Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: No To Splash Pad

on November 17, 2017 - 10:32am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos
 
Our current County Council seems to think they’re omnipotent! They read into the results of the voter’s wishes by assuming we voted for the “Splash Pad” and other Recreation projects. This is a HUGE assumption on their part!
 
I can see making improvements to the Golf Course irrigation system, but that’s IT! Any other improvements to the Golf Course can be funded by those that use it. Same thing applies to the Ice Rink.
 
The real problem I have is the money the Council intends to waste on this so called “Splash Pad”. The County Council has already voted to
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Outdoor Enthusiasts Beware

on November 6, 2017 - 11:41am
By Terry DuBois
Los Alamos

The furbearing trapping season began Nov. 1 and runs through March 15.

Please be aware that you may encounter traps in Los Alamos County near some of our trails. My own dog was caught in one and I had no idea how to release her from its grips.

Please review this video and familiarize yourselves with the workings of one of these traps. Releasing a dog is not intuitive, nor is it easy for one person to do it alone. The traps do not have to be visible or flagged, so be extra cautious.

If you are concerned about this issue, please visit Trap Free New Mexico and

Read Latest Letters: Click ‘Opinion’ Button

on November 6, 2017 - 10:55am

LADP News:

Click on the “Opinion” button on the menu bar at the top of this page to access the latest Letter to the Editor and Column submissions published in the Los Alamos Daily Post.

All past letters and columns are archived in that location as well.

Letters and columns also are posted on the Los Alamos Daily Post Facebook page.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Newspapers Early Contributors To Fake News Trend

on November 6, 2017 - 8:10am
By TERRY GOLDMAN
Los Alamos
 
As usual, John Bartlit has hit the nail square on the head regarding identifying fake news. Unfortunately, newspapers themselves have been early contributors to the fake news trend. 
 
Some years ago, I wrote a complaint to the Albuquerque Journal regarding the opinion columns that had started appearing on their front page. I had not been too concerned when they began appearing on page 3, but when they began to intrude on the most important (Page One!) news, it was clear that something in the newspaper ethos had changed, and not for the better. 
 
After awhile,
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: What Is A Weed?

on November 6, 2017 - 7:58am
By LYNN HANRAHAN
Los Alamos

We went to the County Code Enforcement presentation last Thursday at UNM-LA sponsored by the local Republican Party because we had recently received a notice from the county. Our garden is big, so we thought it might be a good idea to see what didn’t comply to county standards. It is easier to move “offensive” plants now when they are getting ready for their winter slumber. At least I think it is – my son has the green thumb.let

Gardens can be both cost and labor intensive so it’s good to get things right the first time.

Letter To The Editor: Terrorism

on November 6, 2017 - 6:21am
By LEESON S. WEAVER
Troop 71
Los Alamos
 
Terrorism is a horrible act. I feel that eventually our President will realize that further action should be taken, but if not, we need to pressure our government to do so.
 
Terrorism has taken and, sadly, probably will take many more lives, and it needs to be stopped. The action that the government should take is sending more troops to the Middle East to shut down the terrorist organizations such as ISIS.
 
I understand that some terrorists are simply following what they believe in due to their religion, but no religion should require
Tags: 

Big Fun With Four Chairs And A Keyboard: [title of show] Opens At LALT

on November 4, 2017 - 8:18am
From left, Susan (Holly Robinson), Heidi (Joy Reynolds), Jeff (Patrick MacDonald) and Hunter (Stuart Rupprecht) perform a musical number. Photo by Larry Gibbons
 
By BONNIE J. GORDON
Los Alamos Daily Post

The musical comedy [title of show], not a typo, (music and lyrics by Jeff Bowen, book by Hunter Bell) tells the story of its own creation as an entry in the New York Musical Theatre Festival in 2004 up to its Broadway opening in 2008.

Collaborators, writer Hunter (Stuart Rupprecht) and composer and lyricist Jeff (Patrick MacDonald), recruit two actress friends,

LAPS Foundation: Thank You Los Alamos!

on October 31, 2017 - 1:33pm
A sold out crowd enjoys food, wine and entertainment at Taste of Knowledge Oct. 14 at De Colores. Photo by Leslie Bucklin
 
The Ryan Finn Quartet entertains the crowd. Photo by Leslie Bucklin
 
By LAURA LOY 
​Executive Director 
​LAPS Foundation

It was an incredible scene at the Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation’s fundraiser Taste of Knowledge event Saturday, Oct. 14 at the former De Colores restaurant.

One hundred fifty people packed the sold-out event, which featured Spanish tapas and wine, folkloric and ballet dance performances and live jazz music.

Letter To The Editor: Sanctuary Schools Vs Rule Of Law In Los Alamos

on October 31, 2017 - 10:01am

By LUCILLE BONNER
Los Alamos

I am a law-abiding, tax-paying, God-fearing, loyal citizen of the U. S. A.

I support the rule of law, which is the American way to preserve freedom. Therefore, the resolution passed by the Los Alamos School Board on Oct. 13 regarding privacy of immigration and refugee children bothers me. It goes so far as to indicate specifically that school personnel will not cooperate with the ICE, which is the U. S. agency that guards our country against immigrant law-breakers.

I love America, and I also love children brought to our country by illegal-alien parents.

Heinrich Calls On Secretary Perry To Withdraw Proposal To Force Consumers To Subsidize Uncompetitive Coal And Nuclear Companies

on October 26, 2017 - 9:41am

U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich

From the Office of U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- In an op-ed today, U.S. Sen. Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.) called on Department of Energy Secretary Rick Perry to withdraw a recent Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NOPR) directing federal regulators at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) to create rules that would favor coal and nuclear plants that are no longer the most cost-effective producers of energy.

“If FERC were to adopt Secretary Perry’s proposed rule, or anything even remotely similar, it would unravel wholesale energy markets and

Letter To The Editor: A Rose Bush, A Sunflower, A Chamisa, And A Few Little Elms

on October 26, 2017 - 7:23am
By LYNN HANRAHAN
Los Alamos

We received a really creepy, threatening letter the other day. It seems that a rose bush, a sunflower, a chamisa, and a few little elms on our property pose a danger to pedestrians. Horror.

Walking up to get the mail Saturday when this letter arrived I was annoyed. A cat was eating a bird in the driveway. I first complained about this nasty cat over a decade ago to Animal Control. Twelve years later he is still invading my property daily. Could the guy who photographed our garden maybe come and take his picture?  Maybe he could send it to the dog catcher.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: What Would We Do Without United Way Of Northern New Mexico?

on October 25, 2017 - 2:15pm
By JOY BEERY
CHERYL PONGRATZ
LAFC Board

What would we do without United Way of Northern New Mexico? The short answer is that many resources in the area would cease to exist and many people who need support would receive no help.

Los Alamos Family Council has received annual United Way funding since we opened in 1963—one of the original agencies to get community funding. We and many other small, local non-profits would be closed without United Way.

That annual funding is invaluable but this year United Way did even more.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Cheryl Sowder!

on October 20, 2017 - 10:47am
By Cheryl and Morrie Pongratz
Los Alamos

Congratulations to Cheryl Sowder for her 38 years of successful ownership of The Finishing Touch—but it’s no surprise!

Every project Finishing Touch has completed for us has been professionally executed and thoroughly delightful—even the last one that required Cheryl to pursue for a full year to finally get satisfaction on a product complaint on our behalf. She incurred considerable business expense but didn’t give up until the customer was satisfied.

This is the kind of service Los Alamos has received at The Finishing Touch.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For The Best Customer Service Ever

on October 11, 2017 - 12:22pm
By JOE CORDELL
Los Alamos
 
Often you hear stories about something good resulting from a terrible situation. This is one of those stories. My family and I had a terrible experience when a car we purchased needed repaired.
 
However, during the course of this experience we were given a gift. The gift was being referred to Chevy, Cadillac of Santa Fe, NM.
 
This dealership is incredible.
 
Their teamwork and attention to detail enables them to provide the highest level of customer care. We are very grateful for all of their assistance over the last four months.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: It Starts With Me!

on October 7, 2017 - 4:29am
By MIKE LIPPIATT
2017 Campaign Chair
UWNNM Board of Directors

Fellow Los Alamos Community Members,

IT STARTS WITH ME! Such a true statement in all that we set out to do, and because of that I am extremely honored to serve our community through the United Way of Northern New Mexico (UWNNM), as one of our 2017 campaign chairs. I have stepped up to the plate in this capacity because I whole heartedly believe in the critical services our United Way of Northern New Mexico helps to make possible in our community.

In addition to my individual support, and the cornerstone partnership my company

Letter To The Editor: Young Life Thanks You

on October 5, 2017 - 8:04am
By RYAN GILBERT 
Young Life Area Director
 
We had our annual Young Life Golf Tournament Sept. 22, a rowdy Par 3 event.
 
I wanted to thank the businesses and individuals who helped us to raise nearly $4,500! All the money raised goes to helping us take teens camping, either for a weekend or a week next summer, where it has been heard “that was the best week (end) of my life!"
 
A Special Thank You to:
  • Jemez Agency
  • Knecht's NAPA Automotive
  • Los Alamos Home Improvement
  • NUSENDA Credit Union
  • Pasta Paradiso
  • Preventech
  • SOS (Southwest Office Solutions)
  • White Rock Presbyterian Church for sponsoring a

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For Attending Memorial Service For Nancy Bearss

on October 2, 2017 - 6:00pm
By SARAH and ANNETTE FOX
Los Alamos
 
We want to extend a heartfelt thank you to all who attended the memorial service for Nancy Bearss Saturday, Sept. 30.
 
Your attendance, thoughts, and well wishes are truly appreciated. While we still hold her deep in our hearts, the memories from the service will help us carry on.
 
We would especially like to thank Linda Daly and the staff of the YMCA. You went above and beyond and provided the perfect venue for Nancy! Thank you!

Letter To The Editor: Perspective On Respect – A Yard And A Home

on October 2, 2017 - 2:08pm
By HELEN MILENSKI
Los Alamos
 
I got involved with the whole ‘yard ordinance’ issue because I narrowly missed getting a Notice of Violation (NOV) right after my husband had a heart attack and was in the hospital for a week this summer.
 
While we were still dealing with the craziness of my husband’s previous week in the hospital, he called me to tell me our dog jumped the fence in the morning before he had to leave for his first day back to work. I came home for lunch to try to find my dog.
Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Community

on September 29, 2017 - 8:25am
By CATHERINE FRY, RPh
Los Alamos
 
I wish to take this opportunity to thank the wonderful people of the Los Alamos community who donated money and items for Elizabeth Hargreaves and I to take to the Friends of The Children of Haiti medical clinic in Cyvadier, Haiti this past week. 
 
Our trip was delayed due to Hurricane Irma but we eventually made it to our destination Sunday, Sept.

Letter To The Editor: Keeping A Tidy Yard Is More Than Just Appearances Sake

on September 27, 2017 - 10:50am

By DELIA CRUZ-MURPHY
Los Alamos

I understand people are upset by the County Codes calling for people to maintain the weeds in their yard, or minimize the rotting carcasses of cars, and just the general tidiness of one’s yard.

While I do understand I cannot sympathize, nor excuse this risky behavior. Keeping a tidy yard is more than just appearances sake, it is about the real pressing issue of Public Health for the Community.  We live in a part of the country where Bubonic Plague, Hantavirus and Mosquito Borne Illnesses are a continuous concern.

Letter To The Editor: It’s Not About The Weeds, Ms. Austin

on September 26, 2017 - 8:05am
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
Like Michelle Austin (link), I grew up in a rural New York State community. In  my case, it was in the sixties.
 
Like Michelle, we grew up where there  were no fences and our acre and a half lot merged with all the other lots on the street. That made for great pickup softball and football games as we could overrun several lots with outfields and goalposts. 
 
People had a lot of tolerance for each other's idiosyncrasies.

Letter To The Editor: Note On Trump’s UNGA Address

on September 26, 2017 - 8:00am
By DR. T. DOUGLAS REILLY
Los Alamos
 
Tuesday I read a transcript of and Guardian article on President Trump’s address to the UN General Assembly with sadness and disbelief. The book title, Cry the Beloved Country, comes to mind; also the quote of Founding Father Benjamin Franklin, “there never was a good war, or a bad peace...”
 
When will we ever learn, when will we ever learn?
 
the dead have seen the end of war” (Plato)
 
I wish to add President John Quincy Adams definition of a leader:
 
If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more, and become more,

Letter To The Editor: Time Los Alamos Bans All Food For Humans

on September 26, 2017 - 7:32am
By PAM GARRETT
Los Alamos
 
I think it time that Los Alamos ban all food for humans. We all know that most food offered here is, well, expensive, and of questionable quality anyway.
 
Everyone can periodically leave the hill for meals, and leave our money and waste food outside the county. Then we will have fewer bears, squirrels, deer, crows, etc. Cut down and burn all fruit trees, plow under all backyard crops, keep all pets on leash or indoors at all times.
 
If no one eats here, it is less of a burden to keep our rolling trash carts in the house so as not to allow any unpleasant

Letter To The Editor: Changes To New Mexico STEM-Ready Science Standards

on September 25, 2017 - 11:31am
By ELENA E. GIORGI
Los Alamos

New Mexico Public Education Department (PED) recently released a draft of proposed changes to New Mexico STEM-ready science standards to be voted during the hearing Oct. 16.
 
They can be read in full on the PED website (http://ped.state.nm.us/ped/PublicNotices.html), under rule 6.29.10. These proposed changes scrap facts like the age of the Earth and the fact that temperatures have been steadily rising in the past years. The word evolution has also been taken out.
 
As a mother, a scientist, and a science educator, I find such censoring alarming,

Letter To The Editor: About My High Weeds And Ugly Yard

on September 25, 2017 - 9:56am
By MICHELLE AUSTIN
Los Alamos

When I was a little girl growing up in New York State in the 1970s, my parents bought their first house in a small village with good schools to raise their family. We moved into a one story ranch on a culdesac where all the other houses looked pretty much the same with manicured lawns and an elm tree out front. Kids played in the streets until the sun went down and we all had big back yards to play in. Back then fencing wasn't common so we kids could run from back yard to back yard as though it was all common land. It was the American dream for a young family.

Pages


Advertisements