Skip directly to content

Opinion & Columns

Cinema Cindy Reviews Murder On The Orient Express

on November 15, 2017 - 11:01am
By CYNTHIA BIDDLECOMB
Los Alamos
 
“Murder on the Orient Express” is a star-studded remake of the 1934 Agatha Christie murder mystery which first came to the big screen in 1974. Kenneth Branagh directs the film and stars as Hercule Poirot, by his own admission, “the greatest detective in the world.” (Poirot’s mustache alone is worth the price of admission.)
 
After solving a very public case in Jerusalem, Poirot boards a steamboat for Istanbul where he will catch the famous cross-continental train, the Orient Express, and head to England for his next case.
Tags: 

Bouman: President Reagan’s Secret 702(j) Retirement Plan

on November 14, 2017 - 2:51pm
By BEN BOUMAN
Alpine Financial Partners

Several times over the past few weeks I have been asked if I knew anything about “President Reagan’s Retirement Plan” and a 702(j)-retirement plan. I had never heard of such a thing, so I decided to investigate it. Here’s the deal folks. There is no such thing. This concept goes by many names. The 770 account, the 702(j), the 7702, The Presidents Secret Account, Invisible account, etc. It resurfaces every few years with a new name and new marketing approach from salesmen in the insurance business.

A 702(j) is not actually a retirement savings plan

Renfro: It Starts With Me!

on November 13, 2017 - 11:47am
By STEVEN RENFRO
2017 Campaign Chair
Member, United Way of Northern New Mexico Board

Community Member,

It Starts With Me and, because of that I am honored to serve our community through the United Way of Northern New Mexico, as one of the 2017 Campaign Chairs. I serve in this capacity because I sincerely believe in our United Way of Northern New Mexico and the critical services they help make possible in our community. In addition, I also volunteer my time as a member of the United Way of Northern New Mexico Board.

Growing up in the Four Corners I always admired Los Alamos and Rio

Message From New UNM President Garnett Stokes

on November 13, 2017 - 7:44am
By GARNETT S. STOKES
UNM President

A week ago my life changed when I was selected by The University of New Mexico to be its 22nd president and newest Lobo.
 
Let me say that since that time, I have been overwhelmed by the support and enthusiasm I have received from so many of you, as well as members of the New Mexico community. I am truly honored and excited to join you officially in March, when my husband, Jeff, and I make the Land of Enchantment our new home.

Throughout my career in public higher education as a student, educator, researcher and administrator - I have learned the

Fr. Glenn: The Mystery Of Evil

on November 12, 2017 - 7:00am
By Rev. Glenn Jones
Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church
Los Alamos

We often wonder why God allows certain things. The Sutherland Springs church shooting last Sunday is certainly one of those, and we could as easily recall Las Vegas, Orlando, or any other such event or tragedy, natural or manmade. Why did God allow those who love and worship Him—young and old—to die in the very midst of that worship?

And yet … needless violence has always been with us.

Luján: Thank Them For All They Do

on November 11, 2017 - 4:30pm

By U.S. Rep. Ben Ray Luján:

Today, we honor the brave men and women who have served in our armed forces, who stood guard for our nation at home and abroad, and who fought to protect our freedom and uphold our democracy. 

On Veterans Day, we thank them. We show gratitude to those who put the good of others ahead of their own. They risked life and limb to protect our country, and for that, we are eternally grateful.

Our freedoms should never be taken for granted and they all rest upon one fundamental truth: the ultimate price was paid innumerable times for our benefit. 

We, as a nation, are

Hall: The Power of Government

on November 9, 2017 - 4:02pm
By MICHAEL L. HALL
Los Alamos

Government has a monopoly on force, transferred to it by the citizens. I don’t seek revenge on a murderer, I rely on government to do it in my stead. I don’t incarcerate those who break laws to harm me, I rely on government to do it in my stead. I don’t retrieve my stolen goods, I rely on government to do it in my stead. Government uses force to carry out the will of the people, and can potentially remove life, liberty, or property from its citizens.

This transferred force is a sacred power, and should not be used lightly.

Governmental force should only be

Pages


Advertisements