Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Proposed Ordinance 695

on August 23, 2019 - 7:40am
By DAVID JOLLY
General Manager
Metzgers Hardware
 
I am writing to express my strong support for adoption of the proposed County Ordinance 695, and the effort to bring an 86-room hotel and conference center to the 20 th Street extension.
 
Both the hotel and the conference center have been long identified priorities, dating at least to the time I arrived and became involved in economic development issues 10 years ago. The Tourism Strategic Plan from February 27, 2018 is typical.

Letter To The Editor: Dog Jog 2019 Organizers Thank Community For A Successful Event

on August 18, 2019 - 6:28am
By WENDEE BURNISH
Chair of Los Alamos Dog Jog 2019

Warm weather and sunny skies greeted the runners and walkers and their eager dogs who enjoyed themselves thoroughly at the 22nd Annual Los Alamos Dog Jog April 27.

This year’s Dog Jog, organized by the Atomic City Roadrunners, the Los Alamos Dog Obedience Club, Mountain Canine Corps Search and Rescue and Pajarito K9 Search and Rescue raised $15,600 for Friends of Shelter and Companion Animals.

Friends of Shelter and Companion Animals (FOSCA) is a nonprofit organization that provides funding to individuals and rescue groups to spay/neuter

Letter To The Editor: Gratitude For YHRY Success

on August 10, 2019 - 9:12am
By Sarah M. Crotzer and Madelyn G. Crotzer
Sisters and Co-founders of Youth Helping Refugee Youth
 
This summer’s Youth Helping Refugee Youth (YHRY) drive to collect supplemental school-related items was a wonderful success! A huge thank you to all the youth and adults who contributed in some way to the effort!
 
Donations included 160 new pairs of teen boy socks, 216 new pairs of teen girl socks, 92 twin-packs of antiperspirant deodorant, 89 new earbuds, and 22 Walmart gift cards ($25 each, for use in purchasing class-specific items).
 
Also included were uplifting stickers, small

Letter To The Editor: Young Child Deaths – Where Are Our Faith Leaders?

on August 6, 2019 - 7:33pm
By RICHARD SKOLNIK
White Rock

I appreciate Father Glenn’s writing (link) about the tragic loss of a young life and the issues of faith that it raises.

I am disappointed, however, that many religious leaders have failed to speak out about the ethical and moral issues related to the more than 5 million under-five children who die every year worldwide. In addition, these same leaders have largely been silent about the exceptional disparities in young child deaths in our own country.

Let me elaborate briefly.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Response To Sierra Club Letter About Violence And Carnage Last Weekend

on August 6, 2019 - 5:58pm
By GERALD M. ANTOS
Los Alamos
 
In response to the Sierra Club's letter (link) about the violence and carnage this last weekend ... I agree, it is truly tragic to have that many innocent people murdered.
 
But the liberal side of this world has completely forgotten that there are 2,700 human beings murdered every day through the misguided idea that abortion is nothing more than a choice. That comes to 1.2 million human beings chosen to be murdered every year because a liberal society thinks that killing babies is nothing more than a choice.
 
When you look at the whole situation, the

Fr. Glenn: Au Revoir, Little Dove … Too?

on August 4, 2019 - 7:27am

By Fr. Glenn Jones

What is it about babies? To see them in distress strikes to the very core … the very fiber of the core … of the heart. To see them in distress sounds the instinctive primal tocsin: “Save! Protect!!”

One of the saddest (and most difficult) duties of priests and ministers is to try (most often vainly) to comfort parents with a little one in medical distress. Such was the case the other day when called to Pediatric ICU at Presbyterian Hospital.

Of all persons to request a presence there was none other than the commanding general of the New Mexico Army National Guard—kudos

Letter To The Editor: Need For White Rock Thrift Shop

on August 4, 2019 - 7:24am
 By NINA THAYER
Los Alamos

I would like to add my support to the discussion of the need for a White Rock thrift shop. 

We here in Los Alamos County have lots of stuff and we are generous. Together with the loss of the Jemez House thrift shop and the Marie Kando effect that means that all three Los Alamos thrift shops are overwhelmed with donations.

Our mission at United Thrift Shop is to reduce the items going to our landfill while improving the lives of many New Mexicans. We do this by reselling clean clothing and reusable household goods at low prices and giving all “profits” to more than two

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: The Second Amendment ... ‘Facts’ Vs Facts

on July 30, 2019 - 5:50am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
The issue of gun control and the Second Amendment generates strong feelings for many people. Several past letters have been based on "facts" (opinions) rather than actually facts.
 
As I expressed when I ran for sheriff I am the strongest supporter of both the 2nd Amendment and true, not political, common sense gun legislation. The two are not incompatible. And the Founding Fathers put both in the Constitution.
 
Under the Obama administration the Bill of Rights page of the National Archives introduced the document stating, "Fresh in their minds was the memory
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: HUGE Thank You To Los Alamos Fire Department!

on July 29, 2019 - 11:06am
By JILL COOK
Los Alamos
 

Friday evening July 26, 2019, my mother’s condo, below the construction on East Road where the new roundabout is being installed, was flooded.

I was on my way home from Santa Fe, when my Mom called right before I reached the “dead zone” and hurriedly exclaimed, “water and mud are coming in my house!”

When I finally had service again and was able to call her and connect in the police dispatcher, he told me he’d send the Fire Department. I couldn’t help but wonder what the Fire Department could do, after all this was a flood, not a fire.

The first engine arrived

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Report On Shopping Off The Hill

on July 27, 2019 - 9:06pm
MARION L. STELTS
Los Alamos

About a month ago, I posted a letter about Smith’s monopoly on the Hill, their high prices for groceries and gasoline, and their deteriorating service (link). I suggested that the only way to get their attention was to shop off the Hill to hurt them financially.

I have been taking my own advice and I wish to report on the experience.

I have been driving one morning a week to Espanola to shop at Walmart and Food Town. Prices are mostly lower than Smith’s at both institutions.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Councilor Izraelevitz

on July 27, 2019 - 7:08am
By BILL MCKERLEY
Los Alamos

In an article penned by Los Alamos County Councilor David Izraelevitz on July 18, 2019, link, he talked about bubbling test tubes and Galileo, then leaped to declare, with no facts to support his accusation, that our President is racist.

According to Merriam Webster, racism is defined as “a belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race.” Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY), also known as AOC, accused Nancy Pelosi of being a racist.

Letter To The Editor: Crossing The Line?

on July 24, 2019 - 7:46am
By AARON WALKER
Los Alamos
 
I had the opportunity to read the article Councilor Izraelevitz wrote for the Los Alamos Daily Post.
 
This wasn’t a letter to the editor, but a full blown article on the front page of the print newspaper as well as posted online. In this letter, he used 3/4 of it to talk about his recent experiences in Los Alamos and Santa Fe. It was all rather innocuous until you got to the last little bit. He ended the article with “the president is a racist”.
 
This was shocking to me.

Letter To The Editor: I Am Sorry To Disagree But...

on July 21, 2019 - 8:20am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

As always, I am sorry to disagree with the intelligent and thoughtful David Izraelevitz, but this time I am quite sure that his conclusion is wrong: The Rump is not a racist; he is far worse than that. The Rump is an unprincipled opportunist who is willing to appeal to any prejudice: racism, sexism, xenophobia, in order to advance his status.

The flip-flops are especially informative: The Rump recants under pressure so he can claim innocence of the charges, but flops back to reassure his prejudiced supporter that he is only saying what he must to get the

Letter To The Editor: Supporting Polaris Charter School

on July 20, 2019 - 10:17am
By CHRISTINE BERSTEIN
Candidate
Los Alamos School Board

Prior to announcing my run for LAPS School Board, I had been involved interested in the initial planning of the proposed charter school Polaris.

Because I cannot serve on both the Polaris governing board and the LAPS School Board, I have made the choice to step away from any work with Polaris, but I would like to explain why I find value in the proposed school and share with this community a conversation I recently had with Los Alamos School Board President Ellen Ben-Naim.

Last week, Ellen and I had a great conversation about the

Letter To The Editor: White Rock Needs A Thrift Shop

on July 20, 2019 - 10:02am
By CORINE CHRISTMAN
Coordinator
United Church Thrift Shop
 
Dear County Council,
 
White Rock is in dire need of a thrift shop. It might be to the County’s benefit to do something.
 
The Los Alamos thrift shops receive much more than we can use. We end up being more of a sorting center than a thrift shop. We are over-whelmed!
 
A County committee could look into inviting a commercial thrift shop such as Habitat for Humanity, Savers, Salvation Army, Good Will or similar company.
 
Savors located in Santa Fe, Albuquerque and Rio Rancho receives a lot from us through Clothing Helping
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Something To Consider...

on July 20, 2019 - 9:12am
By BRUCE BLEVINS 
LAHS Class of 1969
Albuquerque

Here is something to consider:

1. I am a United States citizen.
2. I have some ideas that are radical, and you would not like them. But you don't know what they are and you have never talked to me about them.
3. I love my country and want the best for the people. But you and I have never discussed how I love my country.
4. I am a white male honkey.
5. Should I be deported? If so, to what country? Under what basis of law would you use?

1. There are at least 4 citizens in the House of Representatives.
2. They have some ideas that are radical, and

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Offering An Olive Branch To The Polaris Charter School Governing Board

on July 19, 2019 - 4:25pm
By Superintendent Kurt Steinhaus
Los Alamos Public Schools

Congratulations on working together to complete your 338-page application. It is clear that you have worked very hard on what may seem like a dissertation without the associated degree. 
 
Your grassroots work is to be commended. In reading the proposed Polaris plan, I can see many good ideas and educational approaches. I resonate with the idea of using formative assessments to develop a growth mindset for student learning.

This letter is to send an open invitation to meet and work together.

Letter To The Editor: Polaris Charter School Application

on July 18, 2019 - 10:22am
By ADALAIDE JACOBSON
Los Alamos

The Los Alamos Public Schools and the proponents of the Polaris Charter School (Grades 6-8) regrettably, in my opinion, have failed the citizenry of Los Alamos concerning the Polaris application currently pending before the Public Education Commission.

Prior to the submission of the charter school application by Polaris, it would have been nice to have had a public forum in which the charter school proponents and the school district presented information about the positive and negative effects if any, that the charter school would have on various aspects of

Letter To The Editor: Fate Of Our Recyclables?

on July 13, 2019 - 11:52am
By GRAHAM MARK
Los Alamos

What happens to the stuff that we put in our recycle bins? How much is actually recycled?

Even if recycling is something of a sham (“It’s OK to be wasteful—Just recycle!”), it is broken in many parts of the US (Sierra Magazine July/August 2019).

What is the state of our local recycling? Does all of our correctly sorted recyclable stuff really get recycled? What happens to the plastic shopping bags that Smith’s collects?

Thank you.

Letter To The Editor: Biggest Thanks Goes To Community

on July 8, 2019 - 6:50am
By STEVE BOERIGTER
Kiwanis 4th of July Celebration Chair

It was a glorious day! The 2019 4th of July Celebration at Overlook Park was so blessed. The 2018 drought made us worry about the future of fireworks; but 2019 brought big snows, plenty of rain, stunning wildflowers, and set us up for a splendid evening at Overlook Park.

When we saw LAFD unfurl the huge flag at the park entrance, we really got excited.

While the dedication of the fireworks team in Kiwanis might be obvious, much of the community is behind the event long before the first roasted corn, Frisbee toss, or glowstick.

We

Letter To The Editor: Support For Trinity Road Redesign

on June 30, 2019 - 12:14pm
By VIVIEN ZAPF
Los Alamos

Some of us have expressed dismay about the proposed redesign of Trinity Drive near the hospital and the new apartment complex.

It sounds bad to “narrow” a key busy road. But in fact, I strongly believe the redesign will make traffic flow more smoothly.

Today, Trinity is a two-lane minefield of stopped cars trying turn in the left lane and bicycles in the right lane. There is no lane that is guaranteed to flow, and cars have to unexpectedly stop, swerve or merge around turning cars and bicycles.

The new design as I understand it will provide three lanes in either

Tags: 

World Futures: Polling, Voting, Surveying, Choosing, Influencing & Statistics – Part Three

on June 30, 2019 - 8:02am

By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute

The words of the title of this series all imply gathering and analyzing data of peoples’ opinions. Surveying might be about hard data such as age, height and weight, but it might be about opinions.

Do you prefer red or blue? What is your “view or judgment about something, not necessarily based on fact or knowledge?” (posted from Google). You do not have to provide evidence to support your opinion even though you might have it.

In polling a sample of a large population, supposedly random data, is gathered, but is affected by the process.

Letter To The Editor: About Trinity Road Redesign

on June 29, 2019 - 12:29pm
By PATRICIA MCCULLOCH
Los Alamos
 
I was dismayed recently to hear that the county is proposing a narrowing or “redesign” of Trinity Road.
 
The proposed changes, as I understand it, would reduce Trinity to 1 lane in each direction with a center turning lane /median with concrete cutouts similar to Central. I am gravely concerned about the safety and practicality of this plan, especially as we already face a growing LANL population causing ever-longer traffic backups going off the hill during commuting hours.
 
Since Pajarito Road was closed to the public many years ago, an increasing
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: The Waldorf School – Putting New Mexico’s Health At Risk

on June 25, 2019 - 6:11pm
By RICHARD SKOLNIK
Los Alamos

The low vaccination rates at the Waldorf School in Santa Fe are a public health disaster in the making that should frighten all New Mexicans. If a student at that school gets measles, it is very likely that other unvaccinated students at the school will get measles. The infected students can then pass measles to others in the community, especially infants too young to be vaccinated and children with medical conditions that also prevent their being vaccinated.

It was recently reported that the parents of unvaccinated students at the school “have not expressed

Letter To The Editor: Smith’s Near Monopoly In Los Alamos

on June 24, 2019 - 5:13pm
By MARION L. STELTS
Los Alamos

I have lived in Los Alamos since 1980. I have appreciated having a well-stocked supermarket in town. Before Smith’s bought out Safeway, we did have Ed’s Supermarket and some C-stores for some alternative.

When Smith’s arrived, especially after moving into Smith’s Marketplace and opening its gas station things changed. Ed’s went out of business. The Smith’s gas station had low prices and drove most other stations out of business. We do have the Co Op but they tend to be pricier and without the selection that Smith’ has.

Tags: 

Pages


Advertisements