Skip directly to content


Letter To The Editor: Death Toll Of 9/11

on September 12, 2017 - 12:48pm
Los Alamos
On Monday the USA remembered the 16th anniversary of the attacks on the World Trade Center Twin Towers, the Pentagon, and the failed attempt to attack another DC building that resulted in the plane crash near Shanksville, Penn.
The combined death toll from these four events was 2995. Please consider the further death toll from these attacks:
The Afghanistan and Iraq Wars were, and still are being, fought as a response to the events of 9/11. The combined toll at present of military people from the USA, Iraq and Afghanistan, and coalition forces

Letter To The Editor: Regarding The Nuisance Code

on September 12, 2017 - 7:40am
Los Alamos

Perhaps the problem isn't the ordinance, but its enforcement.

There was a comment by a former CA highway patrol officer who said that he could easily find three violations on any new vehicle. That kind of enforcement would be considered abusive and non-productive, unless he was looking to generate revenue. The public would really prefer that he focus on issues that present a danger to the traveling public or the driver and their occupants.

The terms of the Nuisance Ordinance are not extreme, but using that ordinance to enforce petty aesthetic issues, is an abuse of

Letter To The Editor: Yes, Gun Buybacks Do Work And They ‘Feel Good’ Too

on September 11, 2017 - 6:48am
By MIRANDA VISCOLI, Co-president  
New Mexicans To Prevent Gun Violence

Robert Visel could not have said it better in his editorial, “Gun Buyback Farce.”

In his letter to the editor he calls New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence gun buybacks a “Feel good maneuver”. Yes, it does “feel good” to see a widow bring in her departed husband’s arsenal of guns that have been left in their bedroom closet. It feels great to see the relief on grandparents’ faces when they know that their guns will not get into their grandchildren’s hands.

Letter To The Editor: In The Great Gun Debate, Both Sides Need Practice Hitting The Target

on September 10, 2017 - 4:21pm
Los Alamos
It's an unfortunate observation, nearly rising to the level of a physical law, that both sides in the Great Gun Debate will usually miss the target on any given issue.
After the recent Clovis Library mass shooting, someone wrote a long essay to the Santa Fe New Mexican calling for a ban on concealed carry in libraries. But concealed carry was irrelevant to the shooting as the shooter, at 16 years old, was not a legal concealed carrier nor eligible to become one at his age.

Letter To The Editor: Gun Buy Back Farce

on September 7, 2017 - 10:27pm
Los Alamos

The New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence (NMPGV) and Los Alamos Police Department will be holding their first, and hopefully last, “ever” Guns To Gardens Gun Buyback event on Saturday, Oct. 28.

First of all, they can’t “Buy Back” something they never sold in the first place! So, this onerous title is already misleading.

Second, if people have been paying the least bit of attention to these Gun Control schemes they would find out that these so called “Buy Back” programs do absolutely nothing to deter violent crime not just here in the United States but around the

Letter To The Editor: Stop Wild Horse, Burro Slaughter

on September 7, 2017 - 8:43am
White Rock

I believe our New Mexico lawmakers are opposed to the round up and slaughter of wild horses and burros, but some in congress are not. I’m not sure with everything that is happening in our nation at this time that people are aware of the urgency of this situation and of the necessity of contacting their representatives on this issue.

In 1971 there was a law enacted to protect wild horses and burros. These animals are symbols of our Western Heritage.

Letter To The Editor: Resolution Of Sheriff's Office Legality

on September 5, 2017 - 5:49pm
Los Alamos
We've heard a lot lately about what's legal and what isn't with respect to the Sheriff's office. We've heard from a paralegal, some attorney's, and the Sheriff himself what they think the law is.
There is a simple (and free) way to resolve this without filing lawsuits. Any public official (like the Sheriff) or governmental entity (like the county) can request an opinion from the Attorney General. While these opinions are not legally binding, they are admissible in a court of law and the Attorney General will go to court to defend these opinions.

Attorney General Balderas On President Trump’s Decision To End DACA

on September 4, 2017 - 7:09am

Attorney General Hector Balderas

From the Office of the Attroney General:

ALBUQUERQUE – New Mexico Attorney General Hector Balderas released the following statement in response to President Trump’s decision to end DACA:

“With the decision to end DACA, President Trump is compromising the safety of our communities and our nation, and he is putting the security of thousands of New Mexicans who contribute to our classrooms, public safety and economy at risk.

“Losing hundreds of thousands of future police officers, members of the military, doctors and teachers will create an unacceptable

Letter To The Editor: Failure Of Corporate Trade Policy

on September 3, 2017 - 6:38am

Corporate America only succeeds if Capitalism works. Capitalism cannot work if the middle class is in debt, shrinking and can no longer be consumers.

America is still the wealthiest nation in the world and in world history … and America also has the greatest wealth disparity in the world and in world history. These are unsustainable conditions … and yet Donald Trump and much of the Republican Party want increase wealth disparity by decreasing federal income taxes for the wealthy class and corporations, resulting in even greater CEO salaries.

This will make American

Letter To The Editor: ‘I’m In, Let’s Close The Door’ Is No Way To Maintain America’s Fundamental Character Of Openness And Generosity

on August 31, 2017 - 8:38am
Los Alamos

In her recent column, Lisa Shin objects to ‘an undercurrent of obstructionism’ that she detects in the County’s immigration proclamation. This concern is puzzling since America is the paramount representation of a country that adores obstructionism — it comes with freedom of speech and association. Of course, you may not like racist obstructionism or women’s suffrage obstructionism (to consider extremes that have been objected to on both sides) but you are free to so obstruct. 

I have a multitude of objections to the opinions expressed, but let’s focus on

Letter To The Editor: Proud Of County Council

on August 30, 2017 - 7:28am
By JoAnn Johnson
Los Alamos

I am proud of our County Council that they voted unanimously on the immigration proclamation.

A “melting pot” is what makes our Country great.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Lisa Shin

on August 29, 2017 - 8:16am
Los Alamos

Ms. Shin, you seem to operate under the same premise that President Trump does, that immigrants are not screened (link). You are sadly uninformed and totally wrong.

They are screened extensively and they are screened in a manner that is much more effective and sophisticated than that advocated by you. The simpleton’s approach to Immigration contained in the RAISE Act will result in huge backlogs for legitimate immigrants, be a huge deterrent to highly desirable immigrants and open numerous doors for huge levels of fraud and abuse.

Letter To The Editor: FOS Thanks Sheriff’s Posse

on August 25, 2017 - 12:18pm
Friends of the Shelter

Friends of the Shelter (FOS) would like to extend a huge thank you to the Los Alamos Sheriff’s Posse (LASP) for inviting us to co-host the August Pancake breakfast at the Posse Lodge.

Several enthusiastic FOS volunteers joined the very experienced (and patient) LASP folks who showed us the ropes and kept everything running smoothly. The breakfast was a big success, and we thank all of the nearly 400 folks that turned out to enjoy the wonderful food that was provided.


Wadt: A Guide To School Grades ... Real Or Noise?

on August 23, 2017 - 3:38pm
Los Alamos

The New Mexico Public Education Department (PED) just released the grades for all of the schools in the State. Gov. Susana Martinez advocated for a simple grading system, similar to the one used in Florida, to improve communication with parents and other community members as to how well your local school is doing with a focus on student proficiency in reading and math. That was a very good idea. 

The next question is how do you measure student proficiency in a way that allows you to compare performance from school to school, district to district, and state to state?

Fr. Glenn: One People Under God

on August 20, 2017 - 5:38am
By Rev. Glenn Jones
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church
Los Alamos

This last week we were treated to yet another example of the truth of scripture—that “there is nothing new under the sun.” (Ecclesiastes 1:9) The wall-to-wall coverage about the Charlottesville and subsequent protests and counter-protests reminded of the riots of the 60’s and 70’s. Sigh. Perhaps the birthing pains of eventually moving toward a more civilized society, we can only hope.

Predictably, there were myriad reactions over the Charlottesville protests and events.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Mr. Nebel & Citizens

on August 19, 2017 - 9:52am
Los Alamos
Yes Mr. Nebel, the free way to know the law is to READ the law for yourself as opposed to having a patronage politician like the AG read it for you (link). Which by the way the AG, a patronage politician (by your definition) does not testify in court and legally only issues guidance for state and local government bodies. I would welcome the county to request such an opinion from the patronage AG since the council, patronage politicians, refuse to believe their own attorney, a patronage position, and the AG's already investigating my criminal complaints anyway.

Letter To The Editor: Worry Over USA-DPRK Conflict

on August 19, 2017 - 7:17am
Dr. T. Douglas Reilly
Los Alamos
Much is reported regarding the war of words between the leaders of North Korea and the USA. Unfotunately, little is said about the history of North Korea; whose official name is the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK). North Korea is often called the Hermit Kingdom, because it is so closed to the outside world.
President Trump's words feed directly into the policy and mind of Kim Jong Un. I don't think continental USA is threatened by the North. However, South Korea (Republic of Korea (ROK)), Japan, and other islands are threatened by

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Cheryl Bell

on August 18, 2017 - 3:19pm
Chair, Land of Enchantment Wildlife Foundation
Member, Environmental Sustainability Board
I wanted to thank Cheryl Bell for the wonderful letter about bears (link). One point I really want to drive home is thanking Los Alamos for making great strides in becoming a bear friendly community.
Earlier this year, the Pajarito Environmental Education Center and Land of Enchantment Wildlife Foundation teamed up to host New Mexico’s first Bear Festival.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Bruce Blevins

on August 18, 2017 - 7:03am
Los Alamos
On Aug. 12, 2017, Bruce Blevins, Ph.D., commented on my column titled World Futures: Efficiency (Part Three).
His comments and action to write to the editor raised my spirits because he read the column. His comment on paragraph three, however, dampened my enthusiasm.
In line one I wrote of kilowatts of energy (abbreviated) and in line three used the correct term kilowatt-hours (also abbreviated). Clearly a typo in line one.
Dr. Blevins also commented on my incorrect use (format) of abbreviations to which I say thank you for pointing it out.

Letter To The Editor: A Simple Request...

on August 17, 2017 - 10:13am
Los Alamos
As it says, a simple request.
I come here to read news of our community, not to spectate on personal vendettas conducted via letters to the editor, even if the participants are friends of mine.
Would those who participate in, and escalate, those vendettas mind taking them elsewhere?
Thank you.

Letter To The Editor: A New Low In Los Alamos Politics, Again

on August 17, 2017 - 8:08am
By Anonymous and incredulous
Los Alamos
This letter responds to Lisa Brenner’s self-congratulatory narrative about how the bogus ethics charges she filed against County Councilors James Chrobocisnki and Susan O’Leary were really a brilliant political masterstroke. (See link content/letter-editor-ethics- complaint-dismissal)
When reasonable people see a newspaper like the Los Alamos Monitor run big photos and bold headlines that scream ETHICS COMPLAINT FILED, they naturally think that somebody must have done something wrong.

Letter To The Editor: You Can Be Racist. You Can Be A Christian. You Cannot Be Both.

on August 17, 2017 - 7:34am
Statement From La Vista Church
White Rock

The ideologies of any organization or individual that claim the superiority of race over another is absolutely incompatible with the message of the Christian Bible.

Racism is an abhorrent sin against humanity and God. Entities such as the KKK, white nationalists, neo-Nazi’s, or other such racist organizations are evil and in complete opposition to the Christian Bible.

You can be racist. You can be a Christian. You cannot be both.

Letter To The Editor: Ethics Complaint Dismissal

on August 16, 2017 - 7:47am
Los Alamos

Thank you, Carol, for printing the letter from the SOS on the ethics complaint that I had filed against the LA Future PAC.

As explanation, I filed the ethics complaint against the LA Future PAC for their yard signs as I was familiar with the campaign laws and it is a typical political tactic to go after technicalities such as these. Based on the evidence I supplied to the SOS, there was a clear violation in the LA Future PAC signage. However, and most interesting, is that the NM law is unconstitutional! 

The most interesting part (and you should read the whole thing 

Letter To The Editor: 'Operation Pamper' Thank You

on August 15, 2017 - 8:42am
Los Alamos
I would like to take this time to THANK the following businesses/ independent consultants in Los Alamos who donated to "Operation Pamper".
  • David Patterson of Dave's Sports Barbershop
  • Hilltop Spa
  • Top Nail
  • Mark Hamilton of HairZart
  • Lisa Hudston- Roden + Fields
  • Stephanie Krantz- Essential Oils/Yoga classes
  • Nickole Aguilar-Garcia- Posh
  • Attelia Hollander- Jamberry/Younique
  • Mindy Blandford- Scentsy
  • Float Los Alamos
  • KJM Automotive
  • Samantha D'Anna Photography
  • Sirphy
I am so excited to put the baskets together for the deserving individuals that were nominated. 
Below is a

Letter To The Editor: Response To Experience Rational Citizen

on August 14, 2017 - 2:49pm
Los Alamos
First of all, I don’t have a personal beef with the Sheriff. I don’t even doubt that he’s a swell guy. Most patronage politicians are. What I don’t like is his behavior of trying to expand his office at our expense and threatening people with lawsuits if he doesn’t get his way.
If you really want to resolve this issue, here’s how to do it. The first step is to find out what the law says. There is an easy (and FREE) way to do that.