Skip directly to content

Los Alamos Historical Society Earns National Awards

on September 11, 2017 - 4:22pm

From left, Los Alamos Historcal Society Publications Manager Aimee Slaughter, Registrar Stephanie Yeamnan, Executive Director Heather McClenahan, and Board of Directors member Ron Wilkins show off two Awards of Merit won from the American Association for State and Local History.​ Courtesy photo


The Los Alamos Historical Society earned two national awards during the American Association for State and Local History Awards Banquet held Friday night in Austin, Texas.  

The local organization received two Leadership in History Awards of Merit. One award, in conjunction with the historical society's exhibit design firm, Quatrefoil & Associates, was for the new museum exhibits.

The second was for the landmark book, edited by former laboratory director Siegfried Hecker, "Doomed to Cooperate."

Publications Manager Aimee Slaughter, flanked by Catherine Cane, AASLH Chair, and John Dichtl, AASLH President & CE, received the award for 'Doomed to Cooperate'. Courtesy photo

Ron Wilkins, long-time board member and past president of the Los Alamos Historical Society Board of Directors, middle, accepts the Award of Merit for the Los Alamos History Museum's new exhibits.​ Courtesy photo

The landmark book, 'Doomed to Cooperate', edited by former Los Alamos National Laboratory Director Sig Hecker and published by the Historical Society's Bathtub Row Press, is recognized for a national Award of Merit.​ Courtesy photo