Skip directly to content

Opinion & Columns

Letter To The Editor: New Internet Service

on January 17, 2017 - 12:34pm
By ANDREW FRASER
Los Alamos
 
I write to recommend the AirFiber service introduced by LANET at the end of November last year.
 
In mid December we signed up for a premium plan that provides 100 megabits per second up and down and two static IP addresses. LANET owner Allan Saenz personally supervised the installation. My request for static IP addresses was not standard, but Allan responded promptly to my sequence of requests for help in getting it to work.

Here are some of capabilities we have now:
  • With the higher data rate, we can stream different movies to several rooms in our house

Letter To The Editor: Education Mil Levies Merit Support

on January 17, 2017 - 8:50am
By ROBERT GIBSON
Los Alamos

Tax proposals deserve very critical scrutiny. A tax should be for a legitimate valuable public purpose and should truly be for that purpose. There should be reasonable expectation the funds will be used well. And there should be no other reasonable alternative to further burdening citizens. Few tax proposals meet all those criteria.

The present proposals for a continued mil levy (property tax) to support LA Public Schools reconstruction bonds and an increase for operations at UNM-LA are rare instances that do satisfy those standards.

This community is based on

Letter To The Editor: UNM-LA Mil Levy - An Investment Now And For The Future

on January 17, 2017 - 7:45am
By Dr. Sheila Schiferl
Los Alamos

We moved here in 1977, and I took FORTRAN at the UNM branch. Later, our college poetry class included the town library director, a dean of instruction, several lab scientists and tech writers, and some retired community members. It also included a few "traditional" teenage college students, each with a spark that the rest of us tried to help grow.

What an amazing idea. Here is a school that has been integrating itself into the community, and vice versa, for decades. In the late 1990’s, X-Division encouraged its scientists to teach classes at UNM-LA.

Letter To The Editor: One Los Alamos Launches Diversity Week Drawing Contest

on January 16, 2017 - 8:09pm

By ONE LOS ALAMOS

Dear LAPS Teachers and Students,

Jan. 10, 2017, the Los Alamos Council declared the week of Jan. 15-21 Diversity Week. This event was sponsored by One Los Alamos, a group of people interested in promoting thoughtful, civil dialogue around our diversity of backgrounds, beliefs and identities in order to champion shared values and interests that can strengthen our community.

To kick-off the first year of celebrating Diversity Week, One Los Alamos is launching a drawing contest for all Los Alamos students grades K-12. We are having three age categories (grades K-4, 5-8, and

McQuiston: Baby It's Cold Outside, And Inside Too!

on January 16, 2017 - 10:12am
By ALLEN MCQUISTON
The Jemez Agency
 
You know that household heating and cooling systems can stop working at any time. And it's always at a bad time and it's never cheap to fix.
 
Although you might take them for granted, you probably depend on several major equipment systems to keep your home comfortable. You might assume that your homeowners policy would cover the cost of repairs to these systems should they break down. But the fact is that mechanical breakdown is not a covered cause of loss under most traditional homeowners policies.
 
Is there anything you can do to adequately
Tags: 

Classical Music World: Return Of The Violin

on January 15, 2017 - 10:22am
The Return of the Violin poster. Courtesy image
 
By ANN MCLAUGHLIN, Artistic Director
Los Alamos Concert Association

Since the announcement that violin super-star Joshua Bell will be performing here Feb. 3, I have been asked many times how we managed to entice him to come to Los Alamos. This is an artist who definitely does not need to land a gig in the Duane Smith Auditorium to make ends meet. He can play anywhere in the world he wants and does.

The idea to bring Bell here was planted about 3 years ago when I was bowled over by an Israeli documentary about his violin.

Smart Design With Suzette: Organization

on January 15, 2017 - 7:27am
Organized closet. Courtesy photo
 

By SUZETTE FOX
Los Alamos

Happy New Year! Many New Year’s resolutions involve getting organized. Disorganization puts tremendous pressure on both the mind and the body. Taking the time to organize your home can lift a great weight off of your shoulders and reduce stress.

But let’s face it, getting organized can be difficult and time consuming. One of the toughest part is getting starting and knowing the process. Here are some tips to help you.

Clear Out Some Clutter

The first step is to get rid of things you don’t need.

Pages


Advertisements