Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Now It Can Be Told – Thank you, Christine Chandler!

on November 14, 2018 - 11:46am
By DAVID SCHIFERL
UNM-LA welding student

During her 2018 election campaign for the New Mexico House Dist. 43 race, Christine Chandler emphasized her support for all education, highlighting the training at the University of New Mexico-Los Alamos for emergency medical technicians, machinists, welders, etc.

When I mentioned that UNM-LA was submitting a proposal for a certificate welding program and that local monetary contributions were listed in the application to show strong local support, Chris Chandler immediately sent a check for $500 a few weeks before the election. No photo op.

Letter To The Editor: Flow Trail A Bad Idea In Any Canyon

on November 11, 2018 - 6:45pm
By BRUCE WARREN
North Community

I’m glad to see the equestrian community has come out against a bicycle flow trail in Bayo Canyon. However, I’m disappointed in their NIMBY attitude. If the flow trail is a bad idea in “their” canyon, it’s a bad idea in everyone’s canyons.

The County would do better to spend their time and money on much needed maintenance and improvement of our existing amazing trail system.

For more on why I think a bicycle flow trail is a bad idea, please see my previous letter to the Post at Letter To The Editor: Do We Need Or Want A Bicycle Flow Trail?

Letter To The Editor: Congrats To County Clerk’s Office

on November 9, 2018 - 7:03am
By JOANN JOHNSON
Los Alamos
 
Congratulations to the Los Alamos County Clerk’s Office for an outstanding job on Election Day.
 
I went to the Golf Course about 8 a.m. At that time, there were more than 20 voters in line. Because the voting place was well staffed and had plenty of voting booths it still only took 15 minutes to cast my vote.
 
Thanks to our County Clerk Naomi Maestas and her staff for a job well done.

Letter To The Editor: The Dangers Of 24/7 News

on November 9, 2018 - 7:00am
By DOUGLAS T. REILLY 
Los Alamos
 
I grew up in the era of Edward R. Murrow and the Murrow Boys. This was also when the radio and TV networks considered the news-room a loss-leader. That meant journalists could report the news without considering whether it had profit attached.
 
William S. Paley had a long career at CBS in many roles. He was a colleague of Murrow for many years, including many when he headed the News Department.
 
Paley is usually given 'credit' for changing the news-room to profit-center.
Tags: 

Pssst … ‘Rumors’ Is In Town

on November 8, 2018 - 5:01pm
From left, Paul Lewis, Thomas Graves, Holly Robinson and Trisha Werner in 'Rumors'.
 
By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

‘Rumors’ is the great Neil Simon’s only farce. This play is just for laughs, having no other message, as you should be able to ascertain from the plot, which goes like this.

Four couples are attending an anniversary party for their unseen host, a New York deputy mayor and his wife.

The first couple arrives to discover that the host has shot himself in the ear and his wife has disappeared.

Thank You Los Alamos! Thank You District 43!

on November 8, 2018 - 9:50am
By Rep.-Elect Christine Chandler
House Dist. 43
 
In the 11 months since I announced my candidacy for the New Mexico House of Representatives, I have been privileged to meet many extraordinary people from across the district: people with busy lives raising and educating children, caring for parents and working hard to make a living.

Meet & Greets, rodeo parades, fiestas, community clean-up days and breakfasts gave me a window into the lives of people who will soon be my constituents.

I also learned through thousands of phone calls and door knocks that many of us care about the same

Tribute To A Friend

on November 7, 2018 - 8:58am
Bruce Gavett
 
By Steve Boone
Los Alamos

When I was growing up in Manhattan, Kan., in the 1950s, my father’s “life lessons” to me could be summed up by the phrase: “Leave it better than you find it” – his version of the Golden Rule. It applied to everywhere you went, everything you did and everyone you met.

Los Alamos, by its nature, is a community that has been built and shaped by “outsiders”, each giving what they had to offer to shape the whole.

Letter To The Editor: White Rock Needs Jemez House!

on November 6, 2018 - 7:24am
By KATHY TAYLOR
Los Alamos
 
The closing of Jemez House Thrift Shop was a blow to the entire community. The shop performs good deeds at every turn using only volunteer workers.
 
The main goal is to provide college scholarships to New Mexico students who had at one time resided in a group home. But it does untold good along the way: keeping tons of used clothing, furniture, housewares, books and electronics out of the landfill, at the same time providing a low cost source for these items.
 
Now Jemez House needs our help.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Election Season...

on November 6, 2018 - 7:23am
By CHARLENE FOLSOM
White Rock
 
An otherwise typical boring election season has at least given us some humor in the sheriff's race. In forums and their own articles, three of the candidates have stated they don't want the office and the 4th thinks being a security guard will make him a good sheriff.
 
The Democrat has said he voted to eliminate the office and now wants to run it. Must be related to Rick Perry. The Republican told the Kiwanis Club flat out he didn't want to be sheriff. And the Libertarian started his campaign telling the Daily Post he would resign if elected.
 
The

Letter To The Editor: Elizabeth Allen For Municipal Judge

on November 5, 2018 - 9:35pm

By Monica Hernandez-Lara

Los Alamos

 

My decision to vote for Elizabeth was made after she first told me of her intent to run for Los Alamos Municipal Judge. During the last days of voting, I am asking others to consider voting for this extraordinary candidate.

 

When I first met Elizabeth, she had recently moved to Los Alamos and was looking for opportunities to become active in her new community. Elizabeth felt at home in Los Alamos and quickly applied her dedication to the legal system by joining JJAB and Teen Court.

Letter To The Editor: A Vote For Lisa Shin Is A Vote For Ethics And Integrity

on November 5, 2018 - 3:02pm
By DONNA MACDONALD
Los Alamos

With the news of the Regional Coalition of LANL Communities Board members violating their own rules and NM state laws with travel, meals, and political lobbying, I am proud to support Lisa Shin, a candidate for the NM House of Representatives, District 43. Lack of accountability and corruption in our State Legislature are among the reasons we are at the bottom of every list. A vote for Lisa is a vote for ethics and integrity.

For the many years I have known Lisa, she has approached her work in our community with honesty and dedication.

Letter To The Editor: Christine Chandler Is For All of Us

on November 4, 2018 - 2:45pm
By CATHERINE OZMENT
Los Alamos

When I joined Christine Chandler’s campaign team in January of this year, I was hesitant, even a little skeptical. I promised myself I would step back if I decided I wasn’t for her, because I worried maybe she wasn’t for me. As I’ve gotten to know her over the last 10 months, I’ve realized that Christine is for all of us. Even people who disagree with her.

There are a lot of things I like about Christine and her candidacy for state house. She’s smart, and she does her homework. She’s kind and funny and dotes on her dogs.

Letter To The Editor: Go Vote For Candidates Who Make Positive Difference Such As Judge Alan Kirk

on November 4, 2018 - 8:51am
By Debora Gerads
Alamogordo

Go Vote, and Go Vote for the candidate who makes a difference in your community. One of those people is Municipal Court Judge Alan Kirk. He has served not only the Los Alamos community, but the State as a whole in his work with juveniles.

Judge Kirk was a founder of the State’s Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee, a committee that emphasizes intervention and prevention of crimes by youth.

Letter To The Editor: I Support Elizabeth Allen For Municipal Judge

on November 4, 2018 - 4:45am
By BILL HARGRAVES
LAPS Board Member
 
Strong knowledge of and experience with the law is an important qualification for a Municipal Judge. As a practicing attorney, Elizabeth will bring legal experience to the Municipal Court. She is practiced both as a defense attorney and as a prosecutor. She maintains currency with legal policy and precedent through teaching of law at UNM-LA.
 
Elizabeth is a strong advocate for youth in our community.

Letter To The Editor: Re-Elect Alan S. Kirk For Los Alamos Municipal Judge

on November 1, 2018 - 12:06pm
By Rita C. Sánchez 
Los Alamos Teacher

I would like to encourage you to vote to re-elect Judge Alan S. Kirk. Alan is running for his sixth term as Municipal Judge in Los Alamos County.

My association with Coach Kirk has mainly been where kids are concerned.

The Governor of New Mexico appointed Judge Kirk to the Juvenile Advisory Council for the Children, Youth and Families Department. During this time, he was instrumental in the establishment of our own JJAB; Los Alamos Juvenile Justice Advisory Board. JJAB focuses on prevention and intervention.

Jude Kirk also was appointed to the

Letter To The Editor: Christine Chandler's Experience And Commitment To Dist. 43 Earns My Vote

on November 1, 2018 - 11:56am
By KEN MILDER
Los Alamos County Assessor

Over the many years that I’ve known Christine Chandler, sometimes we’ve agreed on issues; sometimes we haven’t. Regardless of our viewpoint on any issue, she has always been willing to listen and actively seek other points of view.

Also, through her extensive public service, Christine has gained the skills and experience that are absolutely essential to serve in the legislature and be an excellent state representative for our district.

There are many attributes I look for in a leader.

Letter To The Editor: Proud Of Our Party & Candidates

on November 1, 2018 - 10:59am
By ROBYN SCHULTZ, Chair
Democratic Party of Los Alamos County

How sad it is that we live in a time when partisan politics means partisan news and partisan beliefs. Extreme partisans on the right and on the left tend to live in an echo chamber that only reflects their beliefs. That is why I felt I must respond to Mr. Kerr’s opinion letter of Oct. 31, 2018 (link).

I won’t bother making a point by point critique of his letter. Let’s just say that the “once proud” Democratic Party is still very proud. And I am extremely proud of our local Democratic candidates and elected officials.

Letter To The Editor: The Business Of Being Unfriendly

on November 1, 2018 - 10:19am
By BRADY BURKE
Republican Candidate
Los Alamos County Council

On Oct. 16, 2018, I attended the County Council working session in White Rock.

Doug Hintze, Manager of DOE’s Environmental Management Field Office (DOE EM-LA) and Frazer Lockhart of N3B gave an informative presentation about the clean-up of legacy wastes on Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) land.

Last year, DOE EM-LA awarded the cleanup contract to N3B. While facing the challenges of successfully starting up a new company, N3B has also shown their commitment to Los Alamos County and the surrounding community.

One of their

Letter To The Editor: Are You An Extremist?

on November 1, 2018 - 9:46am
By KENNETH LEE
Los Alamos

Are you an extremist?

An extremist is a member of an (extreme) organization who supports and advocates the beliefs and goals of an extreme organization. KKK is an organization which has been frequently held up as an example. However, a recent political flyer identified RTLNM (Right to Life New Mexico) as an extreme organization. So, if you are a pro-life member or supporter of RTLNM, are you an extremist?

Scientifically, human life begins at conception is not in dispute. Disagreement exists on whether an unborn child is a person.

Letter To The Editor: How Could This Be ... Once Proud Democrat Party Turns Things Upside Down

on October 31, 2018 - 8:43am
By VERNON KERR
Los Alamos

How could this be? The once proud Democrat Party has turned things upside down. Once upon a time virtue was prized and the party believed in and prized individual thought, individual success, and individual rights.

Now the rules are different, one is guilty until proven innocent as shown in the hearing for Justice Kavanaugh and it is a crime to be a successful businessman when one makes a profit as Steve Pearce has done. Steve has been accused of holding hearings with oil and gas interests and at the same time having some business interests.

Letter To The Editor: Please Vote ... And Please Vote For Judge Alan Kirk!

on October 31, 2018 - 8:02am
By Linda and Paul Daly
Los Alamos

We hope our community will join us in re-electing Judge Alan Kirk as our Municipal Court Judge for a sixth term. He’s served our community extremely well over the past 60 years, first as Police Chief and then, for 20 plus years, as our judge.

Kirk was one of the founders of the Juvenile Justice Advisory Board and has served as its chair for over 16 years. Our JJAB is a benchmark and a model program for other communities. The Los Alamos JJAB has a particular emphasis on prevention programs for youth, as well as intervention.

Kirk is known for saying, “Take

Letter To The Editor: Trump’s Rhetoric Has Influence

on October 30, 2018 - 8:24am
By CAMILLE MORRISON
Los Alamos

Saying Trump’s rhetoric does not influence what people do is like saying Hitler’s rhetoric did not influence what the Nazi’s did.

Hitler’s people voted for him and then he betrayed his people.

Please vote.

Letter To The Editor: Vote Yes On Amendment Two

on October 30, 2018 - 8:01am
By GEORGE BEST
Common Cause New Mexico Board Member
Los Alamos
 
New Mexico is one of only six states without an ethics commission to hold state officials accountable for any wrongdoing and process complaints from ordinary citizens.
 
Over the past decade there have been many scandals involving state senators, treasurers and public regulation commissioners. The reputation of our state has suffered and, combined with developments at the national level, an attitude of distrust of government has taken hold.
 
But that can change!
 
In November, as voters, we have a chance to bring New

Letter To The Editor: Christine Chandler Will Follow High Standards Set By Jeannette Wallace And Stephanie Garcia Richard

on October 29, 2018 - 4:25pm

By ANTONIO MAGGIORE
Los Alamos County Councilor

One of the hardest things about public service as an elected official can be to place the needs of the many over what you as an individual may selfishly want for yourself. Endorsing Christine Chandler is, if I’m being honest, for me one of those decisions.

I want to be clear about this, I have no doubts about Christine Chandler being overwhelmingly the best candidate to represent not only the interests of Los Alamos but all of District 43 as a whole. Why do I know this?

Letter To The Editor: Elizabeth Allen Represents A Fresh Vision As Municipal Judge

on October 29, 2018 - 8:19am
By PHILIP GURSKY
Los Alamos

As we reach the end of the 2018 election season, I invite local voters to consider our local Municipal Judge’s election. The current Municipal Judge has long sat in judgment of residents appearing in Municipal Court and been the leader of the direction of municipal justice in our town. It goes without saying that Judge Kirk has put in thousands of hours of service over the last decades and deserves our respect and thanks.

However, in the demanding and changing times in our community and country, to represent the needs and views of an increasingly new and younger

Pages


Advertisements