Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Support Christine Chandler For Dist. 43 ... Backbone, Brains, Listens, Cares For Citizens

on April 17, 2018 - 8:09am
By MIKE and KYLE WHEELER
Los Alamos

Christine Chandler is our choice to represent District 43 at the New Mexico State Legislature. She will be filling some big shoes, but we know with her background she will do a great job.

Christine has served on the Los Alamos County Council for many years, including as vice-chair of the council. She served, and continues to serve, with courage, integrity and honor. Christine has worked in the legislature for several years as a legislative analyst and understands the job of state representative.

Christine served on the Charter Review Committee when the

Letter To The Editor: Money In politics?

on April 14, 2018 - 9:06am
By VERNON N. KERR
Former Representative

I was shocked when I saw in the newspapers that some legislative races of state representative cost $100,000 in our state, the corker was $250,000 for a senate race. This was somewhat earlier in the campaigns, maybe a couple of years ago.

I served 16 years as the state representative for Los Alamos County and one term as a county councilor, plus a year as the governor’s cabinet secretary for finance and administration. I also spent 10 years as the chief bill analyst for the House and Senate at various times.

Letter To The Editor: A Hardworking Judge Who Learns Quickly

on April 14, 2018 - 5:48am
By ANTHONY I. ARMIJO MBA, CPA, CGMA, CGFM
Santa Fe

 

District Court Judge Gregory S. Shaffer and I worked together at the Department of Finance and Administration (DFA). I was the State Controller and Financial Control Division Director; he was an attorney.

 

As a financial oversight entity, accounting is ingrained in DFA’s work and the statutes it administers. Greg quickly mastered the accounting concepts necessary to provide the highest level of legal service to the Department.

Letter To The Editor: Support Sara Scott For Council

on April 13, 2018 - 9:37am
By JOHN GUSTAFSON
Los Alamos
 
I am writing to express my support for Sara Scott’s candidacy for LA County Council.
 
I had the privilege of working with Sara at Los Alamos National Laboratory when she was in a leadership role, and I can attest to her effectiveness as a leader and a strategist. She has an ability to analyze multiple sides of an issue and formulate a proactive plan for reaching a productive, beneficial outcome.
 
Sara knows how to listen and when to adjust. She has tremendous integrity, a great work ethic, and superb dedication to task.
 
LA County and its citizens

Letter To The Editor: Elect Judges Recommended By Judicial Nominating Commission

on April 13, 2018 - 8:53am
FELICIA ORTH
Los Alamos
 
A 1988 State constitutional amendment supplemented a purely political system for selecting judges with a merit-selection appointment process.
 
Judicial Nominating Commissions now vet judicial appointment applicants using 12 criteria. Commissions are independent; include judges, lawyers, and non-lawyers; and are bipartisan.
 
Only Commission-recommended applicants may be appointed. The appointed judge runs in the next partisan election cycle.
 
The revised system improved both judicial caliber and diversity.

Letter To The Editor: Comparison Of SMR With Other Technologies

on April 13, 2018 - 8:53am
By JIM REDMAN
ErgoTech, Los Alamos
 
While I applaud the DPU for looking for innovative ways to meet the community goal of carbon-neutral electrical generation I'm a little disappointed that the review of UAMPS small scale nuclear reactor SMR failed to compare the cost to the tax payers of other options.
 
 
At a minimum I would have expected these costs to be included in the County Council Agenda Packet when asking the councilors to make a decision on this topic.

The article by Mr. Glasco in the Post (https://www.ladailypost.com/content/glasco-carbon-free-power-project) suggests that
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Do What Works To Provide Student Success Resources

on April 13, 2018 - 8:52am
By CHARLES GOODMACHER 
Government and Media Relations Director
National Education Association – New Mexico
 
Teachers and other educators across the nation say “enough” to chronic underfunding of public education. 
 
Here in New Mexico, educators await a positive outcome to the lawsuit against the State for failing to provide public schools the supports necessary for statewide student success.

Letter To The Editor: Vote Christine For Dist. 43

on April 9, 2018 - 1:50pm
By DAVID SCHIFERL
Los Alamos
 
I enthusiastically support Christine Chandler to be our representative for New Mexico House District #43. I especially appreciate Christine’s role while on the County Council, in helping save the PAC 8 Community Media Center -- several times!
 
While working with Christine on various civic activities – most recently the Los Alamos County Transportation Board, I have come to appreciate her insights and fear her questions. And she doesn’t stop.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You LAPS Parents

on April 6, 2018 - 9:11am
By RUBY SELVAGE and VINCENT MARCIANO
LAPS Foundation Student Board Members, 2016-2018
 
On behalf of the Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation and students from the Key Club and National Honor Society, we would like to thank all the parents of LAPS students who contributed to our recent student telethon.
 
Our fellow students volunteered their time to call parents to ask for their support for projects and programs supported by the LAPS Foundation. These initiatives benefit all public schools in Los Alamos.

Letter To The Editor: The White Elephant

on April 2, 2018 - 4:28pm

By BRADY BURKE
Candidate For Los Alamos County Council

Last month, the Los Alamos County Council, through a sleight of hand process, as they are wont to do, unanimously accepted the Tourism Strategic Plan and requested a Tourism Implementation Task Force Charter. Yes, I said sleight of hand.

The County Council meetings follow a prescribed format, guided by Robert’s Rules of Order. Here are the main headings for the April 3, 2018 County Council Meeting:

1. OPENING/ROLL CALL

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

5. PRESENTATIONS, PROCLAMATIONS AND RECOGNITIONS

6. PUBLIC COMMENT

About Those Missing Post Office Clocks...

on April 2, 2018 - 4:20pm
This historic photo shows two clock faces mounted to the exterior of the U.S. Post Office in downtown Los Alamos. It is suspected the clocks disappeared sometime in the 1970s-1980s. Courtesy photo
 
By DIMAS M. CHAVEZ
Los Alamos
 
I moved to Los Alamos as a youngster arriving Aug. 15, 1943. Our home was one of the original log cabins located not far from the Fuller Lodge, and I recall vividly watching the construciton of the Community Center, which included the new Post Office, and the famous two clocks.
 
For keeping time, we had a steam plant located not far from Ashley Pond that

Letter To The Editor: House Dist. 43 Needs To Be Represented By A Scientist With Experience In Politics

on April 2, 2018 - 7:57am
By TOM BOWLES
White Rock

Electing Pete Sheehey to the State Legislature will ensure that the best interests of all of District 43 are represented most effectively. The reason is simple District 43 needs to be represented by a scientist, with experience in politics, who also has the best interests of northern NM at heart.

Pete has passion about the issues, such as affordable physical and mental health care for all, plus the ability to apply calm scientific reasoning to problems and proposed solutions.

Glasco: Carbon Free Power Project

on March 31, 2018 - 10:01am

By Timothy A. Glasco, Utilities Manager
Department of Public Utilities

On April 10 the Board of Public Utilities and the County Council will convene to consider approval of a Power Sales Contract (PSC) with the Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems (UAMPS) organization, to continue our participation in the Carbon Free Power Project. This will be the world’s first small modular nuclear reactor power generation plant. Located in Idaho, this 600MW facility is scheduled to be operational by 2027. 

Over the past four years a fatal flaw analysis was conducted, and the project was discussed at

Letter To The Editor: Why Christine Chandler Is Excellent Choice To Represent Us In House Dist. 43

on March 31, 2018 - 7:30am
By T. DOUGLAS REILLY 
Los Alamos
 
Christine Chandler is an excellent candidate to represent District 43, including Los Alamos, in our state House of Representatives.
 
I first met Christine in the early 1990's when I was at DOE in Washington. She came from LANL for three months to help our safeguards section. I learned Christine had an especially good education* and that she was sharp, pleasant and a very hard worker.
 
I have followed her career in the lab's legal department and her many efforts to support the community of Los Alamos.

Letter To The Editor: Medicare For All Can Work

on March 27, 2018 - 4:23pm
By ED BIRNBAUM
Los Alamos

Lisa Shin’s op-ed in the LA Daily Post (link) talks a lot about potential problems associated with a “single-payer” model for healthcare in the U.S., but her arguments for the main part are focused on how Obamacare works now, not on a single-payer model. 

In the process, she ignores the fundamental question of how do we provide healthcare for everyone. Even with Obamacare and Medicaid expansion, millions of people still have no healthcare coverage, which means that their only recourse is to go to the emergency room when they get sick. What is her plan?

Making the

Letter To The Editor: Response To Lisa Shin

on March 26, 2018 - 9:07am
By RICHARD SKOLNIK
White Rock

I write in response to Ms. Lisa Shin’s letter to the editor of March 24, 2018 (link).

The US is the only country in the world that does not have a commitment to Universal Health Coverage, for which there are sound ethical and economic rationale. Universal Health Coverage means ensuring that all people in a country have access to an agreed package of good quality health services, coupled with insurance to protect people financially if they fall ill.

In addition, we spend 18 percent of our national income on health.

Hopkins: Christine Chandler Superbly Qualified For Dist. 43 House Seat

on March 21, 2018 - 1:17pm

By JOHN C. HOPKINS
Los Alamos

I urge all Democrats in District 43 to vote for Christine Chandler in the June 5 primary. She is superbly qualified through temperament, knowledge and experience.

I have known Christine almost from her first day at the Los Alamos National Laboratory in late 1986. At that time, I was a lab associate director responsible for the nuclear weapons program. Christine and I worked together on numerous issues and problems facing the lab.

She was always professional in the face of serious challenges.

Letter To The Editor: Put Sights On Whatever May Add To Mass Shootings

on March 19, 2018 - 2:54pm
By JOHN BARTLIT
Los Alamos
 
School kids of the nation seem intent on pursuing varied means of giving enough visibility to school shootings to achieve useful changes in the problem.
 
Any major discussion of mass shootings eventually gets around to the growing "culture of violence" -- the gun-filled movies and video games. School kids could further heighten visibility with protests in Hollywood against the epidemic of violent movies and in Silicon Valley against gun-filled video games.
 
I don't know whether this added visibility and the data would help reduce the problem more than the

Letter To The Editor: A Case Of Legislative Error On Gun Rights

on March 14, 2018 - 8:20am
By VERNON N. KERR
Los Alamos
 
Legislators have been known to do ridiculous things and a majority of Florida’s legislators have done so along with their governor.
 
They have assumed that acts of violence using a firearm are age related or cynically a trick to weaken the Second Amendment is in their sights. They have forbidden sales of firearms to persons ages 18 to 20 purely on the basis of age. This denies them their rights under the Second Amendment placing them with a class of persons forbidden the right to bear arms for cause.

Letter To The Editor: Soggy Swimsuits

on March 12, 2018 - 8:13am
By LYNN HANRAHAN
Los Alamos
 
Tossing my bathing suit into the swimsuit dryer the other day at the Aquatic Center I noticed a sign above the machine requesting the highschool freshmen who are swimming there daily for the next few weeks not to use the dryer. They are supposed to bring a baggy instead and stuff their soggy suits in it and lug it around all day. The sign explained that the machine has a tendency to overheat and is rather expensive to repair.
 
A week or two ago there was another sign outside the pool listing schedule changes necessary to accomodate a visiting foreign swim
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Community Thanks From Love Shouldn't Hurt Supply drive

on March 12, 2018 - 8:10am
By LOVE SHOULDN'T HURT
Los Alamos Domestic Violence Supply Drive
 
On behalf of the Domestic Violence shelters of northern New Mexico, we would like to thank all who supported the Love Shouldn’t Hurt supply drive. 
 
Thanks to your support, it was a HUGE success! We were able to give each shelter a truckload of items. This drive proved to be an amazing success because of the immense support from individuals in Los Alamos and surrounding areas.
 
We also would like to acknowledge Smith’s Marketplace in Los Alamos, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos Social Services, the Domestic

Shin: Thanks To Our Governor For SB17 Veto!

on March 8, 2018 - 8:05am
By LISA SHIN
Candidate for House District 43

A big thanks to our Governor for her veto of Senate Bill 17! Our Legislature should advocate for policies that bring more job creators to our state, not drive them away. Susana Martinez was right to veto this onerous and flawed tax policy on the #1 job creator in Northern New Mexico. 

Senate Bill 17 failed to meet the following Legislative Finance Committee tax policy principles:

1. Adequacy: Revenue should be adequate to fund needed government services. Our elected representatives lobbied vigorously for SB 17, not to secure funding for

Letter To The Editor: LAHS Swimming And Diving Teams Thank Community

on March 6, 2018 - 4:30pm
By LAHS Boys and Girls Swimming and Diving Team
2018 District Swimming and Diving Champions

The Los Alamos High School Boys and Girls Swimming and Diving Team would like to give a huge thank you to all the local businesses who supported the 2018 District Swimming and Diving Championship Meet that was hosted Feb. 2-3 in Los Alamos.

Through the generosity of these local restaurants and businesses we were able to host 11 New Mexico swimming and diving teams at this event and promote the hospitality of our great community. 

Please remember to support these wonderful local businesses as they support

Letter To The Editor: Grateful For Public Bus System

on March 5, 2018 - 8:57am
By LAURA CASSWELL
Los Alamos
 
I just wanted to say how grateful I am for the public bus system. It was a great help to me while recovering from shoulder surgery.
 
I also want to thank the many bus drivers - all were always kind, friendly and helpful.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Overdue Shout Out

on March 3, 2018 - 9:12pm
By ALLIE THOMPSON
White Rock

This is an overdue shout out about Los Alamos County employee (I’m sorry, I don’t have his title) Larry Valdez and Joseph from the solid waste department.

We received a “nuisance” notification about a brush pile awaiting pickup. When I explained that I had called and asked if there had been a pickup on our street and was informed that it hadn’t been done yet and I could put the pile out, Mr. Valdez reassured me that they would work with us on the matter, not to worry, and to contact the solid waste department.

Joseph from solid waste returned my call and was

Pages


Advertisements