Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Perspective On Respect – A Yard And A Home

on October 2, 2017 - 2:08pm
By HELEN MILENSKI
Los Alamos
 
I got involved with the whole ‘yard ordinance’ issue because I narrowly missed getting a Notice of Violation (NOV) right after my husband had a heart attack and was in the hospital for a week this summer.
 
While we were still dealing with the craziness of my husband’s previous week in the hospital, he called me to tell me our dog jumped the fence in the morning before he had to leave for his first day back to work. I came home for lunch to try to find my dog.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Community

on September 29, 2017 - 8:25am
By CATHERINE FRY, RPh
Los Alamos
 
I wish to take this opportunity to thank the wonderful people of the Los Alamos community who donated money and items for Elizabeth Hargreaves and I to take to the Friends of The Children of Haiti medical clinic in Cyvadier, Haiti this past week. 
 
Our trip was delayed due to Hurricane Irma but we eventually made it to our destination Sunday, Sept.

Letter To The Editor: Keeping A Tidy Yard Is More Than Just Appearances Sake

on September 27, 2017 - 10:50am

By DELIA CRUZ-MURPHY
Los Alamos

I understand people are upset by the County Codes calling for people to maintain the weeds in their yard, or minimize the rotting carcasses of cars, and just the general tidiness of one’s yard.

While I do understand I cannot sympathize, nor excuse this risky behavior. Keeping a tidy yard is more than just appearances sake, it is about the real pressing issue of Public Health for the Community.  We live in a part of the country where Bubonic Plague, Hantavirus and Mosquito Borne Illnesses are a continuous concern.

Letter To The Editor: It’s Not About The Weeds, Ms. Austin

on September 26, 2017 - 8:05am
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
Like Michelle Austin (link), I grew up in a rural New York State community. In  my case, it was in the sixties.
 
Like Michelle, we grew up where there  were no fences and our acre and a half lot merged with all the other lots on the street. That made for great pickup softball and football games as we could overrun several lots with outfields and goalposts. 
 
People had a lot of tolerance for each other's idiosyncrasies.

Letter To The Editor: Note On Trump’s UNGA Address

on September 26, 2017 - 8:00am
By DR. T. DOUGLAS REILLY
Los Alamos
 
Tuesday I read a transcript of and Guardian article on President Trump’s address to the UN General Assembly with sadness and disbelief. The book title, Cry the Beloved Country, comes to mind; also the quote of Founding Father Benjamin Franklin, “there never was a good war, or a bad peace...”
 
When will we ever learn, when will we ever learn?
 
the dead have seen the end of war” (Plato)
 
I wish to add President John Quincy Adams definition of a leader:
 
If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more,

Letter To The Editor: Time Los Alamos Bans All Food For Humans

on September 26, 2017 - 7:32am
By PAM GARRETT
Los Alamos
 
I think it time that Los Alamos ban all food for humans. We all know that most food offered here is, well, expensive, and of questionable quality anyway.
 
Everyone can periodically leave the hill for meals, and leave our money and waste food outside the county. Then we will have fewer bears, squirrels, deer, crows, etc. Cut down and burn all fruit trees, plow under all backyard crops, keep all pets on leash or indoors at all times.
 
If no one eats here, it is less of a burden to keep our rolling trash carts in the house so as not to allow any unpleasant

Letter To The Editor: Changes To New Mexico STEM-Ready Science Standards

on September 25, 2017 - 11:31am
By ELENA E. GIORGI
Los Alamos

New Mexico Public Education Department (PED) recently released a draft of proposed changes to New Mexico STEM-ready science standards to be voted during the hearing Oct. 16.
 
They can be read in full on the PED website (http://ped.state.nm.us/ped/PublicNotices.html), under rule 6.29.10. These proposed changes scrap facts like the age of the Earth and the fact that temperatures have been steadily rising in the past years. The word evolution has also been taken out.
 
As a mother, a scientist, and a science educator, I find such censoring alarming,

Letter To The Editor: About My High Weeds And Ugly Yard

on September 25, 2017 - 9:56am
By MICHELLE AUSTIN
Los Alamos

When I was a little girl growing up in New York State in the 1970s, my parents bought their first house in a small village with good schools to raise their family. We moved into a one story ranch on a culdesac where all the other houses looked pretty much the same with manicured lawns and an elm tree out front. Kids played in the streets until the sun went down and we all had big back yards to play in. Back then fencing wasn't common so we kids could run from back yard to back yard as though it was all common land. It was the American dream for a young family.

Letter To The Editor: Another Trash Day Success Story

on September 21, 2017 - 11:24am
By JASON HAGAN
Los Alamos

The alarm blares … I wake from my slumber. I stagger down into the basement and enter the code into the cipher lock, place my hand into the hand geometry scanner and look into the retinal scanner, which opens our bear proof vault.

Man, it really stinks in here. I’d install a vent to the outside, but the smell would likely attract baby bears that would climb down the duct … and they’d likely start reproducing. Ever seen Gremlins??

I carefully wheel the bin out and onto our freight elevator. It rises up into the high bay. “4:27 a.m.

Letter To The Editor: County Government Overreacts ... Again

on September 21, 2017 - 10:34am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos

First the County wants to fine the residents of Los Alamos for weeds and peeling paint. Now they want to fine residents for keeping their trash bins outside? This is a growing trend with our local politicians. All it takes is one little whiny cry baby to file a complaint and the County overreacts.

Every time the County can’t control their wasteful and excessive spending they raise the Utility Rates and Property Taxes. Every time there is a trivial complaint they have a “knee jerk” response without thinking things through.

Letter To The Editor: Regarding Old Smith’s Building

on September 21, 2017 - 8:10am

By ROB BARAN
Los Alamos

I would like to follow-on with Kathy Willcut's good idea (link); the County can use that space for some of it's recreational initiatives!

I was dismayed to read that the Kroger company has such wide latitude in choosing which businesses can move into the old Smith's space.  However, Kroger owns the land, so they can do as they please. But with the County pressing forward with the recreational initiatives (made famous ... or 'infamous' by the Rec Bond debate), why not use that perfectly sited, wide space with ample parking for one of it's multifunction centers?

Letter To The Editor: Following Code Violation Ordinance Issue Closely

on September 20, 2017 - 10:32am
By ANNA DILLANE
Community member
Home and Business owner

I have been following this Code Violation Ordinance issue closely and wanted to add my two cents. Our neighbors are frustrated. They are being told that they have to undertake large and small home repair projects within unreasonable time limits. People are hurting.

Council members are hearing about this and trying to figure out what to do.

One request made of the public is to meet with councilors individually to talk about specific situations.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Following Code Violation Ordinance Issue Closely

on September 20, 2017 - 10:32am
By ANNA DILLANE
Community member
Home and Business owner

I have been following this Code Violation Ordinance issue closely and wanted to add my two cents. Our neighbors are frustrated. They are being told that they have to undertake large and small home repair projects within unreasonable time limits. People are hurting.

Council members are hearing about this and trying to figure out what to do.

One request made of the public is to meet with councilors individually to talk about specific situations.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: The Ordinance, Some Solutions

on September 19, 2017 - 5:27am
By HELEN M. MILENSKI
Los Alamos

I have waited until having the opportunity to read all of Mr. Izraelevitz’s (Council Chair David Izraelevitz) partitioned letters to the editor. Also, he accepted an invitation to have coffee with me and discuss some of the issues I take with the current ordinance and its enforcement. Heather Ortega joined me and I do believe we covered a lot of the concerns we have both heard from the community.

 I will now respond with my own letter to the editor and as I do not intend to partition my letter, I will try to be brief.

I am quite certain that most people,

Letter To The Editor: Old Smith's Building

on September 18, 2017 - 2:06pm
By KATHY WILLCUTT
Los Alamos
 
Has anyone considered looking at the Old Smith's building with the eye for a recreation facility?
 
Could it house gymnastics, some basketball courts, even an indoor ice skating rink? It has utilities. It has parking. It is large and tall. Perhaps even air conditioned.
 
Perhaps the creative minds in this community could think of a great community use for it. There is interest in more recreation facilities.

Council Corner: Working Together To Enhance Our Community

on September 18, 2017 - 9:27am
By David Izraelevitz
Los Alamos
 
Code Enforcement – Part 3 of a 3-part series

In Part 1 of my editorial on code enforcement, I covered the “why” behind the program, and in Part 2, I addressed the “how” of the process that is involved. Today in Part 3, I would like to talk more philosophically about code enforcement and what the County and the community can do to assist with resources.

Let me address the “government-encroachment” argument first which I have heard a few times.

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance - It's Even Worse Than It Sounds

on September 18, 2017 - 7:58am
By JIM REDMAN
Los Alamos

I am indebted to David Izraelevitz (link) for explaining to citizens in excruciating detail how burdensome, unpleasant, aggressive and bureaucratic the enforcement of weeds over 18 inches has become in Los Alamos. For this enforcement we must create acronyms, have well defined timelines and threaten court action. It's really difficult for me to think of something so anathema to good neighbors and neighborhoods and a clearer demonstration of poor governance.

That there are reports from citizens that the "best practices" described are not followed might also further

Letter To The Editor: Old Smith’s Building

on September 16, 2017 - 11:18am
By KATHLEENE PARKER
Los Alamos

Los Alamos’ take on the old Smith’s building is clearly that of a town not dependent on retail.

Why turn to the old standby of multi-family housing or offices – more of NOT developing retail – rather than what downtown really needs? Why do we endlessly try “to bring in new residents” considering the grim housing situation for those already here, or is that just herd instinct in a nation so infatuated by growth its been bankrupted by it?

And, why always the “glass half empty” attitude about our numbers rather than that we’re one of the wealthiest towns in the nation,

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: More Utility Rate Increases

on September 16, 2017 - 10:40am
By BRADY BURKE
Los Alamos

Remember that discussion a couple of months back about how sewer rates were being rubber-stamped each year for the past five years at 8 percent each year. The Department of Public Utilities wanted an 8 percent increase this year to show that they had revenues to get financing for the White Rock Water Treatment Facility (WRWTF or WWTF).

Remember that I was a strong advocate of tying the increases to the specific projects that they were using as rationale so that they could be removed when that obligation went away?

Council Corner: The ‘How’ Of Code Enforcement

on September 16, 2017 - 10:26am
By DAVID IZRAELEVITZ
Los Alamos
  • Part 2 of a 3-part series
  •  
  • In Part 1 of my editorial on code enforcement, I covered the “why” behind the program. Today, I would like to address in some detail the “how” of code enforcement, a process which is managed within the Community Development Department (CDD) by two full-time Code Enforcement Officers. My hope is that by explaining a little more about the process, I can help clear up confusion and concern in our community.

Let’s begin with clarifying two terms that seem to be interchangeable when the public discusses this sensitive topic, but are very

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance - Hurrah For Jim Redman And The LADP!

on September 16, 2017 - 8:56am
By KEI DAVIS
Los Alamos

I would like to publicly second Jim Redman's statement (link).

It is refreshing that someone has the intellectual capacity to see something for what it is, has the fortitude to publicly state it, and has a forum on which to do so (the Los Alamos Daily Post).
 
While I have not (yet) been either victim (or aggressor) in this context, I still regard it as a nasty and overly-expensive arrangement.

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance - It’s Not The Messaging ... It’s The Program

on September 15, 2017 - 7:17pm
By JIM REDMAN
Los Alamos

David Izraelevitz works hard for Los Alamos and to support our citizens but on the topic of the nuisance ordinance his opinions are misguided and his advocated solutions inappropriate (link).

There are undoubtedly problems that need to be addressed, but the requirement to solve those larger problems has created an ordinance that is causing unnecessary and useless annoyances to reasonable citizens. Overzealous enforcement is at tax payers expense and adds little value to the community

It's hard to disagree with Izraelevitz’s statement “A community thrives when

Letter To The Editor: Truth Matters

on September 15, 2017 - 9:29am
By MIRANDA VISCOLI, Co-president
New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence

Mr. Visel’s latest offensive and dangerous diatribe (link) attacking the important work of New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence (NMPGV) is a troubling reminder that we live in a time when a complete disregard for the facts and intentional distortion of the truth is the new law of the land.

He states, rather emphatically, that NMPGV is financially backed by former New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg. There is not an ounce of truth to this statement.

Letter To The Editor: Kroger Eyesore In Heart Of Town

on September 15, 2017 - 6:53am
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
I find it rather humorous that several present County Councilors are grumbling about the half-empty, dilapidated Mari Mac Plaza (http://www.ladailypost.com/content/no-bites-former-smith%E2%80%99s-building), whose crown jewel of festering dilapitude is the abandoned former Smith's grocery building.

Letter To The Editor: PVMS Cheer Team

on September 15, 2017 - 6:51am
By CASSANDRA MARTINEZ
PVMS Cheer Coach
 
On behalf of the Pojoaque Valley Middle School Cheerleaders, this letter is a request for support from you and/or your business.
 
In the upcoming school year, our cheerleading squad plans on supporting and cheering at all of our Middle School teams atheltic events which includes football, volleyball, and both girls and boys basketball. We are incredibly excited to represent PVMS to the best of our ability.
 
However, the cost for us to attend and support our Middle School athletes at all of these activities has placed us in need of support from
Tags: 

Pages


Advertisements