Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Another Trash Day Success Story

on September 21, 2017 - 11:24am
By JASON HAGAN
Los Alamos

The alarm blares … I wake from my slumber. I stagger down into the basement and enter the code into the cipher lock, place my hand into the hand geometry scanner and look into the retinal scanner, which opens our bear proof vault.

Man, it really stinks in here. I’d install a vent to the outside, but the smell would likely attract baby bears that would climb down the duct … and they’d likely start reproducing. Ever seen Gremlins??

I carefully wheel the bin out and onto our freight elevator. It rises up into the high bay. “4:27 a.m.

Letter To The Editor: County Government Overreacts ... Again

on September 21, 2017 - 10:34am
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos

First the County wants to fine the residents of Los Alamos for weeds and peeling paint. Now they want to fine residents for keeping their trash bins outside? This is a growing trend with our local politicians. All it takes is one little whiny cry baby to file a complaint and the County overreacts.

Every time the County can’t control their wasteful and excessive spending they raise the Utility Rates and Property Taxes. Every time there is a trivial complaint they have a “knee jerk” response without thinking things through.

Letter To The Editor: Regarding Old Smith’s Building

on September 21, 2017 - 8:10am

By ROB BARAN
Los Alamos

I would like to follow-on with Kathy Willcut's good idea (link); the County can use that space for some of it's recreational initiatives!

I was dismayed to read that the Kroger company has such wide latitude in choosing which businesses can move into the old Smith's space.  However, Kroger owns the land, so they can do as they please. But with the County pressing forward with the recreational initiatives (made famous ... or 'infamous' by the Rec Bond debate), why not use that perfectly sited, wide space with ample parking for one of it's multifunction centers?

Letter To The Editor: Following Code Violation Ordinance Issue Closely

on September 20, 2017 - 10:32am
By ANNA DILLANE
Community member
Home and Business owner

I have been following this Code Violation Ordinance issue closely and wanted to add my two cents. Our neighbors are frustrated. They are being told that they have to undertake large and small home repair projects within unreasonable time limits. People are hurting.

Council members are hearing about this and trying to figure out what to do.

One request made of the public is to meet with councilors individually to talk about specific situations.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: Following Code Violation Ordinance Issue Closely

on September 20, 2017 - 10:32am
By ANNA DILLANE
Community member
Home and Business owner

I have been following this Code Violation Ordinance issue closely and wanted to add my two cents. Our neighbors are frustrated. They are being told that they have to undertake large and small home repair projects within unreasonable time limits. People are hurting.

Council members are hearing about this and trying to figure out what to do.

One request made of the public is to meet with councilors individually to talk about specific situations.

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: The Ordinance, Some Solutions

on September 19, 2017 - 5:27am
By HELEN M. MILENSKI
Los Alamos

I have waited until having the opportunity to read all of Mr. Izraelevitz’s (Council Chair David Izraelevitz) partitioned letters to the editor. Also, he accepted an invitation to have coffee with me and discuss some of the issues I take with the current ordinance and its enforcement. Heather Ortega joined me and I do believe we covered a lot of the concerns we have both heard from the community.

 I will now respond with my own letter to the editor and as I do not intend to partition my letter, I will try to be brief.

I am quite certain that most people,

Letter To The Editor: Old Smith's Building

on September 18, 2017 - 2:06pm
By KATHY WILLCUTT
Los Alamos
 
Has anyone considered looking at the Old Smith's building with the eye for a recreation facility?
 
Could it house gymnastics, some basketball courts, even an indoor ice skating rink? It has utilities. It has parking. It is large and tall. Perhaps even air conditioned.
 
Perhaps the creative minds in this community could think of a great community use for it. There is interest in more recreation facilities.

Council Corner: Working Together To Enhance Our Community

on September 18, 2017 - 9:27am
By David Izraelevitz
Los Alamos
 
Code Enforcement – Part 3 of a 3-part series

In Part 1 of my editorial on code enforcement, I covered the “why” behind the program, and in Part 2, I addressed the “how” of the process that is involved. Today in Part 3, I would like to talk more philosophically about code enforcement and what the County and the community can do to assist with resources.

Let me address the “government-encroachment” argument first which I have heard a few times.

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance - It's Even Worse Than It Sounds

on September 18, 2017 - 7:58am
By JIM REDMAN
Los Alamos

I am indebted to David Izraelevitz (link) for explaining to citizens in excruciating detail how burdensome, unpleasant, aggressive and bureaucratic the enforcement of weeds over 18 inches has become in Los Alamos. For this enforcement we must create acronyms, have well defined timelines and threaten court action. It's really difficult for me to think of something so anathema to good neighbors and neighborhoods and a clearer demonstration of poor governance.

That there are reports from citizens that the "best practices" described are not followed might also further

Letter To The Editor: Old Smith’s Building

on September 16, 2017 - 11:18am
By KATHLEENE PARKER
Los Alamos

Los Alamos’ take on the old Smith’s building is clearly that of a town not dependent on retail.

Why turn to the old standby of multi-family housing or offices – more of NOT developing retail – rather than what downtown really needs? Why do we endlessly try “to bring in new residents” considering the grim housing situation for those already here, or is that just herd instinct in a nation so infatuated by growth its been bankrupted by it?

And, why always the “glass half empty” attitude about our numbers rather than that we’re one of the wealthiest towns in the nation,

Tags: 

Letter To The Editor: More Utility Rate Increases

on September 16, 2017 - 10:40am
By BRADY BURKE
Los Alamos

Remember that discussion a couple of months back about how sewer rates were being rubber-stamped each year for the past five years at 8 percent each year. The Department of Public Utilities wanted an 8 percent increase this year to show that they had revenues to get financing for the White Rock Water Treatment Facility (WRWTF or WWTF).

Remember that I was a strong advocate of tying the increases to the specific projects that they were using as rationale so that they could be removed when that obligation went away?

Council Corner: The ‘How’ Of Code Enforcement

on September 16, 2017 - 10:26am
By DAVID IZRAELEVITZ
Los Alamos
  • Part 2 of a 3-part series
  •  
  • In Part 1 of my editorial on code enforcement, I covered the “why” behind the program. Today, I would like to address in some detail the “how” of code enforcement, a process which is managed within the Community Development Department (CDD) by two full-time Code Enforcement Officers. My hope is that by explaining a little more about the process, I can help clear up confusion and concern in our community.

Let’s begin with clarifying two terms that seem to be interchangeable when the public discusses this sensitive topic, but are very

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance - Hurrah For Jim Redman And The LADP!

on September 16, 2017 - 8:56am
By KEI DAVIS
Los Alamos

I would like to publicly second Jim Redman's statement (link).

It is refreshing that someone has the intellectual capacity to see something for what it is, has the fortitude to publicly state it, and has a forum on which to do so (the Los Alamos Daily Post).
 
While I have not (yet) been either victim (or aggressor) in this context, I still regard it as a nasty and overly-expensive arrangement.

Letter To The Editor: Nuisance Ordinance - It’s Not The Messaging ... It’s The Program

on September 15, 2017 - 7:17pm
By JIM REDMAN
Los Alamos

David Izraelevitz works hard for Los Alamos and to support our citizens but on the topic of the nuisance ordinance his opinions are misguided and his advocated solutions inappropriate (link).

There are undoubtedly problems that need to be addressed, but the requirement to solve those larger problems has created an ordinance that is causing unnecessary and useless annoyances to reasonable citizens. Overzealous enforcement is at tax payers expense and adds little value to the community

It's hard to disagree with Izraelevitz’s statement “A community thrives when

Letter To The Editor: Truth Matters

on September 15, 2017 - 9:29am
By MIRANDA VISCOLI, Co-president
New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence

Mr. Visel’s latest offensive and dangerous diatribe (link) attacking the important work of New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence (NMPGV) is a troubling reminder that we live in a time when a complete disregard for the facts and intentional distortion of the truth is the new law of the land.

He states, rather emphatically, that NMPGV is financially backed by former New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg. There is not an ounce of truth to this statement.

Letter To The Editor: Kroger Eyesore In Heart Of Town

on September 15, 2017 - 6:53am
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
I find it rather humorous that several present County Councilors are grumbling about the half-empty, dilapidated Mari Mac Plaza (http://www.ladailypost.com/content/no-bites-former-smith%E2%80%99s-building), whose crown jewel of festering dilapitude is the abandoned former Smith's grocery building.

Letter To The Editor: PVMS Cheer Team

on September 15, 2017 - 6:51am
By CASSANDRA MARTINEZ
PVMS Cheer Coach
 
On behalf of the Pojoaque Valley Middle School Cheerleaders, this letter is a request for support from you and/or your business.
 
In the upcoming school year, our cheerleading squad plans on supporting and cheering at all of our Middle School teams atheltic events which includes football, volleyball, and both girls and boys basketball. We are incredibly excited to represent PVMS to the best of our ability.
 
However, the cost for us to attend and support our Middle School athletes at all of these activities has placed us in need of support from
Tags: 

Los Alamos County Sheriff Marco Lucero Endorses Jeff Apodaca For Governor Of New Mexico

on September 14, 2017 - 11:20am
By Sheriff Marco V. Lucero
Los Alamos County
 
As the Sheriff of Los Alamos County, I would like to express my strong support of Jeff Apodaca in his bid to be the next Governor of New Mexico.  
 
I grew up with Jeff and have known him, his values, and his character since we were 12 years old. Together we attended junior high through our college days at the University of New Mexico. Jeff was presented with some very difficult circumstances while he was young, and his unwavering faith and strength helped him overcome cancer. This is a true testament to his character.
 
Mr.

Letter To The Editor: Response To Miranda Viscoli

on September 13, 2017 - 12:48pm
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos
 
Miranda Viscoli, Co-president of New Mexicans To Prevent Gun Violence, claims her organization is NOT a gun control group.
 
Everything she stated in her recent letter was right out of the Gun Controller’s Playbook. This organization, as well as all the other gun control groups, are financially backed by none other than former New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg and are using his money to pay for these so called “Buybacks”.
 
First of all, It should not be called a “Gun Buyback” since you never sold them in the first place.

Letter To The Editor: LAJGA Thanks Sponsors

on September 13, 2017 - 3:42am
By TIM HAMMOCK
Los Alamos

The Los Alamos Junior Golf Association would like to thank all the wonderful sponsors and golfers who helped make the LAJGA golf tournament such a fun and
successful event.

Your support is greatly appreciated!

Hole Sponsors:

  • Dave’s Sports Cuts
  • Aspen Copies
  • Papa Murphy’s Los Alamos
  • Shannon Corporation
  • Karen Wray Fine Art
  • Linda H. Hull
  • Neptune & Co.
  • Allen Technical Solutions LLC
  • Viola’s Place
  • Bill Williams
  • Mike & Patsy Sylvester
  • Blue Sky Traditions
  • Monica’s Hair Salon and Boutique
  • Kelly & Magali Cook
  • Los Alamos Public Schools Foundation
  • CB Fox
  • Precision Surveys
  • Metzger’s Hardware

Letter To The Editor: Death Toll Of 9/11

on September 12, 2017 - 12:48pm
By Dr. T. DOUGLAS REILLY
Los Alamos
 
On Monday the USA remembered the 16th anniversary of the attacks on the World Trade Center Twin Towers, the Pentagon, and the failed attempt to attack another DC building that resulted in the plane crash near Shanksville, Penn.
 
The combined death toll from these four events was 2995. Please consider the further death toll from these attacks:
 
The Afghanistan and Iraq Wars were, and still are being, fought as a response to the events of 9/11. The combined toll at present of military people from the USA, Iraq and Afghanistan, and coalition forces

Letter To The Editor: Regarding The Nuisance Code

on September 12, 2017 - 7:40am
By BRADY BURKE
Los Alamos

Perhaps the problem isn't the ordinance, but its enforcement.

There was a comment by a former CA highway patrol officer who said that he could easily find three violations on any new vehicle. That kind of enforcement would be considered abusive and non-productive, unless he was looking to generate revenue. The public would really prefer that he focus on issues that present a danger to the traveling public or the driver and their occupants.

The terms of the Nuisance Ordinance are not extreme, but using that ordinance to enforce petty aesthetic issues, is an abuse of

Letter To The Editor: Yes, Gun Buybacks Do Work And They ‘Feel Good’ Too

on September 11, 2017 - 6:48am
By MIRANDA VISCOLI, Co-president  
New Mexicans To Prevent Gun Violence

Robert Visel could not have said it better in his editorial, “Gun Buyback Farce.”

In his letter to the editor he calls New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence gun buybacks a “Feel good maneuver”. Yes, it does “feel good” to see a widow bring in her departed husband’s arsenal of guns that have been left in their bedroom closet. It feels great to see the relief on grandparents’ faces when they know that their guns will not get into their grandchildren’s hands.

Letter To The Editor: In The Great Gun Debate, Both Sides Need Practice Hitting The Target

on September 10, 2017 - 4:21pm
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
It's an unfortunate observation, nearly rising to the level of a physical law, that both sides in the Great Gun Debate will usually miss the target on any given issue.
 
After the recent Clovis Library mass shooting, someone wrote a long essay to the Santa Fe New Mexican calling for a ban on concealed carry in libraries. But concealed carry was irrelevant to the shooting as the shooter, at 16 years old, was not a legal concealed carrier nor eligible to become one at his age.

Letter To The Editor: Gun Buy Back Farce

on September 7, 2017 - 10:27pm
By ROBERT VISEL
Los Alamos

The New Mexicans to Prevent Gun Violence (NMPGV) and Los Alamos Police Department will be holding their first, and hopefully last, “ever” Guns To Gardens Gun Buyback event on Saturday, Oct. 28.

First of all, they can’t “Buy Back” something they never sold in the first place! So, this onerous title is already misleading.

Second, if people have been paying the least bit of attention to these Gun Control schemes they would find out that these so called “Buy Back” programs do absolutely nothing to deter violent crime not just here in the United States but around the

Pages


Advertisements