Skip directly to content

Opinion

Letter To The Editor: Walk/Drive Your YES Vote On Rec Bond To County Clerk's Office By 7 p.m. Today

on May 23, 2017 - 8:35am
By RAO GARIMELLA
Los Alamos

Today is the last day to vote on the Rec Bond. It's too late to mail it in but you can hand carry it to the County Clerk's Office.

There has been a healthy, vigorous debate on the issue but in the end I urge you to keep in mind the saying that “PERFECT IS THE ENEMY OF GOOD!” 

So I encourage you to vote YES or we will all be waiting for another decade before the community has the energy to organize such a campaign again.

Letter To The Editor: Let's Support The Amenities That Make Our Community Better For Everyone!

on May 22, 2017 - 6:51pm
By Andrea and Greg Cunningham
Los Alamos

As Recreation Bond ballots are due tomorrow, we want to remind everyone to get their ballots in and encourage you to vote “Yes” on the bond.

Those opposed to the bond seem to have two main arguments against it:

  • Need: they state there is not a need for the projects that are proposed; and
  • Cost: our taxes and the cost are too high.

We feel that both arguments are incorrect as we look to the future of our community.

Letter To The Editor: Walk Your Rec Ballot In Today Or Tomorrow ... And Please Vote Yes!

on May 22, 2017 - 11:42am
By KRISTIN HENDERSON, J.D.
Los Alamos

You can still vote on the Rec Bond if you walk your ballot in today or tomorrow. I am voting yes and i hope you do, too.

In a small town like ours, a Bond question can be won - or lost - by just one vote, or a small handful of votes. Your vote will make a difference.
 
You can turn your ballot in, in person at this point, at the Municipal Building at 10th & Central, on the 2nd floor, in the County Clerk’s Office. It has to be in the Clerk’s Office before 7 p.m. tomorrow, Tuesday.
 
While it’s true that property taxes would go up by about $18/

Letter To The Editor: Spelling & History

on May 22, 2017 - 7:22am
By GREG WHITE
Los Alamos
 
My apologize to Nancy Shick (link) for my poor spelling. Spelling never was a strong point of mine. Thank the Good Lord for spell check, which unfortunately failed me in that letter as it didn't distinguish between Britain the Country and Briton a citizen of Britain.
 
As for history, please look at "archives.gov" and Google "the Canada Act", "Louisiana Purchase", "Continental Congress" and educate yourself. No apology from you is expected or needed.

Letter To The Editor: Another Reason To Love LA

on May 21, 2017 - 5:58am
By JARET and JEN MCDONALD
Los Alamos

Thank you, Thank you, and Thank you to Los Alamos National Security for providing the LANL Employee Giving Campaign.

We received just shy by a couple of bucks to pay for an Android app for Famine to Feast.

To the individuals who individually donated ... you are amazing! If you didn't hear it before, THANKS!!!! You really are helping other people with your donations.

An Android app is on the way and will be available for download by Friday, May 26. www.faminetofeastnow.org.

The Unsung Hero

on May 20, 2017 - 9:17am
Unsung heroes can be found everywhere. Courtesy photo
 
By AMBER GRADY-FULLER
JudyGail's Place

The news is swarming with horrible stories about tragedies. We hear too often about shootings at community colleges or vehicles driving into crowds of people. These stories are heartbreaking. Those who witness these events also are impacted in profound ways. It is life altering to witness innocent lives suddenly changed by a senseless evil act.

While these tragedies are overwhelming, many stories of heroism also rise to the surface.

Letter To The Editor: Clarification Of Rec Bond Funding Options

on May 19, 2017 - 9:17am
By Edward Birnbaum
Los Alamos
 
I attended Tuesday’s “Lunch With A Leader” at Mesa Public Library in which the proponents and opponents of the $20 million Recreation Bond (deadline to vote: Tuesday, May 23) presented their arguments for and against and answered questions. My thanks to Karyl Ann Armbruster and the League of Women Voters for arranging this opportunity to hear from both sides.

Both sides seemed to agree that the improvements and new recreational facilities proposed would benefit many children and adults in the community.

Letter To The Editor: Rec Bond ... Facts Not Factions

on May 19, 2017 - 9:00am
By TOM TIERNEY
Los Alamos

I found it an interesting curiosity that Tony Fox and Darren Meadows accused me of Falsehoods without providing any factual counter-arguments. (link)

In my prior letter, I voiced my concern that the County’s proposed Recreation Center would probably result in small business failures because the County would be competing unfairly with existing small businesses. My expressed concerns were rooted in the City of Santa Fe data that shows numerous business closures occurred when the Genoveva Chavez Community Center was created.

My observations are based on the

Letter To The Editor: Thank You For Coverage

on May 18, 2017 - 4:13pm
By BRYAN BENNETT
Los Alamos

I just want to say, “Thank you” to George Morse of the Los Alamos Daily Post for the excellent article (link) on the LA Girls Track & Field team and their exciting second place finish at the State Meet.

Job well done, both to an amazing team and to Mr. Morse.

Letter To The Editor: Thank You Los Alamos County Council

on May 18, 2017 - 3:53pm
By JAMES ROBINSON
Los Alamos

On Tuesday, I got the privilege to once again participate in the selection of a new member for the Board of Public Utilities.

Although I was not selected I wanted to personally thank Chair Izraelevitz, Vice-Chair O'Leary, Councilor Chrobocinski, Councilor Sheehey, Councilor Reiss, Councilor Chandler, and Councilor Maggiore for their kind words and tough questions.

I especially like to thank Vice Chair O'Leary and Councilor Chrobocinski for voicing their support for my nomination during the first round of voting.

Letter To The Editor: Using One’s Vote On Rec Bond As Revenge For Unrelated Issue Is Not Rational

on May 17, 2017 - 3:24pm
By JANINE TULENKO
Los Alamos

 

I too found Patrick Brenner's email to County Councilors regarding the Rec Bond issue to be quite disturbing. I seldom feel the need to respond, and I do not know Patrick Brenner, but his verbal attack on County Councilors, etc. truly seemed like the rantings of a genuinely unstable individual. I am so relieved that he was not elected to County Council when he ran.
 
During my nearly 20 years in Los Alamos I have voted for County Councilors on both sides of the political aisle - so this comment is in no way a partisan issue, nor a reflection of my opinion

Letter To The Editor: Patrick Brenner's Toxic Email

on May 17, 2017 - 10:16am
By KHALIL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
Wow. I read former Los Alamos County Council candidate Patrick Brenner's email to all seven councilors and immediately figured out why he never made it from council candidate to elected councilor.
 
Indeed, as Joyce Anderson stated, Mr. Brenner's hostile rhetoric is definitely NOT a better way for LA!

Khal “a less toxic rabble rouser in LA” Spencer.

Letter To The Editor: CIP And Bonding Process Flawed

on May 17, 2017 - 8:23am
By JIM REDMAN
Los Alamos
 
The way Councils spend the taxpayer's Capital Improvement Fund is flawed and the current bond process lays bare just about everything that is wrong with the CIP process.

Suggesting to softball players, golfers and others that unless they support the bond issue they won't get improvements is misleading. Associated with the bond is $13 million of CIP money, so money available for recreation.
 
Nominally we're supposed to consider that some sort of matching funds for the bond although it's all taxpayer money.

Letter To The Editor: In Appreciation Of The Post

on May 17, 2017 - 8:02am
By ROB BARAN
Los Alamos
 
I wanted to take a break from the lively debate to thank the editor of the Los Alamos Daily Post for posting all of these varied opinions in their unabridged, passionate entirety!

This is the first town I have ever seen where the Press is open and accessible, and so heavily relied on. I am glad to see such a healthy, vibrant, and civic forum.

You've been putting these opinion pieces up at your own cost, but it has been an invaluable service. Regardless of how the vote turns out, thank you for making ALL (pro and con) of our voices heard!

 

Letter To The Editor: Patrick Brenner Rant Clearly NOT A Better Way For LA

on May 16, 2017 - 6:35am
By JOYCE ANDERSON
Los Alamos
 
Over the last few weeks we've seen a healthy volley of letters to the editor in favor of, and opposed to the Rec Bond. For the most part the letters have been well thought out, well spoken and constructive in their approach to the issue. I think this is representative of Los Alamos as a whole. We discuss, we debate, but in the end, we're still nice to our neighbors that have a different opinion. It's what makes this community so great.
 
This is why the letter published Monday evening in the Los Alamos Daily Post from former Los Alamos County Council

Former County Council Candidate Berates Councilors

on May 15, 2017 - 7:51pm

Former County Council Candidate Patrick Brenner

POLITICAL News:

Former Los Alamos County Council Candidate Patrick Brenner sent a strongly worded email today to all seven sitting councilors. The Los Alamos Daily Post received a copy of the email and spoke with Brenner by telephone in an effort to understand what spurred him to send such an email. Following a lengthy conversation in which it remains unclear why he sent the email, Brenner requested that he be quoted in regard to the email as saying, “I stand by every word I said.”

Brenner's email to Councilors:

From: Patrick Brenner <

Letter To The Editor: Still Saying No To Rec Bond

on May 15, 2017 - 11:47am
By TOM HARRIS
Los Alamos
 
Many have weighed in with their opinions on the Recreation Bond Proposal since I published my last letter April 21. 
 
Until recently, most LA Daily Post letters on this topic have been authored by those strongly favoring the proposal. Only recently have we started to see contributions from those of us that oppose the bond proposal.
 
As alluded to in my earlier letter, it appears that those backing the recreational pool proposal which was soundly defeated several years ago have adopted a new strategy to achieve their goals.  
 
Specifically, a

Letter To The Editor: I Am Not Dead ... Who To Call?

on May 15, 2017 - 7:58am
By JIM GRIFFIN
Los Alamos
 
Around the first of the year those of us retired from LANL for some time received a communication asking us to prove we were alive. I filled out the paperwork, had it notorized at LANB and mailed it to the required address. I checked one of my bank statements and I received my pension and thought no more of it.
 
Today I checked my latest bank statement and no pension deposit. I presume I am dead.
 
If anyone can supply me with a phone number, address or information about whomever wanted us to prove we were part of the undead I would be very grateful.

McDonald: What A Great Town!

on May 14, 2017 - 6:41pm
Jaret and Jen McDonald give Los Alamos an enthusiastic thumbs up. Courtesy photo
 
By JARET MCDONALD
Los Alamos

Maybe we could all take a step back ... Los Alamos is amazing ... just look what happened today ... regardless of your opinion of the Rec Bond.

This is just the best place! My wife Jen and I love Los Alamos! We love our firefighters and police department!

That is all. Carry on!

Letter To The Editor: Still On Fence About Rec Bond

on May 14, 2017 - 9:14am
By ANNE MARIE PEETERS WEEM
Los Alamos
 
First of all, I love the idea of improving and adding to the recreation facilities in Los Alamos and have no problem paying more taxes to facilitate this.
 
The problem is with the allocation of funds: Only a little more that five percent ($1.8 million vs $31.6 million) is allocated to for White Rock, even though we have approximately one-third of Los Alamos County's population. I know this issue was brought up in the community forums. When expressing my concerns, several reasons were given to justify the funding discrepancy.
  • A significant portion

Letter To The Editor: To Bond Or Not To Bond, That Is The Question

on May 13, 2017 - 3:24pm
By KHAL SPENCER
Los Alamos
 
Ralph Chapman’s letter in the Los Alamos Daily Post (link) has been the latest in a long list of well written and thoughtful letters, both pro and con, regarding the Recreation Bond vote. If nothing else, we have once again proven that Los Alamos residents are thoughtful and engaged in our civic governance. I would expect a high “voter turnout”.
 
I would also offer to compare the discussion up here on The Hill regarding this bond question, which has been driven by engaged residents using their own thoughts, vs.

Letter To The Editor: Why Future Generations Don’t Need Bond

on May 12, 2017 - 5:43am
By A Student
Los Alamos
 
I have heard a lot of people saying this bond would be an investment in future generations, to have more options, or that they just don’t want to travel to Santa Fe.
 
As a member of the future generation in Los Alamos, I am Voting no on the Rec Bond.
 
If investing in the community is someone’s goal then please invest in the housing problem; invest in making sure the future generation has the opportunity to have a roof over their heads and then and only then can anything else be considered.

Letter To The Editor: Together And United ... We Make Our Community Stronger

on May 11, 2017 - 8:50pm
By JIM RICKMAN
Los Alamos
 
We attended the Cowboy Breakfast at the Los Alamos Posse Shack on May 7, 2017, and were delighted to see Los Alamos Police Commander Oliver Morris out there helping with the breakfast, talking to people, and being an enthusiastic supporter of Special Olympics.
 
This type of highly visible and constructive public interaction and community service by one of our Men and Women in Blue is precisely why I enjoy living in a small town like Los Alamos.
 
We are all, in one way or another, colleagues, friends, and neighbors working together in our own ways for the

Letter To The Editor: About Truth And The Rec Bond

on May 11, 2017 - 8:16am
By TONY FOX and DARREN MEADOWS
Los Alamos Future PAC Members

We are writing to respond to the recent negative letters about the Recreation Bond by Tom Tierney, Lisa Shin, John Horne, and Lisa Brenner, who has also written online posts as Lola Anderson.

We understand that some people oppose the Rec Bond because they don't support a tax increase or they don't want Los Alamos County to spend tax dollars to make these community improvements. While we don't agree with that position, we recognize that this is a decision that everyone has to make for themselves.

Our problem with the recent

Letter To The Editor: It’s Now Or Never Los Alamos!

on May 11, 2017 - 7:56am
By IRENE POWELL
Los Alamos
 
It’s now or never, how long can we afford to wait!
 
I have enjoyed all the amenities of living in Los Alamos for 27 years. I have volunteered for almost every committee or board that works to make our little town even better. I was on the first CIP public committee, the Municipal site committee, the Civic Center citizens committee, the Parks and Recreation Board, the Historical Society Board and now am serving on the Aquatic Center Advisory Subcommittee.
 
Not that I don’t appreciate what we have but I want it to continue, I want Los Alamos to continue.

Pages


Advertisements