Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Public Transit Provides Economic, Environmental, Convenience And Health Benefits

on January 20, 2019 - 9:52am
By DENNIS SEGURA
Engineering Project Manager
Los Alamos County Department of Public Utilities
 
For the past 4 1/2 years, I have been a regular user of public transit, as I live near Glorieta and work in Los Alamos. I utilize the NMDOT Park and Ride, Atomic City Transit and occasionally the Rail Runner from Santa Fe to Albuquerque. I choose to take public transit for a variety of reasons, among them economics, environmental impact, convenience and health.
 
My daily commute is 100 miles round trip.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Dr. Martin

on January 15, 2019 - 5:09am
THE HALL FAMILY
Los Alamos
 
Dear Dr. Martin,
 
We want to thank you for the care you gave to your patient, Stanley Hall, and his family.
 
The time you took with different family members to patiently answer questions and explain your diagnosis was appreciated. Your time and patience exceeded our expectations and didn’t go unnoticed.
 
Los Alamos is fortunate to have a doctor of your caliber in their community.
 

Letter To The Editor: Utilities Service During Winter Storms ... The Big Deal We Don't Notice

on January 13, 2019 - 1:50pm
By BOYD WATERS
Los Alamos
 
During these heavy winter storms, we have had steady delivery of electricity, water, and mail delivery.
 
The roads and main sidewalks have been kept clear of snow.
 
My kids think this is normal!
 
Icing on our roof interrupted our internet connection, but our provider, Los Alamos Network, had a technician here within 30 minutes after I reported it. I used my cell phone to contact them; my Verizon cellular service was working fine.
 
The only severe hardship we suffered this year was two weeks ago, a nationwide CenturyLink network outage disrupted internet and cellular

Letter To The Editor: Government Shutdown Talks – A Better Story

on January 13, 2019 - 1:10pm
By MARY SNOW
Los Alamos
 
Jan. 10, BBC published a more impartial and accurate story about the meeting between the Democratic leaders and President Donald Trump [see link] than I have seen from any other reports on the meeting by US media.
 
The direct quotes from the BBC article in this section cover most of the article:
 
President Donald Trump has walked out of a meeting with Democratic leaders as negotiations broke down on the 19th day of a partial US government shutdown.
 
Nancy Pelosi and Chuck Schumer stuck by their refusal to fund his US-Mexico border wall, prompting Mr.

Letter To The Editor: Blessed To Live In Los Alamos

on January 5, 2019 - 3:00pm
By JUDY MCKENZIE
Los Alamos
 
This last week was quite an adventure for me and I feel so blessed to live in Los Alamos.
 
My furnace shut down twice and I had no hot water for a couple of days. So many people offered help and support.
 
I thought that the furnace was resolved but it reoccurred. Waller’s Plumbing came out and worked on both problems and the County Utilities guys came and checked things out. They were so wonderful and worked in the cold weather to get me up and running.
 
Our plumbers and our County people are hard working, especially this time of year.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You To Road Crews For Great Snow Plowing

on January 3, 2019 - 9:13pm
VALARIE PRESTWOOD
Los Alamos

I would like to publicly thank the county employee who plowed Camino Uva yesterday.

He/she very carefully kept each driveway clear as the street was plowed. That is the first time that has ever happened and I am extremely grateful.

World Futures: Education, Training And The Five ‘Ws’ – Part Four

on December 27, 2018 - 3:31pm
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
In the first three articles of this series, we explored education and training and what people need to know or master when they emerge into society. We also examined the five “Ws” of education and training to include the accelerating expansion of knowledge and even increasing demand for mental facility and skills needed to successfully assimilate into society. And then we considered the cost to become “qualified” for something that allows the individual to lead a satisfying, controlled and rewarding life.

Letter To The Editor: Public Transit Vital To New Mexico Veterans

on December 23, 2018 - 6:58am
By RICHARD AGUINO
Veteran and Former AARP Staff Member
 
As a veteran and an advocate for those on tribal lands, as well as an advocate for the elderly, I have seen firsthand the need for public transit across rural New Mexico.
 
Personally, I have relied upon public transit for years, to get me to and from work, to get me to different communities, and to get me to medical appointments at the VA.
 
During my time advocating for improved transit and utilizing transit, I have been afforded the opportunity to cross paths with many just like myself and to hear their stories.

Head2Head: Limousine Liberals, Political Dynasties And Revenge Of The Wonks

on December 20, 2018 - 10:41am

By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

bjgordon@ladailypost.com

Bill Clinton’s legacy has been tarnished by scandal, but low deficits and a good economy cause some to remember him fondly.

A Southern governor with a working class background, who also was a Rhodes Scholar, seemed like a perfect bet for the Democrats in 1992. Clinton was genuinely concerned with improving the lot of working-class Americans but he was in no way a populist.

His policies reflect a neoliberal framework that had been embraced by both sides.

The Democratic Leadership Council (DLC), of which Clinton was a charter

Letter To The Editor: LAAC Thanks Los Alamos!

on December 15, 2018 - 10:10am
By CHRIS MONTEITH
Interim Executive Director
Los Alamos Arts Council

Los Alamos Arts Council would like to take this time to thank all of the people who have helped to make the events at LAAC a roaring success.

Over the past six months, we have had several events that have required the help of other organizations in town, as well as the assistance of many volunteers.

Our number one Thank You goes to our board members and their families, who spend many hours in preparation, as well as time staffing each event.

Head2Head: The Reagan-Bush Years

on December 13, 2018 - 8:31am

By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

bjgordon@ladailypost.com

Okay, I fibbed about finishing up with history this time. I’m writing extra columns this month to get past that log-jam. A lot happened in the 1980s, once I started thinking about it.

The Nixon’s fall in the wake of Watergate led to disillusionment with politics and Washington on all sides.

A mild-mannered former Democratic governor of Georgia seemed like the antidote.

Letter To The Editor: Kiwanis Los Alamos Says Thanks!

on December 11, 2018 - 5:26am
By ANN HAYES
Breakfast with Santa Chairperson
 
The Kiwanis Club of Los Alamos wishes to thank all those who helped to make our recent Breakfast with Santa successful.
 
The weather was perfect and contributed to bringing out large crowds to our annual event. The Los Alamos Flute Choir delighted with their Christmas carol program. Special thanks go to Del Norte Credit Union for their continued generous support of this event.
Tags: 

Andrews: Education, Training & The Five ‘Ws’ – Part 1

on December 6, 2018 - 9:30am

By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute

In 1956, I started high school and among the first courses I took was world history. Being more interested in math and science, it did not receive my devoted attention and, besides, my half-brother was dating my history teacher. Then, one day, my father asked me a question about Socrates and Greek history. Much to my embarrassment, I could not answer the question. I did not even know who Socrates was. My dad answered with a questioning complaint about the history curriculum and the lack of attention to Greek history. I had to respond quickly.

Head To Head: A Brief Look At 1950-1979

on December 6, 2018 - 9:14am

By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

bjgordon@ladailypost.com

As promised, we’re going to take a fairly shallow dive into the history of the current “tribal” politics that seems to have taken over the stage recently.

Of course political divisions are not new. We did fight a civil war after all, but many of the roots of the current conflict between the two major political parties have their roots in the period beginning post World War II.

This period was followed by the 1950s and the McCarthy Era.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Tyler Taylor

on December 6, 2018 - 2:07am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos
 
This is a response to Mr. Tyler Taylor’s recent letter to the editor (link). First of all, all I want from the State of New Mexico is for them to leave my health care alone. If you want to make your plan voluntary, that’s fine. Most of the people in this community have pretty good health care coverage. I doubt that your plan would be an improvement for them.
 
Secondly, obviously it’s the State of New Mexico that brought us the DMV.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Assumptions Regarding New Mexico Health Security Plan Are Incorrect

on December 5, 2018 - 9:18am
By Tyler Taylor, MD
Los Alamos

In his letter “Council’s Action on Health Care” (link) of Nov. 17, 2018, Richard Nebel made several assumptions regarding the NM Health Security Plan, which I believe are incorrect. One is that this statewide co-op style plan would be run by “the same people who brought us DMV“. In fact, the HSP would not be run by a state government department. Instead, it would be managed by an independent, geographically-representative commission of 15 citizens serving on a per diem basis.

The transparency requirements for this commission are very high, and it’s members

Letter To The Editor: Thanks To So Many For Successful Children's Christmas Bazaar

on December 4, 2018 - 11:20am
By BETH PATTILLO
Children’s Christmas Bazaar Chair

Thank you to everyone who helped with this year’s Children’s Christmas Bazaar at Trinity on the Hill Episcopal Church.

Many people in our community made donations of new or like new items, wrapping supplies and provided treats for the parents and volunteers. Los Alamos Middle School and Los Alamos High School students representing National Honor Society, NJROTC, Key Club, Friends of Rachel and Natural Helpers were instrumental in set up, assisting shoppers and wrapping gifts.

World Futures: Artificial Intelligence – Part Four

on December 3, 2018 - 11:52am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
Previously we looked at presenting a consumer with a list of video program selections based on “preferences” of the individual consumer. The service being provided is essentially a “cloud library” of video programming with the “librarian software” helping in the selection process.
 
Concurrently, the “cloud librarian” is collecting data about the collective consumers to help in the selection or creation of new media products.
 
The “cloud librarian” is making decisions in providing individual customer service but is restricted from

Letter To The Editor: Setting Record Straight About Tongue Brushing

on November 29, 2018 - 8:45am
By CLIFF HAN
Owner of Knoze Jr. Corp
 
AllerPops was featured on KOAT Action 7 News Nov. 15, 2018, “Los Alamos Scientist Creates Lollipop for Allergy Relief.
 
The reporter, Kay Dimanche, did an outstanding job telling the story of how the company got started. I was struggling with a terrible year-long case of the allergies. After testing my own saliva I discovered that it wasn’t the junipers that caused the allergy symptoms, but instead it was a lack of friendly bacteria in my mouth.
 
The study that led to the invention of AllerPops revealed a general principle that can explain why
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Smart Meters...

on November 24, 2018 - 9:15am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

The DPU response to the concern about private information becoming available via smart meters is the assurance that this information is available now via an IPRA request.

I am surprised to see that this response has not been met with howls of derision from the sophisticated residents of our county. Aside from the timeliness of an electronic intrusion, for an IPRA request to be processed, complete information is required that identifies who has requested it.

An anonymous hacker of the County/DPU records will not be so disadvantaged with respect to criminal intent!

Tags: 

Garrison: 2018 Thanksgiving Thankful List

on November 22, 2018 - 7:12am
By TOM GARRISON
St. George, Utah

Each November I compose a “Thanksgiving Thankful List” for the preceding year. My wife Deb and I enjoy our life in red rock southern Utah and have many things for which we are thankful.

I hope sharing them brings a smile and acknowledgement that even the seldom thought of can be a source of thankfulness.

My 2018 Thanksgiving Thankful List:

  • I’m glad condiments now come in squeezable plastic bottles. Those of us of a certain age remember when ketchup came in a tall skinny round bottle with a small opening.

Letter To The Editor: Council’s Action On Health Care

on November 17, 2018 - 5:58am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos
 

This is a response to the County Council’s recent action on health care. I have a couple of chronic conditions that incur medical expenses that are about $3,000/month. Three years ago I didn’t have either of these problems, but when you get older medical issues can show up very quickly. Right now I have Medicare backed up by the Lab’s medical insurance. I don’t have co-pays or deductibles, so it works out well for me.

Since most people in Los Alamos do or did work at the lab, my health care benefits are pretty typical.

Letter To The Editor: Now It Can Be Told – Thank you, Christine Chandler!

on November 14, 2018 - 11:46am
By DAVID SCHIFERL
UNM-LA welding student

During her 2018 election campaign for the New Mexico House Dist. 43 race, Christine Chandler emphasized her support for all education, highlighting the training at the University of New Mexico-Los Alamos for emergency medical technicians, machinists, welders, etc.

When I mentioned that UNM-LA was submitting a proposal for a certificate welding program and that local monetary contributions were listed in the application to show strong local support, Chris Chandler immediately sent a check for $500 a few weeks before the election. No photo op.

Letter To The Editor: Flow Trail A Bad Idea In Any Canyon

on November 11, 2018 - 6:45pm
By BRUCE WARREN
North Community

I’m glad to see the equestrian community has come out against a bicycle flow trail in Bayo Canyon. However, I’m disappointed in their NIMBY attitude. If the flow trail is a bad idea in “their” canyon, it’s a bad idea in everyone’s canyons.

The County would do better to spend their time and money on much needed maintenance and improvement of our existing amazing trail system.

For more on why I think a bicycle flow trail is a bad idea, please see my previous letter to the Post at Letter To The Editor: Do We Need Or Want A Bicycle Flow Trail?

Letter To The Editor: Congrats To County Clerk’s Office

on November 9, 2018 - 7:03am
By JOANN JOHNSON
Los Alamos
 
Congratulations to the Los Alamos County Clerk’s Office for an outstanding job on Election Day.
 
I went to the Golf Course about 8 a.m. At that time, there were more than 20 voters in line. Because the voting place was well staffed and had plenty of voting booths it still only took 15 minutes to cast my vote.
 
Thanks to our County Clerk Naomi Maestas and her staff for a job well done.

Pages


Advertisements