Skip directly to content

Opinion & Columns

Cinema Cindy Reviews: Queen Of Katwe

on October 23, 2016 - 8:16am

Letter To The Editor: Faux Outrage Is Comical

on October 23, 2016 - 6:37am
Los Alamos

RE: Mr. Birnbaum’s letter dated Oct 21, 2016.

Given Mr. Birnbaum’s silence during the last election cycle when his preferred candidate’s campaign used lies and vicious personal attacks, his faux outrage over political mailings is comical, bordering on hypocrisy.

However, what really matters is who will represent us in the legislature.

I’m not referring to who gets elected, but rather who will represent us after getting elected.

I served with Sharon Stover for two terms on the Los Alamos County Council that were separated by six years.

Pastor Granillo: Caretakers

on October 23, 2016 - 6:28am
By Pastor Raul Granillo
Los Alamos


God placed Human in the garden to reflect his image into the new world he was making— that is, to be the means, present and visible, whereby his own care of the garden and the animals would become a reality. And if Human was going to do this, Human was going to have to keep in tune with God.” – N.T. Wright.

Mankind was created with two basic purposes. The first was to exist in the presence of God—that is, every person was created to be in a sanctified relationship with God. We were made to enjoy, worship, and love God for eternity.

Letter To The Editor: Marco Lucero’s Claim Racism Is Factor For State Of Sheriff Affairs Is FALSE!

on October 22, 2016 - 9:59am

Los Alamos

Saturday, Oct. 15, an article appeared on the front page of the Santa Fe New Mexican newspaper entitled, “Los Alamos Sheriff Fights For Office In Showdown With County”. 

When I read the article I was stunned. For Marco Lucero to even hint (and he did more than that), that the current state of affairs of the sheriff's position in Los Alamos County has anything to do with the fact he is Hispanic is ludicrous.

Letter To The Editor: School Bond Support Important

on October 22, 2016 - 8:47am

LAMS PTO Vice President

Strong public schools are one of the corner stones of a successful community. The Los Alamos Public Schools are seeking approval for general obligation bonds valued at about $11 million. It is important to note that the LA school district has relied upon us the Los Alamos community for school renovation funding since 2009.

The LA Schools recently held open houses for the community members to see the current state of our schools.

Letter To The Editor: Two Democrats Stand For Stover

on October 22, 2016 - 8:35am
Los Alamos

Dear Friends and Neighbors,

We are two Democrats enthusiastically campaigning to send Republican Sharon Stover to the New Mexico House of Representatives. We do so, John as a Stover-for-District-43 advisor and Denny as the campaign manager, because Sharon is the best person to represent District 43 in this time of trouble for our beloved New Mexico.

Together, we’ve been privileged to live, work, and participate in our Los Alamos community for years when added total more than a century.

Cinema Cindy Reviews ‘The Girl on the Train’

on October 21, 2016 - 5:45pm

Los Alamos

“The Girl on the Train” is a new thriller based on a popular British novel by Paula Hawkins.

The book, published in January 2015, quickly hit the New York Times Bestseller List, gaining the notice of those who look for stories to bring to the screen. The film opened Oct. 7 nationwide.

Admittedly, I had not read the book, so I went to the film with no preconceived notions. What I found was a story at first convoluted by “the girl” and her memory lapses – due to her alcoholic binges.