alternatives. Even those who opposed the bond were not necessarily opposing the rec facilities. Their main concern was not to have their property taxes increased.

One of the most vocal opponents of the bond actually signed the petition two years ago supporting the

Letter To The Editor: Anonymous Posting & Basic Rules

on June 6, 2017 - 5:28pm
Los Alamos

Ralph Chapman makes many compelling statements in his letter “A Start To Some Basic Rules For Our Discussions Here At The Los Alamos Daily Post”.

Eschewing anonymity is a good idea in general but there are some caveats. Economic retaliation is one of them and thus trust needs to exist within the community when we disagree.

This is a small town and two of the major paycheck-writers are the National Lab and the County Government. I could understand if someone working for the county might worry about workplace retaliation for a letter critical of the county government.


Letter To The Editor: A Start To Some Basic Rules For Our Discussions Here At The Los Alamos Daily Post

on June 6, 2017 - 10:35am
Bon Vivant Paleontologist

As a paleontologist, I have had a lot of experience in reviewing scientific papers that have been submitted for publication. Back in the day, I probably averaged a dozen or more a year. When I did review, I never did it anonymously: I always signed my reviews.

I did this many reasons. First of all, I thought (and think) it was more respectful to the effort the author(s) made to produce the paper.


Letter To The Editor: Wrecking My Tesla S

on June 6, 2017 - 9:32am
Los Alamos

I had a serious accident Feb. 27 on Diamond Drive at the intersection of Sandia, in front of the old Metzger Service Station. I did serious damage to my 2015 Tesla S and another vehicle.

I would like to talk to anyone who witnessed the accident or observed me or my actions immediately following the accident. If you were there, I would appreciate hearing from you, I can be reached at 505.709.0025 and can receive voice or text.

There were some young men who were very helpful to myself and the driver and passenger of the vehicle I struck, that I would like to

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance

on June 6, 2017 - 6:17am
Los Alamos

“Sometimes, ordinances and regulations are passed with the support of the majority of folks in a community...” (LA Daily Post, Vol. III, No. 21) (link).

And sometimes they're not. They are passed because the only ones who showed up are the ones who supported the proposal. What happened to those who might have opposed the ordinance? It could have been apathy, it could have been personal situations, which prevented an appearance, or a host of other reasons.

Letter To The Editor: County Council Vs. Sheriff

on June 6, 2017 - 5:47am
Los Alamos
The insatiable efforts made by many past and present members of the Los Alamos County Council to eliminate the duly elected office of the sheriff should be a concern to all citizens in this county. 
The sheriff is accountable to the people by vote. The office of police chief is accountable to the county council by appointment. Sheriff Lucero has served honorably in Santa Fe and Los Alamos counties for over 29 years. 
We the people have voted to retain the office of sheriff as stated in the New Mexico constitution yet certain members of the county

Letter To The Editor: Do We Want Or Need A Bicycle Flow Trail (Part 2)

on June 5, 2017 - 2:04pm
Los Alamos
In early May, I wrote a letter to the Los Alamos Daily Post notifying the public of a plan to build a bicycle flow trail in one of our canyons (probably Bayo Canyon) and the reasons I thought it is a bad idea. If you didn't see this letter, it can be read here.
There was no response from the public to this letter, possibly because it was published during the furor over the Rec Bond issue. It is also possible that some readers thought the flow trail was part of the Rec Bond. It was not, and is a separate initiative funded by the County Council.

Letter To The Editor: A Few Questions For Chandler

on June 4, 2017 - 7:13am
Los Alamos
I'd like to ask Mr. Chandler a few questions. From the tone of your letters why do you engage in hyperbole instead of facts? You are after all a lawyer and have filed several lawsuits seeking to hold the council and citizens alike to the strict letter of the law. I'd like to know what area of law you specialize in because you seem to ignore constitutional law and charter law. Don't lawyers usually research or at least have their paralegals research thoroughly before writing arguments? You seem oblivious to any of Los Alamos' history.
If you file a lawsuit

Letter To The Editor: Give Duties, Funding Back To Sheriff

on June 3, 2017 - 6:17am
By Concerned Citizen
Los Alamos

I would like to thank the County Council for the reconciliation of the Sheriff's duties and funding. There seems to be a debate of how much funding the County should return to the Sheriff's Office. It seems that individuals responsible for trying to drive out this elected position are now in charge of determining what the Sheriff's duties should be. This seems to be a bit of a conflict of interest, a pick and choose as you will, of those obligations the Sheriff has to the citizens of Los Alamos County. 

George Chandler raised some interesting points.

Letter To The Editor: What Do We Gain From This Chaos? Let's Think About It For A Minute...

on June 2, 2017 - 6:49pm
Los Alamos

Well, I do have to apologize to Pete Sheehey, he caught me. I made a mistake when I said he wanted to give the jail to the Sheriff. I guess I was confused - what he actually wants to do is give prisoner transport to the Sheriff, or more accurately, to allow the Sheriff to “assist” in prisoner transport.

Pete also points out that he did not say the Sheriff could “arbitrarily” choose to interfere in police investigations, rather the resolution says if the Sheriff “reasonably believes” the “integrity” of an investigation would be compromised if carried out by the

Letter To The Editor: Humble Thanks

on June 2, 2017 - 5:38pm
Los Alamos

Hi, first I would like to say, that Los Alamos has families and individuals that foster the dogs/cats from our local shelter. It is a service that is needed in every community. We are fortunate to have people that take that task to heart.

Bringing life into the eyes and soul of an animal can be so rewarding as well as heartbreaking. When they are finally adopted by their forever family it is a rewarding loss. I think that it would be great opportunity to spread the word and thank those individuals behind the scenes who foster the pets in our community.

I have a

Letter To The Editor: In Lieu Of Wearing Orange Friday

on June 1, 2017 - 11:11am
Los Alamos

Friday is Wear Orange Day (it is Saturday in Santa Fe). This started in response to yet another senseless shooting in Chicago, as explained by Mike "The Gun Guy" Weisser. It has since spread far and wide and while most gun owners will cringe at supporting such a day, I think, as I have said before, that we need to find common ground between the firearms owning fraternity and those who see firearms in a negative manner.

The vast majority of gun owners in the U.S.

Letter To The Editor: Checks And Balances Prevent Corruption

on June 1, 2017 - 7:12am
Los Alamos

I can’t help but wonder what the motivation is for people to give up their rights that Americans died for, like happened in the last charter changes. Worse I can understand the motivation for doing away with checks and balances in the system. It’s called corruption. Let’s be clear I’m not making any accusations against any current Councilors or County employees.

No elected treasurer allows for the good ole boys (and girls) to misappropriate funds also called embezzlement.

Chapman: More Thoughts On The REC Thingy

on May 31, 2017 - 1:26pm
By Ralph E. Chapman
Bon Vivant Paleontologist

I have some post facto thoughts about the REC bond stuff, building on comments from before and after the vote. I hope the tone of this note, like that of the recent note by Shin, et al. (hey, I’m a scientist, so I cite like one), this link helps set a mood for the presumed on-going discussion of this topic.

I’ll start with my background with recreational facilities within municipalities. My experience is from the late 50’s through the mid 1970’s in Milford (CT) on the coast between Bridgeport and New Haven.

Letter To The Editor: Response To George Chandler

on May 31, 2017 - 6:38am
Los Alamos County Councilor

My friend George Chandler and I have respectfully disagreed about the Sheriff’s role in Los Alamos for a long time. However, his recent letter (link) misstates what my Resolution (link) proposes. First of all, I do not propose to “expand” the duties of the Sheriff, but simply to restore a limited set of traditional duties to the Sheriff’s Office, and insure that those duties are done by properly trained and certified persons.

I consulted the County Attorney about how to phrase the Resolution in a way that maintains the law enforcement mandate of the

Letter To The Editor: A Better Way For LA Responds To 2017 Recreation Bond Election Results

on May 30, 2017 - 5:23pm

By A Better Way For LA
Lisa Shin, President
Lisa Brenner, Vice-President 
Patrick Brenner, Treasurer

The results of the Rec Bond vote speak to a community, which is both eager to invest in itself and concerned about its economic future. We understand the disappointment of the advocates for the Rec Bond. We applaud and commend their many hours spent on this project. We are grateful for their vibrant participation in the democratic process.

Now, we must work together to achieve a fiscally responsible and mutually beneficial end goal.

Letter To The Editor: No Language Mandating Expansion Of Sheriff’s Office In 2016 Election Question

on May 30, 2017 - 6:45am
Los Alamos

County Councilor (Pete) Sheehey has prepared a resolution purporting to “settle the debate” about the Los Alamos County Sheriff. He writes that we must respond to the decision last year by voters to keep the vestigial Sheriff’s Office in our charter, by carving out law enforcement duties for the sheriff’s office, hiring and certifying deputies and staff, handing over the jail, and buying a pickup to pull the sheriff’s horse trailer to meetings of the Sheriff’s Association.

Oh, there is a slight oversight in the letter promoting his resolution: he apparently

Letter To The Editor: Memorial Day ... Let's Remember

on May 26, 2017 - 7:01am
Los Alamos
This Memorial Day, like all past ones, I hope against all hope that people will do the right thing and spend the day in solemn remembrance and prayer for the millions of men and women (and for their families) who gave their lives for your freedom.
I'm not saying spend the day crying. Go to the beach. Have a cookout.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos ... I Will See You Around!

on May 26, 2017 - 5:04am
Los Alamos

Wow! What a couple days Los Alamos has experienced.

I want to first begin by thanking my fellow officers on the Republican Party of Los Alamos Executive Board. As stated in my resignation email, their hard work and diligence was uncanny and lead to great success.

James Chrobocinski was always willing to provide us with whatever we needed. Kelly Benner not only planned our events by herself, but also kept us all in line. Lisa Shin brought a new energy into the party from national campaign.

Letter To The Editor: Saddened We've Lost Two Valuable And Involved Members Of Our Community...

on May 25, 2017 - 4:17pm
Democratic Party of Los Alamos County
I was saddened to read that James Robinson and James Chrobocinski have stepped down from local Republican Party leadership. Saddened, because it appears that they were attacked for their efforts to improve Los Alamos.
While both men hold different views than I do on many issues, I recognize them as valuable and involved members of our community. I have long been impressed with James Robinson’s graciousness when he has run for office or applied for board positions.

Sheehey: Let’s Settle The Debate About The Role Of The Sheriff In Los Alamos

on May 24, 2017 - 7:33pm
Los Alamos County Councilor

There has been a long-standing debate about the role of the Sheriff in Los Alamos. The present Sheriff, Marco Lucero, was elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014, stressing the importance of the Sheriff’s role in Los Alamos. County Councils, not including myself, have worked to minimize that role, drastically cutting his budget and ultimately calling an election last November to eliminate the office. After a contentious campaign, our citizens voted to keep an elected Sheriff.  

It’s time to settle this debate.

Letter To The Editor: Rec Bond Plea To County Council - Can't We Compromise?

on May 24, 2017 - 11:58am
Los Alamos

Following the recent recreation bond election outcome, I wondered if there is a possible compromise that we could look at. 

From discussions with and reading opinions by ‘no’ voters, it sounds like there were two main issues with the bond (I realize there were others, but these seemed to be the biggest):

a) it was ‘all or nothing’ and many of them might have been happy with some of the projects, but not all of them; and

b) it was going to increase property taxes, resulting in debt for us and future generations. 

I have to say, I wholeheartedly agree with the

Letter To The Editor: Walk/Drive Your YES Vote On Rec Bond To County Clerk's Office By 7 p.m. Today

on May 23, 2017 - 8:35am
Los Alamos

Today is the last day to vote on the Rec Bond. It's too late to mail it in but you can hand carry it to the County Clerk's Office.

There has been a healthy, vigorous debate on the issue but in the end I urge you to keep in mind the saying that “PERFECT IS THE ENEMY OF GOOD!” 

So I encourage you to vote YES or we will all be waiting for another decade before the community has the energy to organize such a campaign again.

Letter To The Editor: Let's Support The Amenities That Make Our Community Better For Everyone!

on May 22, 2017 - 6:51pm
By Andrea and Greg Cunningham
Los Alamos

As Recreation Bond ballots are due tomorrow, we want to remind everyone to get their ballots in and encourage you to vote “Yes” on the bond.

Those opposed to the bond seem to have two main arguments against it:

  • Need: they state there is not a need for the projects that are proposed; and
  • Cost: our taxes and the cost are too high.

We feel that both arguments are incorrect as we look to the future of our community.