Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Happy To See Growth In Town

on May 23, 2019 - 6:36am
By TIM L
Los Alamos
 
Thank you Rick Nebel for responding to Mr. Visal and Mr. Little. There are many of us who are happy to see our town growing in much needed areas such as food options.
 
We shouldn't be negative on anyone wanting to invest in our town to make it just a little nicer. I am not a big fan of Wendy's either, but it will be much nicer than the old abandoned building located there now and some people will be happy to eat there.
 
And not to worry to anyone who does not like Wendy's or prefers another restaurant as there is room for other restaurants that you may enjoy as
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Fact vs ‘Fact’ About Wendy’s

on May 21, 2019 - 5:30pm
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
I am always amazed that people in the most educated 144 sq miles of the planet never seem to do any research before writing letters to the editor and worse often style them as if what their writing is fact vs their own opinion ("fact"). Today's topic is the recent letters regarding the proposed Wendy's.
 
All the letter writers assume that the Planning and Zoning Commission or the County Council have the ability to deny the developer approval for a Wendy's ("fact"). The actual fact of the matter is they do not.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Pride Festival ... Offers Place For Students To Be Themselves

on May 18, 2019 - 10:45am
By Gwyneth Lyons
LAHS 9th Grader
FLAP Council Member

The LGBTQ+ Pride Festival organized by Friends of Los Alamos Pride (FLAP) has been a great addition to the town.

Specifically for youth, this festival, and the organization overall, has been extremely beneficial by giving kids the opportunity to learn more about the LGBTQ+ community. This gives students, from elementary to high school, a place to be themselves, learn about the history of pride, and so much more.

For several years, the high school GSA (Genders and Sexuality Alliance) has worked to make the town more inclusive of queer

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Response To Visal And Little

on May 17, 2019 - 5:24pm
By RICK NEBEL
Los Alamos

This is a response to Mr. Visal and Mr. Little on a new Wendy's. I, for one, am happy to see that someone is thinking about opening a Wendy's in Los Alamos. This represents a $2,000,000 to $3,500,000 investment in our community. I think it is great that someone is willing to make that kind of investment.

If you would prefer to have a KFC or Taco Bell, there is an easy way to fix that problem. Go purchase a franchise and open one yourself. Both KFC and Taco Bell have been tried up here before, and both of them failed.

Letter To The Editor: Response To ‘No To Wendys’

on May 17, 2019 - 3:38pm
By DENNIS LITTLE
Los Alamos
 
Mr. Visel, Los Alamos County Council and Los Alamos P&Z,
 
I'm an extremely regular fast food eater (almost every work day), and completely agree with Mr. Visel -- we absolutely do not need another hamburger place.
 
It would be easier to count places that DON'T serve hamburgers than it would be to count the ones that do.
 
PLEASE get us some variety of fast food. In addition to those mentioned by Mr.

Letter To The Editor: No To Wendys

on May 17, 2019 - 1:28pm
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos
 
This town (Los Alamos) doesn’t need is another burger joint! So, before the County gives its OK for a Wendy’s let’s see if we can get something better like a Kentucky Fried Chicken (or Church’s), or a Taco Bell to take over the old McDonalds building.
 
Los Alamos is seriously lacking in its variety of choices for fast food places and another Burger Joint is certainly NOT the answer!
 

World Futures: Profit, Non-Profit, Not-for-Profit – Part 1

on May 16, 2019 - 6:55am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
Inferring from the title, one might anticipate this series is about businesses. It is and it is not.
 
It is in that as humanity developed, trade became essential. It is not because humanity has a need to survive and that requires working together in an “organized” manner. Perhaps this is better visualized with the bubble model I am fond of.

Checking today, there are 7.7 billion living people on the world. These are individual bubbles bouncing around with dependence on other bubbles and the “fluid” they are in.

Letter To The Editor: Smith’s Marketplace Has Lost Yet Another Customer

on May 12, 2019 - 7:34am
By CINDY LITTLE
Los Alamos

Smith’s Marketplace couldn’t possibly make their disdain for their customers any more clear.

As if the Visa credit card fiasco wasn’t bad enough, they have now removed both express checkout lanes, apparently under the assumption that anyone who has 15 items or less would be just as happy going through the self-checkout as an express lane.

I wonder if they ever noticed that there were always people using the express lane? I wonder if they ever watched how people struggle trying to figure out how to use the self-checkout?

If I wanted to work in a grocery store, I would
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Study Shows Kroger Prices 14.4 Percent Higher Than Walmart

on May 7, 2019 - 7:41am
By PETER HEIMDAHL
Los Alamos
 
Kroger claims its Smith's supermarkets no longer accepts Visa credit cards because of excessive fees and to “keep” prices low.
 
This doesn't ring true, because a recent report reveals that Kroger's prices aren't low to begin with.
 
Kroger’s average best price was 14.4 percent higher than Walmart’s (which accepts Visa) on a basket of goods in eight big markets around the nation, according to an examination produced by Chris Mandeville, an analyst at New York investment firm Jefferies.

Letter To The Editor: About Regional Coalition...

on May 7, 2019 - 6:57am
By CAMILLE MORRISON
Los Alamos
 
Last year I told someone who was on the Regional Coalition of LANL Communities that it was our Congressional Delegation's job to get money for the State and if they aren't doing their job then we should vote them out. His reply was that they reached out to Udall's staff and they were unresponsive.
 
Both Senator Heinrich and Representative Lujan were reelected. If Representative Lujan is elected Senator he will continue the good job Senator Udall is doing.
 
Now that Stephanie Garcia Richard is NM Commissioner of Public Lands she is consulting with

Letter To The Editor: Support Pride Los Alamos

on May 6, 2019 - 7:25am
By ANNA DILLANE
Los Alamos
 
Every community has its defining moments. Los Alamos has had a few. One recent defining moment occurred in June of 2018.
 
I had the honor of being part of a small group of dedicated people who put together the first-ever Los Alamos celebration of Pride. For the first time in Los Alamos history, this community was given an opportunity to stand up and tell our lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer + (LGBTQ+) family members, friends, coworkers and neighbors; "We see you! WE SUPPORT YOU! You are one of us!"
 
Hundreds of people, from babies to retirees,
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Climate & Energy Transition

on April 26, 2019 - 8:35am
By CAMILLA FEIBELMAN
Rio Grande Chapter Director
Sierra Club

 

You probably heard that PNM announced Monday that they will reach 100 percent carbon-free by 2040, five years earlier than ETA requires. This is very exciting news and moves us even faster toward protecting our planet.
 
PNM wasn't specific about how they'll get to 100 percdent and what technologies they'll use to reach the goal. But they did say that they will be building 140MW of wind and that battery prices are falling fast. They also said they'd offer different scenarios and that "we" would decide together at the PRC.

Letter To The Editor: In Response To Mr. Brown

on April 23, 2019 - 6:11pm

By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos

I am writing in response to Mr. Brown (link).

Unfortunately, both sides are entrenched like a WWI battlefield when it comes to abortion. Which unfortunately is not the problem only a symptom. The problem is since 1959 this country has done many things to kick GOD out of the country and deny he even exists. Mostly manifesting itself in ever growing hatred toward Christians.

While many people will disagree with my next statement, I ask them to investigate their faiths teachings as opposed to how they personally believe what their faith teaches.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: To The Pro-Life New Mexican

on April 23, 2019 - 7:17am
By JAKE BROWN
Los Alamos

To the Pro-Life New Mexican – it’s time to take action. It’s time to stop thinking that by just voting Republican we will stop the murder of innocent New Mexican babies.

Before you tune out because I called it “murder” tell me: what is the word for the unlawful premeditated killing of an innocent human life?

We have technology today which makes it impossible to deny that a fetus is a human. “Fetus” just means “offspring” anyway, and for a human woman that would be a child, and we all speak English, so let’s just call it what it is: murdering a human child.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Wireless Metering Bad Idea...

on April 18, 2019 - 8:32am
By MIKE DEMPSEY
Los Alamos
 
Dear Los Alamos Board of Public Utilities and Los Alamos County Council. First, I would like to thank the Los Alamos Utilities Department for the Excellent Reliability and Quality of their service. For many reasons, everyday I think about how VERY THANKFUL that my family and I have electric power, clean water, natural gas and a flush toilet 24/7/365. Thank you! You are doing an excellent job!
 
I travel extensively, and have been following the issue of wireless metering of our utilities by long distance.

Letter To The Editor: If You See A Horse, Say ‘Hey’!

on April 17, 2019 - 7:31am
Courtesy photo
 
By LAURA MULLANE
Vice President, Pajarito Riding Club
 
As the weather becomes warmer and many of us head outside to enjoy the County’s excellent trail system, now is a good time to talk about how best to share the trails with horses.
 
It’s good to start with a basic understanding of how horses see the world. Horses are prey animals. This means they’re ruled by one primary fear: the fear of being eaten. Never mind that most domesticated horses today have never known anything but safe, comfortable lives.
 
Millions of years of evolution tell them that a mountain lion
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Storm Of March 13

on April 14, 2019 - 6:16am
By JIM TROUT
Los Alamos
 
The early morning of March 13, a mother of a storm (more like a cyclone bomb), hit the Jemez Mountains in the vicinity of the Valles Caldera, along S.R. 4 and into Los Alamos County.
 
Take a trip to Los Alamos and see the hundreds of trees felled as a result of this brief, violent storm.
 
Myself and 18 or 19 other vehicles were trapped on S.R. 4 in the Valles Caldera area in zero visibility, very high winds and drifting snow banks.
 
Traffic was completely stopped; some vehicles in the middle of the road and some off the road.
 
My Jeep was stuck in a
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Response To Destruction Of America

on April 13, 2019 - 9:39pm
By DENNIS LITTLE
Los Alamos
 
Ms. Bonner, I'm a firm believer in every person having their own opinion, but you've missed several facts and bits of scripture that are extremely important that are very relevant to your letter.
 
1. Not every person in Los Alamos or this country is Christian. I personally know people who are Christian (of various denominations), Jewish, Muslim, Buddhist, Mormon/LDS, Jehovah's Witness, Hindu, Sikh, Agnostic, and Atheist.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Recent Board Resignations At Los Alamos Little Theatre

on April 13, 2019 - 9:26pm
By LAURIE TOMLINSON
Los Alamos

I am submitting this letter in response to the recent resignation of six of the ten members on the board of Los Alamos Little Theatre. Full disclosure, I have worked with every board member in some way over the past decade, and I consider some on both sides of the conflict as friends. Although I am not a current board member, I have served on the board for three terms within the last decade, and have served as a member of the publicity committee, formed this year to explore and implement new ways to increase audiences for productions.

Tags: 

Andrews: Integrity – Part One

on April 12, 2019 - 7:40am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
When starting the World Futures Institute, I created a list of 18 areas that need to be addressed for the future of earth and humanity.
 
If you examine the list it is clear that every area is undergoing change and evolution. Item 16 on the list is “in transformation, how do we maintain integrity?” But it, integrity, will be evolving as well as systems, policies, and how we get along both individually and collectively.
 
So what is integrity?

The word “integrity” is related to the word “integer” meaning whole.

Letter To The Editor: Destruction Of America

on April 10, 2019 - 8:00am
By LUCILLE BONNER
Los Alamos
 
America has already been corrupted by legalization of murder of babies in the womb and has ignored the sanctity of marriage by legalization of any kind of sexual behavior. Now our Congress is considering House Resolution, HR-5, to make indecency legal in the name of equality. It proposes to make it a crime to forbid men from entering women's restrooms or showers.
 
If we are wise, we will realize that we cannot change God's laws not to murder (Exodus 20:13), to honor marriage as He planned it (Genesis 2:24), and to behave decently (Mark 7:21-23).
 

Letter To The Editor: Thanks For Outpouring Of Support For Sonic Assist Program

on April 9, 2019 - 10:00am
BERNADETTE LAURITZEN
Executive Director of C’YA

Champions of Youth Ambitions (C’YA) would like to thank the community for the outpouring of love and support for our Sonic Assist program. When snow damaged the roof awning of our local Sonic, many employees found themselves instantly out of work.

When Jordan Redmond and the Youth Activity Centers stepped up, it provided a physical location and drop off point for donations. Many community members rallied to donate canned goods and non-perishables for immediate assistance. This allowed us to step in right away.

Donations in the form of coins

Letter To The Editor: Satisfied Smith’s Customer

on April 9, 2019 - 9:09am
By BRINT PERERA
Los Alamos
 

As a cash and check user at Smith’s here in town, I can understand the frustration VISA card users have at  Smith’s recent policy of no longer accepting that credit card.

In my years of shopping at Smith’s, I have found their staff pleasant and helpful, and their product inventory to be more than adequate. Yes, there are times when I’ve shopped late at night, and found certain produce items out of stock, but that can be expected after a full day of shoppers. I don’t hold that against the store (and I’ve never heard the derogatory term “empty shelves Smith’s”).

I worked

Letter To The Editor: Alternatives To Shopping At Smith’s Marketplace

on April 2, 2019 - 9:12am
By PETER HEIMDAHL
Los Alamos
 
We were thrilled when Kroger decided to invest in a beautiful Smith's Marketplace in Los Alamos.
 
We spend $8,000 a year there using our only credit card, a United Airlines Visa. We are on a fixed income and we count on the miles we earn at Smith's to be able to travel. However, Kroger has engaged in a childish game of brinkmanship with Visa over fees, and Smith's has now banned Visa credit cards.
 
We, along with many other Visa card holders are outraged at this brazen example of corporate arrogance.

World Futures: Electricity And Other Energy – Part Four

on March 30, 2019 - 11:23am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
In part three of this series we finished by implying that solar power would be insufficient to meet the energy needs and that nuclear is an alternative in the quest to eliminate dependence on fossil fuels.

If this is an unacceptable approach, then the lifestyle and organization of humanity will require significant changes. A good question is why?

Using the United States as an example, the country has a total of 2.3 billion acres of land.

Pages


Advertisements