Skip directly to content

Opinion

Council Corner: The ‘How’ Of Code Enforcement

on September 16, 2017 - 10:26am
By DAVID IZRAELEVITZ
Los Alamos
  • Part 2 of a 3-part series
  •  
  • In Part 1 of my editorial on code enforcement, I covered the “why” behind the program. Today, I would like to address in some detail the “how” of code enforcement, a process which is managed within the Community Development Department (CDD) by two full-time Code Enforcement Officers. My hope is that by explaining a little more about the process, I can help clear up confusion and concern in our community.

Let’s begin with clarifying two terms that seem to be interchangeable when the public discusses this sensitive topic, but are very

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance - Hurrah For Jim Redman And The LADP!

on September 16, 2017 - 8:56am
By KEI DAVIS
Los Alamos

I would like to publicly second Jim Redman's statement (link).

It is refreshing that someone has the intellectual capacity to see something for what it is, has the fortitude to publicly state it, and has a forum on which to do so (the Los Alamos Daily Post).
 
While I have not (yet) been either victim (or aggressor) in this context, I still regard it as a nasty and overly-expensive arrangement.

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance - It’s Not The Messaging ... It’s The Program

on September 15, 2017 - 7:17pm
By JIM REDMAN
Los Alamos

David Izraelevitz works hard for Los Alamos and to support our citizens but on the topic of the nuisance ordinance his opinions are misguided and his advocated solutions inappropriate (link).

There are undoubtedly problems that need to be addressed, but the requirement to solve those larger problems has created an ordinance that is causing unnecessary and useless annoyances to reasonable citizens. Overzealous enforcement is at tax payers expense and adds little value to the community

It's hard to disagree with Izraelevitz’s statement “A community thrives when

Letter To The Editor: Truth Matters

on September 15, 2017 - 9:29am
By MIRANDA VISCOLI, Co-president
New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence

Mr. Visel’s latest offensive and dangerous diatribe (link) attacking the important work of New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence (NMPGV) is a troubling reminder that we live in a time when a complete disregard for the facts and intentional distortion of the truth is the new law of the land.

He states, rather emphatically, that NMPGV is financially backed by former New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg. There is not an ounce of truth to this statement.

Letter To The Editor: Kroger Eyesore In Heart Of Town

on September 15, 2017 - 6:53am
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
I find it rather humorous that several present County Councilors are grumbling about the half-empty, dilapidated Mari Mac Plaza (http://www.ladailypost.com/content/no-bites-former-smith%E2%80%99s-building), whose crown jewel of festering dilapitude is the abandoned former Smith's grocery building.

Letter To The Editor: PVMS Cheer Team

on September 15, 2017 - 6:51am
By CASSANDRA MARTINEZ
PVMS Cheer Coach
 
On behalf of the Pojoaque Valley Middle School Cheerleaders, this letter is a request for support from you and/or your business.
 
In the upcoming school year, our cheerleading squad plans on supporting and cheering at all of our Middle School teams atheltic events which includes football, volleyball, and both girls and boys basketball. We are incredibly excited to represent PVMS to the best of our ability.
 
However, the cost for us to attend and support our Middle School athletes at all of these activities has placed us in need of support from
Tags: 

Los Alamos County Sheriff Marco Lucero Endorses Jeff Apodaca For Governor Of New Mexico

on September 14, 2017 - 11:20am
By Sheriff Marco V. Lucero
Los Alamos County
 
As the Sheriff of Los Alamos County, I would like to express my strong support of Jeff Apodaca in his bid to be the next Governor of New Mexico.  
 
I grew up with Jeff and have known him, his values, and his character since we were 12 years old. Together we attended junior high through our college days at the University of New Mexico. Jeff was presented with some very difficult circumstances while he was young, and his unwavering faith and strength helped him overcome cancer. This is a true testament to his character.
 
Mr.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Miranda Viscoli

on September 13, 2017 - 12:48pm
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos
 
Miranda Viscoli, Co-president of New Mexicans To Prevent Gun Violence, claims her organization is NOT a gun control group.
 
Everything she stated in her recent letter was right out of the Gun Controller’s Playbook. This organization, as well as all the other gun control groups, are financially backed by none other than former New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg and are using his money to pay for these so called “Buybacks”.
 
First of all, It should not be called a “Gun Buyback” since you never sold them in the first place.

Letter To The Editor: LAJGA Thanks Sponsors

on September 13, 2017 - 3:42am
By TIM HAMMOCK
Los Alamos

The Los Alamos Junior Golf Association would like to thank all the wonderful sponsors and golfers who helped make the LAJGA golf tournament such a fun and
successful event.

Your support is greatly appreciated!

Hole Sponsors:

  • Dave’s Sports Cuts
  • Aspen Copies
  • Papa Murphy’s Los Alamos
  • Shannon Corporation
  • Karen Wray Fine Art
  • Linda H. Hull
  • Neptune & Co.
  • Allen Technical Solutions LLC
  • Viola’s Place
  • Bill Williams
  • Mike & Patsy Sylvester
  • Blue Sky Traditions
  • Monica’s Hair Salon and Boutique
  • Kelly & Magali Cook
  • Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation
  • CB Fox
  • Precision Surveys
  • Metzger’s Hardware

Letter To The Editor: Death Toll Of 9/11

on September 12, 2017 - 12:48pm
By Dr. T. DOUGLAS REILLY
Los Alamos
 
On Monday the USA remembered the 16th anniversary of the attacks on the World Trade Center Twin Towers, the Pentagon, and the failed attempt to attack another DC building that resulted in the plane crash near Shanksville, Penn.
 
The combined death toll from these four events was 2995. Please consider the further death toll from these attacks:
 
The Afghanistan and Iraq Wars were, and still are being, fought as a response to the events of 9/11. The combined toll at present of military people from the USA, Iraq and Afghanistan, and coalition forces

Letter To The Editor: Regarding The Nuisance Code

on September 12, 2017 - 7:40am
By BRADY BURKE
Los Alamos

Perhaps the problem isn't the ordinance, but its enforcement.

There was a comment by a former CA highway patrol officer who said that he could easily find three violations on any new vehicle. That kind of enforcement would be considered abusive and non-productive, unless he was looking to generate revenue. The public would really prefer that he focus on issues that present a danger to the traveling public or the driver and their occupants.

The terms of the Nuisance Ordinance are not extreme, but using that ordinance to enforce petty aesthetic issues, is an abuse of

Letter To The Editor: Yes, Gun Buybacks Do Work And They ‘Feel Good’ Too

on September 11, 2017 - 6:48am
By MIRANDA VISCOLI, Co-president  
New Mexicans To Prevent Gun Violence

Robert Visel could not have said it better in his editorial, “Gun Buyback Farce.”

In his letter to the editor he calls New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence gun buybacks a “Feel good maneuver”. Yes, it does “feel good” to see a widow bring in her departed husband’s arsenal of guns that have been left in their bedroom closet. It feels great to see the relief on grandparents’ faces when they know that their guns will not get into their grandchildren’s hands.

Letter To The Editor: In The Great Gun Debate, Both Sides Need Practice Hitting The Target

on September 10, 2017 - 4:21pm
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
It's an unfortunate observation, nearly rising to the level of a physical law, that both sides in the Great Gun Debate will usually miss the target on any given issue.
 
After the recent Clovis Library mass shooting, someone wrote a long essay to the Santa Fe New Mexican calling for a ban on concealed carry in libraries. But concealed carry was irrelevant to the shooting as the shooter, at 16 years old, was not a legal concealed carrier nor eligible to become one at his age.

Letter To The Editor: Gun Buy Back Farce

on September 7, 2017 - 10:27pm
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos

The New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence (NMPGV) and Los Alamos Police Department will be holding their first, and hopefully last, “ever” Guns To Gardens Gun Buyback event on Saturday, Oct. 28.

First of all, they can’t “Buy Back” something they never sold in the first place! So, this onerous title is already misleading.

Second, if people have been paying the least bit of attention to these Gun Control schemes they would find out that these so called “Buy Back” programs do absolutely nothing to deter violent crime not just here in the United States but around the

Letter To The Editor: Stop Wild Horse, Burro Slaughter

on September 7, 2017 - 8:43am
By NANCY TEAGUE
White Rock

I believe our New Mexico lawmakers are opposed to the round up and slaughter of wild horses and burros, but some in congress are not. I’m not sure with everything that is happening in our nation at this time that people are aware of the urgency of this situation and of the necessity of contacting their representatives on this issue.

In 1971 there was a law enacted to protect wild horses and burros. These animals are symbols of our Western Heritage.

Letter To The Editor: Resolution Of Sheriff's Office Legality

on September 5, 2017 - 5:49pm
By RICHARD NEBEL
Los Alamos
 
We've heard a lot lately about what's legal and what isn't with respect to the Sheriff's office. We've heard from a paralegal, some attorney's, and the Sheriff himself what they think the law is.
 
There is a simple (and free) way to resolve this without filing lawsuits. Any public official (like the Sheriff) or governmental entity (like the county) can request an opinion from the Attorney General. While these opinions are not legally binding, they are admissible in a court of law and the Attorney General will go to court to defend these opinions.
 

Attorney General Balderas On President Trump’s Decision To End DACA

on September 4, 2017 - 7:09am

Attorney General Hector Balderas

From the Office of the Attroney General:

ALBUQUERQUE – New Mexico Attorney General Hector Balderas released the following statement in response to President Trump’s decision to end DACA:

“With the decision to end DACA, President Trump is compromising the safety of our communities and our nation, and he is putting the security of thousands of New Mexicans who contribute to our classrooms, public safety and economy at risk.

“Losing hundreds of thousands of future police officers, members of the military, doctors and teachers will create an unacceptable

Letter To The Editor: Failure Of Corporate Trade Policy

on September 3, 2017 - 6:38am
By ED SCOTT
Taos

Corporate America only succeeds if Capitalism works. Capitalism cannot work if the middle class is in debt, shrinking and can no longer be consumers.

America is still the wealthiest nation in the world and in world history … and America also has the greatest wealth disparity in the world and in world history. These are unsustainable conditions … and yet Donald Trump and much of the Republican Party want increase wealth disparity by decreasing federal income taxes for the wealthy class and corporations, resulting in even greater CEO salaries.

This will make American

Letter To The Editor: ‘I’m In, Let’s Close The Door’ Is No Way To Maintain America’s Fundamental Character Of Openness And Generosity

on August 31, 2017 - 8:38am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos

In her recent column, Lisa Shin objects to ‘an undercurrent of obstructionism’ that she detects in the County’s immigration proclamation. This concern is puzzling since America is the paramount representation of a country that adores obstructionism — it comes with freedom of speech and association. Of course, you may not like racist obstructionism or women’s suffrage obstructionism (to consider extremes that have been objected to on both sides) but you are free to so obstruct. 

I have a multitude of objections to the opinions expressed, but let’s focus on

Letter To The Editor: Proud Of County Council

on August 30, 2017 - 7:28am
By JoAnn Johnson
Los Alamos

I am proud of our County Council that they voted unanimously on the immigration proclamation.

A “melting pot” is what makes our Country great.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Lisa Shin

on August 29, 2017 - 8:16am
By JIM NESMITH
Los Alamos

Ms. Shin, you seem to operate under the same premise that President Trump does, that immigrants are not screened (link). You are sadly uninformed and totally wrong.

They are screened extensively and they are screened in a manner that is much more effective and sophisticated than that advocated by you. The simpleton’s approach to Immigration contained in the RAISE Act will result in huge backlogs for legitimate immigrants, be a huge deterrent to highly desirable immigrants and open numerous doors for huge levels of fraud and abuse.

Letter To The Editor: FOS Thanks Sheriff’s Posse

on August 25, 2017 - 12:18pm
By WENDEE BRUNISH
Friends of the Shelter

Friends of the Shelter (FOS) would like to extend a huge thank you to the Los Alamos Sheriff’s Posse (LASP) for inviting us to co-host the August Pancake breakfast at the Posse Lodge.

Several enthusiastic FOS volunteers joined the very experienced (and patient) LASP folks who showed us the ropes and kept everything running smoothly. The breakfast was a big success, and we thank all of the nearly 400 folks that turned out to enjoy the wonderful food that was provided.

Tags: 

Wadt: A Guide To School Grades ... Real Or Noise?

on August 23, 2017 - 3:38pm
By BILL WADT
Los Alamos

The New Mexico Public Education Department (PED) just released the grades for all of the schools in the State. Gov. Susana Martinez advocated for a simple grading system, similar to the one used in Florida, to improve communication with parents and other community members as to how well your local school is doing with a focus on student proficiency in reading and math. That was a very good idea. 

The next question is how do you measure student proficiency in a way that allows you to compare performance from school to school, district to district, and state to state?

Fr. Glenn: One People Under God

on August 20, 2017 - 5:38am
By Rev. Glenn Jones
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church
Los Alamos

This last week we were treated to yet another example of the truth of scripture—that “there is nothing new under the sun.” (Ecclesiastes 1:9) The wall-to-wall coverage about the Charlottesville and subsequent protests and counter-protests reminded of the riots of the 60’s and 70’s. Sigh. Perhaps the birthing pains of eventually moving toward a more civilized society, we can only hope.

Predictably, there were myriad reactions over the Charlottesville protests and events.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Mr. Nebel & Citizens

on August 19, 2017 - 9:52am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
Yes Mr. Nebel, the free way to know the law is to READ the law for yourself as opposed to having a patronage politician like the AG read it for you (link). Which by the way the AG, a patronage politician (by your definition) does not testify in court and legally only issues guidance for state and local government bodies. I would welcome the county to request such an opinion from the patronage AG since the council, patronage politicians, refuse to believe their own attorney, a patronage position, and the AG's already investigating my criminal complaints anyway.
 

Pages


Advertisements