Skip directly to content

Opinion

Obituary: Celia G. Lujan Jan. 15, 1927 – Sept. 9, 2018

on September 18, 2018 - 6:04am

CELIA G. LUJAN Jan. 15, 1927 Sept. 9, 2018

Celia G. Lujan, age 91, a resident of Nambe passed away peacefully on Sunday, September 9th, 2018 surrounded by her loving family.

She was preceded in death by her husband, Elisandro Nestor Lujan; grandson, Kevin Chavez; parents, Frank and Beatrice Giron; brothers, Pedro, Benigno, and Arturo Giron; sisters, Mary Maestas, Vera Lujan, and Rosina Gallegos; father and mother-in-law, Celedon and Nestora Lujan; brothers-in-law, Gilbert Gallegos, Phillip Guillen, Feliciano, Ramos, Gustavo, and Speaker Ben Lujan; sisters-in-law, Arabella Jiron, Olivia

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Response To Written Communication By Shelbi Simeone-Montoya

on September 16, 2018 - 5:58am
By DAWN JALBERT
Los Alamos

I almost never respond to letters to the editor in any newspaper, but this time I am emailing in response to Ms. Montoya and her recent letter about teaching licensure to strongly suggest she find a good proofreader for her future written communication.

As a former teacher, I longed for a writing conference with her before she hit “send” on her letter, or at the very least, a red pen to correct the many, many grammar, usage and mechanics issues with her letter, not to mention the issues with writing clarity. What a mess!

If you are going to write publicly about

Letter To The Editor: Another Starbucks?

on September 15, 2018 - 4:39pm
By ELIZABETH BETTY JACOB
Los Alamos

When I saw the front page headline about the City Council approving Lot C off of 20th Street to construct another Starbucks, I said to myself, “They’ve got to be kidding”!

Excuse me but don’t we need housing in this town? Would not a 6-unit apt. building fit just nicely on that lot? People want to move here but there is no place for them to live. Working with the public I hear this comment about lack of housing all the time.

Come on Council you can do better than Starbucks, especially with an election coming up!

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Consider USA Response To 9/11

on September 11, 2018 - 4:56pm
By Dr. T. DOUGLAS REILLY
Los Alamos

Almost 3,000 souls perished in the 9/11 attacks; BTW in the rest of the world the date is 11 September, i.e. 11/9.

Let’s take a moment to consider the USA response to 9/11. The events of that day led to the Afghanistan and Iraq wars; in my opinion, they also led to the rise of the Islamic State (IS), the Syrian war, and the millions of refugees who fled the wars and their aftermaths.

The Afghan and Iraq wars caused over 10,000 USA and coalition deaths and between one and two million civilian deaths.

Letter To The Editor: Bike Flow Trail

on September 5, 2018 - 6:48am
By CHRIS OLSEN
Los Alamos
 
In response to the opinion piece recently posted in the news section of the Los Alamos Daily Post titled “Horse Owners Share Thoughts On Bike Flow Trail” – I would like to address a particular piece of confusion that continues to be propagated in these articles and letters.
 
The statement that: “One issue horse owners have with having the bike flow trail in Bayo Canyon is that it would limit horseback riders’ access to trails in the canyon.” appears to be incorrect after having read the briefings/plans on the county website and attending the open space
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Shout Out To Ofc. Weiss

on September 3, 2018 - 11:48am
By TOM HILL
Los Alamos

I've a friend in White Rock who suffers mild dementia. Several times, the LAPD has had to stop by his house to deal with behavior issues.

A few weeks ago, LAPD Ofc. Michael Weiss, on his own initiative and without any indication there was a problem, stopped by my friend's house to check if everything was okay with John.

Makes you proud to have officers of this caliber and caring attitude on the LAPD force.

Rotary Treehouse ... Wow!

on September 3, 2018 - 7:10am
The newly constructed Rotary Treehouse at the Los Alamos Nature Center. Photo by John McHale at ladailypost.com
 
 
By KATHERINE BRUELL
PEEC
 
The Pajarito Environmental Education Center would like to give a huge THANK YOU to the Rotary Club of Los Alamos for the amazing Rotary Treehouse at the Los Alamos Nature Center.
 
Rotary’s gift of the Rotary Treehouse will positively impact the lives of the kids of Los Alamos and beyond, many of whom have already had a fantastic time playing, imagining, and building in and around the Rotary Treehouse.

World Futures: Statistics (And Probability) – Part 10

on September 2, 2018 - 6:04am
By ANDY ANDREWS
Los Alamos World Futures Institute
 
In the previous columns we explored different areas where statistics are used for scientific purposes, management purposes. operational decisions and intellectual purposes. For example, measuring the cross sections of a Uranium atom (a statistical measurement) allows for the design of a nuclear reactor.

But how do you measure what people want both individually and collectively? As a collection of individuals we want and need things, the driving desires that support consumption, purchasing and demand for business enterprises.

Letter To The Editor: Early Childhood Education – The Key To Raising New Mexico’s Ranking For Child Well-Being And Our Economy?

on September 1, 2018 - 2:10pm
By Rebecca Shankland and Barbara Calef
League co-presidents

Why does New Mexico rank so low in child well-being? According to the 2017 Kids Count study run by the Annie E. Casey Foundation, New Mexico ranks last in child well-being. The study measures child poverty and child health, but the statistic that everyone is talking about now is child education.

New Mexico ranks 50th because of young children (ages three to four) not in school (57 percent), 4th graders not proficient in reading (75 percent), 8th graders not proficient in math (75 percent), and high schoolers not graduating on time

Letter To The Editor: Vote For Lisa Shin

on September 1, 2018 - 8:14am
By LINDA SULLIVAN
Los Alamos
 
Vote for Lisa Shin: a Transparent and Honest Voice in our Government
 
I am writing to express my support for Republican Lisa Shin in her candidacy for the New Mexico House of Representatives: District 43. Among other things, Lisa believes in limited government and lower taxes so that individuals and families have more freedom in their daily lives. She is genuine and honest; how often do we find that in a politician? She prioritizes the needs and concerns of people over a personal agenda or a party platform.

Letter To The Editor: Bayo Canyon Bicycle Flow Trail

on August 30, 2018 - 6:22am
By JUNE WALL
Los Alamos
 
I am a 47 year resident of Los Alamos and have enjoyed a multitude of recreational activities including tennis, skiing, volleyball, road-biking hiking and, most recently, horseback riding during that time. One of our town’s greatest resources is its recreational diversity.
 
I now face having to significantly curtail the activity, which I have waited a lifetime to do. My love for horses began on the day I was born. Not until age 68 did I get my own horse and begin riding.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: About Romero’s RCLC Comments

on August 25, 2018 - 7:20am
By DAVE NEAL
El Rancho
 
In response to the recent LA Daily Post story titled “Romero Discusses Intent and Purpose of RCLC”, dated Aug. 19, 2018, I would like for you to share with your readers that Ms. Romero did not accurately state the facts during her interview with the LA Daily Post.
 
Dec. 8, 2017, I submitted the IPRA request to the Los Alamos County Records Custodian, Barb Ricci, representing myself only. This may be confirmed by contacting Ms. Ricci.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Christine Chandler Gets My Vote ... She Cares About Education

on August 25, 2018 - 7:12am
By CAMILLE MORRISON
Los Alamos
 
Thank you Christine Chandler for your views on education. Since the PED is a cabinet position I'm afraid if Steve Pearce is elected governor we will have eight more years of the PED that we have now.
 
All three of my children were educated here. I have been a volunteer at the Chamisa Elementary School library for 38 of the last 48 years. I will be voting for you because you care about education as much as I do.

Chandler: An Educational Watershed

on August 23, 2018 - 9:26am

By Christine Chandler
Democratic Candidate
House Dist. 43

First District Court Judge Sarah Singleton has launched a major transformation of New Mexico’s system of public education. The next step is going to be up to the incoming legislature and governor, who have been given a mandate and an opportunity: to break the barriers of ideology and wishful thinking that have kept New Mexico’s public schools in last-place for too long.

The Plaintiffs in Martinez & Yazzie v.

Letter To The Editor: About Pearce And Apodaca

on August 20, 2018 - 4:18pm
By VERNON KERR
White Rock

In a local newspaper, Mr. Dick Foster used one of Joseph Goebbels better propaganda ploys to slam Rep. Steve Pearce.

The declarative statement that has no supporting data. If one repeats it often enough it becomes truth. I expect more. He stated that Steve Pearce has the worst voting record in the whole Congress. Obviously, an untruth.

The recent article by former Gov. Jerry Apodaca endorsed Steve. Jerry would have known him as a state legislator as well as a congressman. Both men have extensive experience in state government.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Inconsiderate Road Closure

on August 16, 2018 - 11:17am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
While I support the County Fair and its parade, I have to object to the inconsiderate and unacceptable closure last Saturday of Central west of the Larry R. Walkup Aquatic Center. This prevented access to Canyon from Diamond.
 
Indeed, with Central closed all the way to the east past where it meets Trinity, access to any part of Canyon required required traveling to its far east end.
 
This was irritating and time consuming enough for me coming from the Western Area. Anyone coming from the Mesas must have been thoroughly disgusted.
 
Parades used to
Tags: 

Newspapers Across America Speak Out In One Voice Today Against Attacks On Press

on August 16, 2018 - 7:55am
By JUDY PATRICK
Vice President
New York Press Association
#FreePress

We’ve been complacent.

We thought everybody knew how important a free press was to our world and that all this talk about us being the enemy of the people would be dismissed for the silliness that it is.

But the reckless attacks have continued, instigated and encouraged by our president.

When the leader of the free world works to erode the public’s trust in the media, the potential for damage is enormous, both here and abroad. We once set an example of free and open government for the world to follow.

Letter To The Editor: Regarding GRT Tax

on August 15, 2018 - 7:24am
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos
 
I have a question for Lisa Shin regarding the GRT tax she discussed in her recent column. While I'm not a big fan of the GRT, I think that it is highly likely that it will be reimposed on LANL.
 
I think that the most likely scenario is that we will have both a Democratic governor and a Democrat controlled legislature after the election. Los Alamos County isn't the only county that receives GRT money from LANL. The counties adjacent to Los Alamos also receive funding.

Letter To The Editor: Dropping Atomic Bombs Saved Millions Of Lives

on August 9, 2018 - 4:04pm
By Dr. T. Douglas Reilly
Los Alamos

Today, Aug. 9, 2018 is the anniversary of the bombing of Nagasaki with Fat Man. War is always hell and civilians are now the majority of the victims.

Consider that over 50 million lives were lost during WWII; over 25 million were Russian, roughly 400,000 were from the USA. Sec’y of War Henry Stimson once said that the estimated deaths from the planned assault on mainland Japan, Operation Downfall, was half to one million Americans and eight to 10 million Japanese.

As a Los Alamos History Museum docent, I’ve had several visitors who’ve told me stories

Tags: 

Head2Head: It Takes Two

on August 9, 2018 - 1:06am
By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

This is a new ongoing column on how to civilly disagree without compromising your core beliefs. This doesn’t mean that someone can’t change your mind. It means you don’t have to pretend you believe something you don’t.

I’m uncomfortable with the idea that the best way to handle what appears to be a political and cultural chasm in American society is to just shut up. We learn by opening ourselves to new ideas and exposing our own ideas to scrutiny and debate.

Newton: Ariadne Is A Triumph

on August 9, 2018 - 12:54am
Brenton Ryan (Dancing Master) and Amanda Majeski (Composer). Photo by Ken Howard for Santa Fe Opera
 
Sarah Tucker (Echo), far left, Samantha Gossard (Dryade), Meryl Dominguez (Najade), and Amanda Echalaz (Prima Donna/Ariadne). Photo by Ken Howard for Santa Fe Opera
 
By CARL NEWTON
Los Alamos

In May 2017 I wished that the 2018 Season would include Ariadne, and then came the announcement that it would. I had seen Ariadne in 1990 and 1999 when John Crosby was the General Director. I credit Crosby with my love for Richard Strauss operas.

Ariadne is quite different from Strauss’ other

McQuiston: Why Some Dogs Are In Insurance Doghouse

on August 8, 2018 - 3:55pm
By ALLEN MCQUISTON
The Jemez Agency
 
I have a number of friends – and clients – who are dog lovers. Some are more passionate than others about their four-legged friends and this can lead to uncertainty, confusion, and even anger over insurance company rules pertaining to canines.
 
The typical insurance company policy regarding dogs is usually simple: if an account has a prohibited breed of dog, the insurance company will not offer a homeowner insurance policy to the homeowner.
 
In other situations, however, an insurance company might provide homeowner insurance but will exclude

Letter To The Editor: Code Enforcement: Level 2

on August 8, 2018 - 9:19am
By BRADY BURKE and HELEN MILENSKI
Candidates for Los Alamos County Council
 
With all the negative publicity that the County Council and County government have subjected themselves to over the past few years, we were surprised to see the County’s recent attempt to grant themselves access onto your property in the name of code enforcement.
 
At the Aug. 7, 2018 regular session of County Council, an ordinance was proposed under the misdirecting title ‘Addressing and Road Naming’. As one reads through it, it sounds like it mostly deals with how the County wants to name and number roads.

Letter To The Editor: Would Local Establishments Consider A Few Ideas?

on August 5, 2018 - 2:15pm
By MONIQUE BEYERLE 
Los Alamos
 
Would local establishments consider a few ideas?
 
  • Encouraging people to bring their own reusable containers (ie. doggy bags, beverage containers, grocery bags and don’t forget about fruit and vegetable bags- these are available at our co-op to name a few). Maybe offering a modest reward (5-10 cents off or a coupon or a social media shout out)? Less waste, fewer costs = everyone wins. Starbucks is good about this with their beverage containers and Smith's with their fuel points.
  • Offering disposable utensils on request instead of providing them automatically.

Letter To The Editor: Crimes And Misdemeanors, II: If More People Were Paying Attention...

on August 4, 2018 - 4:39pm
KHAL SPENCER
Santa Fe

As one of Lynn Hanrahan's former neighbors, I'd like to thank her for writing her letter (link) and also, for paying attention to the good of her children and of the community. I know her kids well, and her fine parenting certainly shows.

In closing her letter, she wants us to tell her if her kids are doing stupid things (I kind of doubt they are) since their lives may depend on timely intervention. Well, the rest of our lives depend on it, too. A disaster to one may mean disaster to others.

Pages


Advertisements