Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Thanks For Daffodil Drive Success!

on March 30, 2017 - 8:44am
By ROSEMARY COYNE, MSN, RN
Executive Director
Los Alamos Visiting Nursing Service

 

My name is Rosemary Coyne, MSN, RN. I am the executive director of the Los Alamos Visiting Nursing Service (LAVNS) Home Health and Hospice. I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of the people who made our 22nd Annual LAVNS Daffodil Drive such a success again this year. The funds we raise every year are used to help our hospice patients in need.

 

I have been here in Los Alamos just over a year, so this was my second opportunity to see the amazing work done by so many people.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Splash Pad Debate

on March 29, 2017 - 10:14am
By LAUREN GRIFFITH
Los Alamos
 
I wanted to respond with a different perspective to the Splash Pad project proposal than that of the letter recently sent in by Martha Jones (link).
  • While I do agree that as a taxpayer in town, it would be nice to have a say in how money is spent, I have to disagree with her assertions that this is a bad idea for the following reasons:
  • Cost - the grand total for this project is $720,000 with a $36,000 per year maintenance cost ($3,000 per month). When compared with the other projects the County is looking at, this is extremely low.
  • Ms.

Letter To The Editor: Outreach, Not Ads

on March 29, 2017 - 7:23am
By DAVID NORTH
Los Alamos

At first sight, the new sign and banner at the White Rock library provoked the thought “nice ads”. Bond supporters really upped their game!

Wrong.

Further inspection revealed no advocacy -- just the county logo. Turns out they aren't ads at all, but part of a $35,000 “outreach” campaign funded by the county. This is apparently normal, if a bit upscale.

The last time a similar election was held in 2011 -- for a leisure pool -- the county devoted $18,000 for outreach, though at that time it was dubbed “public information costs”. The idea?

Letter To The Editor: Splash Pad Bad Idea

on March 29, 2017 - 7:09am
By MARTHA JONES
Los Alamos

I just read in the Los Alamos Daily Post (link) that the County Council is considering building a splash pad park in White Rock. My initial response was “Boy the County can’t wait to spend our tax dollars on nonsense once again.” The worse part of it is that they want to borrow more money to get this project and others done. It seems to me that we haven’t learned anything from watching our national government take us the citizens into debt that could possibly collapse our economy.

Do you realize that the splash pad area is such a bad idea and let me share the

Letter To The Editor: Truthiness, Or Fun With Election Hype

on March 26, 2017 - 10:45am

By DAVID NORTH
Los Alamos

Brace yourself. Here comes the media storm of exaggerations, illogics, sentimentalism, tirades and irrelevancies about the looming bond measure.

But coping with it can be fun when you play “The Truthiness Game”.

The idea? Spot a statement that seems to make sense but just might not be true. It’s easier if you already know it’s fishy. Then try to determine just how true or false it is.

Assign a percentage value to how true it sounds (truthiness) and then another value for how accurate it really is (truth). Subtract the truth from the truthiness and you have your score.

Letter To The Editor: A Better Health Care Payment System

on March 25, 2017 - 7:27am
By TED TRUSKE
Albuquerque

It's strange that a five second sound bite, “I will kill Obamacare” can drive national policies. Finally President Trump admits, “health care is complicated”. So GOP members contort themselves to make magic happen, so far unsuccessfully. They dispute the CBO's numbers because they're not happily magical.

Why doesn't the public have whatever health plan Congress has? If it's good enough for Congress we in the public could live with it.

In 2010 T.R.

Letter To The Editor: Protest GOP Healthcare Bill

on March 24, 2017 - 10:45am
By CHARLES SMITH
Santa Fe

The congressional Republican healthcare plan will be a disaster for working families. Their plan will take health care away from 24 million people across the country and impose painful taxes on working people.

Thank you.

Letter To The Editor: LAMC Exceeds Expectations!

on March 24, 2017 - 5:36am
By MARCUS HALL
Los Alamos
 
This is just a short public “thank you” to the Los Alamos Medical Center.
 
I am a single dad with an 8-year-old son. A short time ago I had to go the ER with severe stomach pains and was admitted overnight into the ICU for observation. My parents were out of the country. Friends picked my son up from school and took care of him that afternoon, but he had no familiar place to stay overnight.
 
The staff at LAMC set up a bed in my room in the ICU, arranged for his supper, and he was able to spend the night with me in my room.

Letter To The Editor: To That Concerned Citizen...

on March 23, 2017 - 10:40am

By JAMES ROBINSON, Chair
Republican Party of Los Alamos

Thank you, That Concerned Citizen, for your passionate response to the many letters written. Believe it or not, I agree with you, and I take up your challenge.

Although I share the political affiliation with the current party in power, does not mean I completely agree with all of their actions. Especially those that threaten our freedoms or future.

Many in my own Party have heard me call out the hypocritical notion that a party can call for less government, but mandate that the government decide who can marry.

Roger This: A White House Uncomfortable With Truth

on March 23, 2017 - 7:58am
By ROGER SNODGRASS
Los Alamos Daily Post
 
So it’s fake news vs. alternative facts, is it?
 
Well, alternative facts are a contradiction in terms. Something is either a fact or not. Nothing is in between. There are no alternative facts.
 
We’re talking about Kellyanne Conway, counselor to the President of the United States, trying to help her boss wriggle around his still-unfounded tweet that Barack Obama tapped his phone in Trump Tower. The President’s charge of fake news as a blanket statement can’t possibly apply to every case and is at the very least carelessly imprecise.

Letter To The Editor: What Is More Important, Knowing My Name Or Discussing The Facts?

on March 22, 2017 - 7:56am
By That Concerned Citizen Again
Los Alamos

Mr Visel, you are already the second person in town who does not seem to realize that you are supporting a threatening government that makes immigrants like me feel unsafe to show their face if they have a fact-based critical attitude about them (click this  link to read an exchange between Gerald Antos and Concerned Citizen a few weeks ago).

I find this surprising for a city like Los Alamos that most conservative people are silent about a lying and threatening government (e.g.

Letter To The Editor: Signs Of The Times – A New PAC In Town

on March 22, 2017 - 7:12am

Letter To The Editor: A Fact Is A Fact And An ‘Alternative Fact’ Is At Least A Misrepresentation...

on March 21, 2017 - 1:22pm
By DENNIS LITTLE
Los Alamos
 
Mr. Visel, (letter)
 
Should I then assume that you gave no credibility to WikiLeaks with regard to all the supposed leaks of the DNC hacked emails? After all, they won't acknowledge who the "leaker" was although the director of the FBI has now stated the Russians used them to leak the information.
 
So far as whether the Main Stream Media is biased, you can believe as you so choose, but how is it that you think not only the US media but the INTERNATIONAL media is also biased?
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Anonymous Letters Lack Credibility

on March 21, 2017 - 11:22am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos

With respect to ““That” Concerned Citizen Again’s” letter that has “Exceptions” to my letter about Biased Media you have lost all credibility with your submission by not having the courage to have your real name posted alongside your letter (instead you use an alias) and so your words are meaningless.

Even though you are wrong on so many levels due to your own personal bias, your letter, as well as others that do the same, does not deserve a response because you are hiding behind this alias.

The Daily Post should change their Letter Writing policies to require

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Hold Press Accountable To Report Only Unbiased Truth

on March 20, 2017 - 9:08pm
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
What Freedom of the Press means and what people believe it means are two different things, and unfortunately for us the Founding Fathers were victims of a press run amok just as we are today.
 
Let’s start with what people believe it means and what it should mean which are the same. A press where news is real. Meaning the events actually happened.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Variety Of Media Available At Local Libraries

on March 20, 2017 - 7:07am
By TIM LANGWORTHY
Los Alamos
 
As an individual, I applaud Richard Nebel and Terry Goldman for sharing their views concerning the media. I have always felt immense gratitude for the First Amendment’s provisions prohibiting Congress from making any law “abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.”
 
Putting on my hat as a member of the County Library Board, I commend to our community the wide variety of media publications available online and in person at Mesa Public Library and the beautiful new White Rock Branch Library. 
 
Publications range from “The New York Times” to “The
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Quoting Tweets And So Much More...

on March 20, 2017 - 6:27am
By “That” Concerned Citizen Again
Los Alamos

Mr. Visel, I am glad that we agree on the importance of the First Amendment for this country. However, I take exceptions to some statements in your letter (link).

It is telling that you complain about biased reporting of exactly the same “mainstream” media, as our president. You could as well just have posted Mr. Trump's tweets. If this is your reliable source of news, than we already disagree here. His tweets for years have been proven (by facts) as rarely being truthful or respectful … but we have the First Amendment, so I guess this is ok.

Let us

Letter To The Editor: Leave Nonprofits Alone ... Bill 412 Is Double Taxation!

on March 18, 2017 - 8:13am
Lou Santoro
President
The Family YMCA Board of Directors

House Bill 412 calls for closing many exemption loopholes to address the budget crisis that our state faces. No doubt, there are many aspects of the Tax Reform Bill that need just that—reform. However, HB 412 also calls for eliminating the sales tax exemption for nonprofits—all nonprofits large, small, 501c3, churches etc., thus subjecting nonprofits to sales and gross receipts tax.

Under HB 412, nonprofits would need to collect and pay GRT on all contracts (local, state, federal), grants from foundations and United Way, fees from

Letter To The Editor: Re: Proposal For Workable Firearms Transfer Background Check Law

on March 17, 2017 - 8:44am
By BENJAMIN BACA
Los Alamos
 
In Mr. Spencer's letter to the editor, "Proposal for Workable Firearms Transfer Background Check Law," he suggests the following.  

"3. Therefore, the State of New Mexico should create the mechanism whereby any private party selling or transferring a gun can voluntarily obtain a free, instant background check through the State (perhaps the Dept.

Letter To The Editor: Gun Violence

on March 17, 2017 - 8:24am
By BARBARA MOHON
Santa Fe
 
We have a gun violence problem in New Mexico, and sensible gun policy could be a solution.
 
America's gun homicide rate is more than 25 times the average of other developed countries. An average of seven children and teens are killed with guns in the U.S. every day! The statistics are verifiable and numerous. In an effort to reduce gun violence in our community, I am a member of Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America.
 
The New Mexico legislature is currently considering legislation to require expanded background checks for gun sales in our state.

Letter To The Editor: Support Legislation To Require Background Checks For All Gun Sales

on March 17, 2017 - 7:56am
By NINA SAMMONS
Santa Fe
 
As a voter in Sen. Liz Stefanics’ district, I encourage my fellow residents to call our legislators to support legislation to require background checks for all gun sales.
 
The law requires sales from gun shows or the internet to include a background check on the buyer ensuring that guns don’t end up in the hands of criminals or those with a dangerous mental illness. Polling has shown that this policy is supported by 87 percent of New Mexicans and 84% of New Mexican gun owners.
 
Please contact your legislators and let them know you support background checks on

Freedom Of The Press ... Sunshine Week Editorial

on March 16, 2017 - 6:35am
By CHRIS WOOD, President
New Mexico Press Association

Recognizing that a representative government is dependent upon an informed electorate, the intent of the legislature in enacting the Inspection of Public Records Act is to ensure, and it is declared to be the public policy of this state, that all persons are entitled to the greatest possible information regarding the affairs of government and the official acts of public officers and employees.

Letter To The Editor: How Ironic ...

on March 15, 2017 - 4:52pm
By ANDREW DELOREY
Los Alamos
 
How ironic that the Los Alamos GOP chairman should write, “No matter what political party a citizen chooses to associate with, it should be their first and most precious duty to protect the republic.” (link)

We have a GOP president that likely has many undisclosed conflicts of interest regarding his domestic and international business relationships. He has assaulted the first amendment by threatening and excluding the media. The media is diverse and every president has adversaries; that is by design. He has assaulted the first amendment by discriminating based on

Letter To The Editor: Horse Stable Flap ... Far Too Often Newcomers Feel Need To Change Us

on March 15, 2017 - 4:35pm
By MICHAEL RAGSDALE
A 60-year Los Alamos resident

Once again, the battle of the stables emerges to the forefront of the news. Why does this remind me of the individual who finds a good deal on a piece of property that happens to be located next to an airport. Only after moving onto the property do they discover that there is a plethora of airplanes flying over the house, whereupon they attempt to have the airport closed because of the noise.

A lack of planning on one person's part does not constitute an emergency for everyone else! It would seem that Ms.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Concerns With County Financial Disclosure Forms And Public Access Procedures

on March 15, 2017 - 9:35am
By EDWARD BIRNBAUM
Los Alamos

The Feb. 3 issue of the Los Alamos Daily Post had a story (link), which caught my eye regarding the violation of the Code of Ethics in Hobbs as reported by State Auditor Tim Keller. Apparently, Hobbs public officials were not filing the required financial disclosures and perhaps more importantly, were not recusing themselves from voting on official business issues when their personal financial interests were involved.

Members of the County Council and the Board of Public Utilities here in Los Alamos are responsible for making decisions involving many millions of

Pages


Advertisements