Skip directly to content

Opinion & Columns

Weekly Fishing Report: April 19

on April 19, 2018 - 7:05am
By GEORGE MORSE
Los Alamos Daily Post
Sports and Outdoors
 
The fickle spring weather has been something anglers have to deal with here in Northern New Mexico. Some days the wind blows so hard fishing is difficult at best. On others the wind is quite tolerable and may actually help the fishing by stirring up the water a bit. Mornings are usually less windy than afternoons, but Tuesday the wind was already blowing in the morning.
 
Last week there was a spike in the streamflow on the Rio Grande April 11 where the flow nearly tripled in just two days. This had me scratching my head.

Letter To The Editor: Support Christine Chandler For Dist. 43 ... Backbone, Brains, Listens, Cares For Citizens

on April 17, 2018 - 8:09am
By MIKE and KYLE WHEELER
Los Alamos

Christine Chandler is our choice to represent District 43 at the New Mexico State Legislature. She will be filling some big shoes, but we know with her background she will do a great job.

Christine has served on the Los Alamos County Council for many years, including as vice-chair of the council. She served, and continues to serve, with courage, integrity and honor. Christine has worked in the legislature for several years as a legislative analyst and understands the job of state representative.

Christine served on the Charter Review Committee when the

Area Snowpack And Streamflows Going Fast

on April 17, 2018 - 5:50am
Snowpack April 23, 2017 along US Highway 64. Photo by George Morse/ladailypost.com
 
Snowpack April 15, 2018 along US Highway 64. Photo by George Morse/ladailypost.com
 
 
By GEORGE MORSE
Los Alamos Daily Post
Sports and Outdoors

A recent trip across the high country of Northern New Mexico on US Highway 64 between Tres Piedras and Tierra Amarilla provided a sobering picture of the effects of the dry winter that has recently ended and it wasn’t pretty. It stood in sharp contrast to last year’s above-average snowpack and healthy spring runoff.

The beautiful Rio Tusas river valley

Home Country: Pop And Billy

on April 16, 2018 - 10:08am
Home Country
By SLIM RANDLES
 
Billy’s been a busy guy ever since he became the official town dog here. Sally had been the town dog until she passed away on Doc’s porch, and then Billy’s owner died just two weeks after that, so it was something of a natural progression. Sometimes offices are filled without an election.
 
The high school wood shop boys built Billy a dog house next to the school crossing, but Billy preferred Aunt Ada’s couch in the cold months and a nice dog depression under an oak tree when it’s warm.
 
Billy was making the rounds this morning.

How The Hen House Turns: Animal Emotion

on April 16, 2018 - 10:01am
 
Red Gwen on the bench. Courtesy photo
 
By CARY NEEPER
Formerly of Los Alamos
 
Had I ever seen an obvious emotion like joy in the Hen House gang? I asked the question as I was reading Marc Bakoff’s book The Emotional Lives of Animals (California, New World Library, 2007). Had I seen sorrow? Fear? In the dogs, yes.
 
Our dogs—Skates, Poncho, DeeDee and Scooter—displayed what I could call obvious emotion at times. Several incidents stand out as too obvious to write off as “anthropomorphizing:” their tail-wagging joy at the suggestion of a walk in the canyon or a ride in the car.
 

Cinema Cindy Reviews ‘Isle Of Dogs’

on April 16, 2018 - 8:51am
By CYNTHIA BIDDLECOMB
Los Alamos
 
“Isle of Dogs” is a real treat! This animated (stop-motion and puppetry), feature length film delights the senses and kept a smile on this reviewer’s face all the way home. It’s the latest cinematic creation from director Wes Anderson, known for The Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and Moonrise Kingdom. Its wonderful music soundtrack was composed by the Oscar-winning Alexandre Desplat.
 
Don’t be fooled. Most of the laughs in Isle of Dogs are inspired by subtle, verbal and visual details.

Fr. Glenn: Send Out Thy Light And Thy Truth

on April 15, 2018 - 7:22am
By Rev. Glenn Jones
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church
Los Alamos

I read the other day about a young man who received a maximum sentence for a crime—a sentence meted out because he refused to “apologize” and “show remorse”. Really? Oh, your honor … if the lad had simply mouthed the words of an insincere apology, you would have reduced the sentence for that reason alone? 

How many times even weekly do we hear politicians, commentators or celebrities say inflammatory things, no doubt reflecting their true personal views.

Pages


Advertisements